National Bureau of Economic Research, Inc.

Incorporated under the Membership Corporation Laws of the State of New York, January 29, 1920

ITS ORGANIZATION AND PURPOSES

THE National Bureau of Economic Research was organized in 1920 in response to a growing demand for exact and impartial determinations of facts bearing on economic, social, and industrial problems.

It seeks not only to find facts and make them known, but to determine them in such manner and under such supervision as to make its findings carry conviction to Liberal and Conservative alike.

Entire control of the Bureau is vested in a Board of twenty directors, representing learned and scientific societies, financial, industrial, agricultural, commercial, labor, and technical organizations.

Rigid provisions in the Charter and By-Laws guard the Bureau from becoming a source of profit to its members, directors, or officers and from becoming an agency for propaganda. No report of the Research Staff may be published without the approval of the Directors and any Director who dissents from any finding approved by a majority of the Board may have such dissent published with the majority report.

The members of the Board of Directors are as follows:

DIRECTORS AT LARGE

T. S. Adams, Professor of Political Economy, Yale University, Vice-President. John R. Commons, Professor of Political Economy, University of Wisconsin. John P. Frey, Editor, International Molders' Journal, Chairman of the Board. Edwin F. Gay, Professor of Economic History, Harvard University, Director of Research.

HARRY W. LAIDLER, Secretary, The League for Industrial Democracy.
GEORGE O. MAY, Senior Partner, Price, Waterhouse and Company, President.
ELWOOD MEAD, Commissioner of the Bureau of Reclamation.
WESLEY C. MITCHELL, Professor of Economics, Columbia University, Director of Research.

DWIGHT W. Morrow, Member of firm of J. P. Morgan and Company. George Soule, Director, The Labor Bureau, Inc. N. I. Stone, Industrial Consultant.
ALLYN A. Young, Professor of Economics, Harvard University.

DIRECTORS BY APPOINTMENT

HUGH FRAYNE, American Federation of Labor.
DAVID FRIDAY, American Economic Association.
LEE GALLOWAY, American Management Association.
WALTER R. INGALLS, American Engineering Council.
GEORGE E. ROBERTS, American Bankers Association, Treasurer.
M. C. RORTY, American Statistical Association.
A. W. SHAW, National Publishers' Association.
GRAY SILVER, American Farm Bureau Federation.

O. W. KNAUTH, Recording Secretary.

G. R. STAHL, Executive Secretary.

RESEARCH STAFF

EDWIN F. GAY, Director. WILLFORD I. KING.
LEO WOLMAN.
FREDERICK C. MILLS.

WESLEY C. MITCHELL, Director. FREDERICK R. MACAULAY. HARRY JEROME. WALTER F. WILLCOX.

WILLARD L. THORP.