REGISTRATION DIVISIONS.

The following Tables exhibit the Registration Districts or Unions, arranged topographically as in the Reports of the Registrar-General and of previous Censuses. For statistical purposes the Counties are grouped into eleven Divisions, viz.:—

DIVISION.

- I.—London, comprising Registration Districts in the Metropolitan parts of Middlesex, Surrey, and Kent.
- II.—South-Eastern Counties, comprising Registration Districts chiefly in Surrey and Kent [extrametropolitan], Sussex, Hants, and Berks.
- III.—South-Midland Counties, comprising Registration Districts chiefly in Middlesex [extrametropolitan], Hertford, Buckingham, Oxford, Northampton, Huntingdon, Bedford, and Cambridge.
- IV.—Eastern Counties, comprising Registration Districts chiefly in Essex, Suffolk, and Norfolk.
- V.—South-Western Counties, comprising Registration Districts chiefly in Wilts, Dorset, Devon, Cornwall, and Somerset.
- VI.—West-Midland Counties, comprising Registration Districts chiefly in Gloucester, Hereford, Salop, Stafford, Worcester, and Warwick.
- VII.—North-Midland Counties, comprising Registration Districts chiefly in Leicester, Rutland, Lincoln, Nottingham, and Derby.
- VIII.-North-Western Counties, comprising Registration Districts chiefly in Chester, and Lancaster.
 - IX .- York, comprising Registration Districts chiefly in the County of York.
 - X.—Northern Counties, comprising Registration Districts chiefly in *Durham*, *Northumberland*, *Cumberland*, and *Westmorland*.
- XI.—Monmouthshire and Wales, comprising Registration Districts chiefly in the County of *Monmouth* and in *Wales*.

The Parishes and Places are arranged topographically under the Superintendent Registrars' Districts and Registrars' Sub-districts.