ISLANDS IN THE BRITISH SEAS.

ISLE OF MAN.

The Isle of MAN is divided into a Northern and a Southern Division, each of which comprises

three Sheadings. The islands of Kitterland and the Calf of Man, situate at the southern extremity of the mainland,

belong to the parish of Rushen.

Although Castletown is the capital of the Island, Douglas is the more populous town, having recently

Although Castletown is the capital of the Island, Douglas is the more populous town, having recently become a favourite watering-place. The other towns are Peel and Ramsey.

The civil government is vested in the Sovereign, a Lieutenant-Governor and Council, and the House of Keys. The Council consists of the Lord Bishop of the Diocese, the attorney-general, the clerk of the rolls, the two deemsters, the receiver-general, the water-bailiff or admiralty judge, the archdeacon, and the vicar-general, who are ex-officio members of that body. The House of Keys consists of 24 representatives of the people. The Lieutenant-Governor and Council, and the House of Keys constitute the Court of Tynwald, by which all the public laws are enacted and promulgated. The principal Courts in the Island, viz., those of chancery, exchequer, and common-law procedure, sit at Castletown. The general gaol delivery takes place twice a year at Castletown. The Deemsters are the chief justices of the Island; one, presiding over the Northern Division, holds his court weekly at Ramsey, Peel, or Michael; and the other, presiding over the Southern Division, holds his court at Douglas or Castletown. A court of admiralty, and seneschals', ecclesiastical, and coroners' courts are held as required. A High Bailiff is appointed for each of the towns of Castletown, Douglas, Peel, and Ramsey by commission from the Lieutenant-Governor, and is the conservator of the peace. A Coroner is also appointed by the Lieutenant-Governor for each of the six Sheadings, or great Divisions of the Island.

The Island constitutes the Diocese of Sodor and Man in the Province of York. The inhabited

houses and population of the several parishes in the Island in 1871 are given below:-

	1871.		1871.			1871.	
Parish, Town, or Place.	In- habited Houses. Popula- tion.	Parish, Town, or Place.	habited Houses.	Popula- tion.	Parish, Town, or Place.	In- habited Houses.	Popula- tion.
Patrick Par. German Parish— German Landward-pt. Peel Tn. Marown Par. Michael Par. Ballaugh Par. Jurby Par. Andreas Par.	515 2,888 333 1,762 524 3,513 218 1,123 254 1,231 232 1,076 150 788 356 1,759	Conchan Landward-pt.	685 669 293	880 1,620 1,432 3,934 3,740 1,621 12,521	$\begin{array}{cccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccc$	138 401 109 460 439 262 664	1,451 2,214 628 2,467 2,320 1,355 3,719

JERSEY.

JERSEY, the largest of the CHANNEL ISLANDS, is divided into twelve parishes, and contains the three

JERSEY, the largest of the CHANNEL ISLANDS, is divided in the count (appointed by the Crown), who is Pretowns of St. Helier, St. Aubin, and Gorey.

The "States" of Jersey consist of the Bailiff of the Royal Court (appointed by the Crown), who is President, the twelve jurats of the Royal Court, elected for life by the ratepayers, the rectors of the twelve parishes, the twelve constables elected every three years by the ratepayers, and fourteen deputies also elected every three years, of whom three represent the parish of St. Helier, each of the eleven other parishes being represented by one deputy.

The attorney-general, the solicitor-general, and the high sheriff (viccompte) represented by one deputy. represented by one deputy. The attorney-general, the solicitor-general, and the high sheriff (vicompte) have seats in the "States" but do not vote; and the clerk (greffier) of the Royal Court is, by virtue of his office, clerk of the "Assembly of the States." The Lieutenant-Governor has a deliberative voice, but does not vote; he has however the power of veto. The Royal Court, composed of the bailiff and the twelve not vote; he has however the power of veto. The Royal Court, composed of the curing and the twelve jurats, is the only tribunal in the Island; and as a great variety of causes requiring different kinds of process are brought before this Court, it necessarily assumes four distinct characters, and according to the functions which it has to discharge, is termed "La Cour d'Heritage," "La Cour de Catel," "La Cour du Billet," and "La Cour Extraordinaire," or "La Cour de Samedi." The constables are the principal magistrates in each parish, their office being similar to that of mayors of corporate towns in England. The Lieutenant-Governor grants commissions to the officers of the militia, which is under his superintendence and control. The militial conditions of five regiments one of which has two battalions. tendence and control. The militia consists of five regiments, one of which has two battalions. Each regiment is composed of a certain number of men furnished, in proportion to its extent, by a district comprising a certain number of parishes; all males between the ages of 17 and 65 who are medically fit being bound to render personal service.