<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<TEI xmlns="http://www.tei-c.org/ns/1.0">
  <teiHeader>
    <fileDesc>
      <titleStmt>
        <title>Diversified products</title>
      </titleStmt>
      <publicationStmt />
      <sourceDesc>
        <bibl>
          <msIdentifier>
            <idno>183162365X</idno>
          </msIdentifier>
        </bibl>
      </sourceDesc>
    </fileDesc>
  </teiHeader>
  <text>
    <body>
      <div>
        <pb n="1" />
        an iE

! LE
—
=
Cp ET
FFT
        <pb n="2" />
        An edition of 100 of
which this is

No.

D
“er ‘

This volume is a combination of a series of booklets
published by the First National Bank at Pittsburgh, in
exposition of our city’s progress in business and culture.
It is fitting that this record be dedicated to the
memory of the late beloved president of the First
National Bank, Mr. Lawrence E. Sands, whose vision
and work has made a very deep impression upon the
general welfare of this community.
May we hope that this volume will be worthy of a
place in your library, not only for your own pleasure and
information, but also for any inspiration it may furnish
for a future generation to maintain and enhance the fine
traditions of the City of Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania.

Tue FIRST NATIONAL BANK AT PITTSBURGH,
PirrsBUrGH, Pa.
        <pb n="3" />
        The Story of

PITTSBURGH

Volume One
Number Thirteen

Diversified Products

First National Bank at Pittsburgh
April, 1927
        <pb n="4" />
        This booklet, prepared and published by the First National
 Bank at Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, is one of a series
issued, from time to time, since August, 1919, portraying the
various industries of the Pittsburgh district, with the inteution
 of emphasizing the importance of Pittsburgh as a commercial
 and financial metroplis. A large number of its many
industries have been described in the booklets, of which
thirteen, in all, have been published, to date. The following
is a list of the subjects discussed, with the date of issue:

Vol. 1, No. 1—Introductory Booklet... ..August, 1919
Vol. 1, No. 2—Iron and Steel... ........September, 1919
Vol. 1, No. 3—Iron and Steel (Part 2)... .January, 1920
Vol. 1, No. 4—Coal and Coke. .......... June, 1920
Vol. 1, No. 5—Glass. . . .. December, 1920
Vol. 1, No. 6—Electrical Appliances... ... March, 1921
Vol. 1, No. 7—Radum.... .....August, 1921
Vol. 1, No. 8—Cement and Concrete. . . .. December, 1921
Vol. 1, No. 9—Clay Products. . ......... December, 1922
Vol. 1, No. 10—Petroleum and Natural
Gas...... .December, 1923
Vol. 1, No. 11—Petroleum and Natural
Gas (Part 2)...........December, 1924
Vol. 1, No. 12—Food Products. . .December, 1925
Vol. 1, No. 183—Diversified Products. . . . .. April, 1927
        <pb n="5" />
        The Story of Pittsburgh
Diversified Products

CIE oe

{IE previous issues of this series of booklets, telling the
Story of Pittsburgh, as it is related in the great business
 which this city is doing, have dealt with the
chief industries of the community, which are most widely
known. The object of the First National Bank at Pittsburgh,
 however, has not been merely to speak of the basic
industrial enterprises, but also to inform the world of many
ather lines in wich Pittsburgh is prominent.
Naturally enough, in an industrial metropolis known all
over the world as “the Iron City,” the metallurgical industries
 are by far the most important. Without them other
industries could not exist, and therefore previous issues of
these booklets have handled Iron and Steel in a thorough
manner, and in a way which has been a great satisfaction to
Pittsburghers at home and Pittsburghers abroad, and to the
:ustomers of Pittsburghers in all parts of the world.
Then there was a time when Pittsburgh was known as
“the Natural Gas City.” At that period natural gas was
produced in vast quantities close to the city limits, and
scarcely any other fuel was used in the community, whether
for homes or for great manufacturing plants. The tremendous
 quantities of gas consumed cut deeply into the supply,
and it became necessary to go further and further away,
drilling wells and bringing the gas from many miles distant.
Pittsburgh is still the greatest user of natural gas of all the
cities of the world, especially in the winter, when dwellings
are heated, as well as many factories deriving fuel for manufacturing
 purposes. These factories can get much more gas
in the summer. time, when residences are using but little,
and the additions then to their fuel supply, from the natural
gas fields, maintain the steady use of Nature’s fuel.
        <pb n="6" />
        Associated with natural gas is petroleum, and Pittsburgh
has always been one of the most important centers for the
development of oil fields. Our booklets have given in detail
the rise and progress of the oil and gas development, the
particulars of which have greatly surprised people who
thought themselves thoroughly familiar with the great oil
and gas industry.

Without coal it would have been impossible for the iron
and steel and oil and gas industries to start and grow, for
this form of fuel is of vital importance, and it is no wonder
that the First National Bank’s booklet on Coal had a wide
reading.

Many other Pittsburgh industries have been discussed,
cne of the businesses perhaps less known but of great importance,
 being Radium, which formed the subject of a
booklet. Then came Food Products; the extent of Pittsburgh’s
 interest in the production, preservation and distrisition
 of food making a booklet of decided importance
In the present issue a number of “Diversified Products”
of Pittsburgh and its environs are discussed, with particulars
 of the origin of the businesses, the location and cost of
the plants, the officers of the concerns, and the number of
men emploved in the several businesses

ALUMINUM COMPANY OF AMERICA

There is a wonderful romance about aluminum, the
silver-white metal of extreme lightness, familiar to all,
through its use in the manufacture of domestic articles, as
well as in articles which are not often seen about the house.
Not every one, however, knows that aluminum is the most
common element in nature, with the exception of oxygen
and silicon. About 89, of the earth’s crust is aluminum,
and it is twice as plentiful in nature as iron, for it occurs in
many minerals, clays and earths, but no process has yet
been discovered of extracting the metal from common clay,
although chemists have heen working on the problem for
vears.
        <pb n="7" />
        Aluminum can be extracted only from a single widelyscattered
 and generally little known mineral called bauxite,
and the expense of extracting it from that mineral is very
heavy. The presence of aluminum in the earth’s crust was
known to scientists for many years before it was actually
isolated and obtained in metallic form. It was a young
American, Charles Martin Hall, who made the momentous
discovery, in 1886, that has given aluminum to the world.
He was only 22 years of age at the time, and a student of
Oberlin College. Mr. Hall applied for a patent covering
his discovery, in the year named, but it was not issued until
1889. The patent expired in 1904.

In 1888 Mr. Hall associated himself with some other
yeung men in Pittsburgh, and formed the Aluminum Company
 of America. These men are the pioneers of the aluminum
 industry, and, except as death has thinned their ranks,
they and their company have developed aluminum, in the
short space of 38 years, from a laboratory curiosity into cne
of the most important metals of everyday use. It was
under the guidance of these men that aluminum in the
United States was reduced in price from $8 a pcund to 25
cents pound, and its uses extended to such a degree that
it is now a necessity of civilized life.

In the year 1888 there was no consumption of aluminum
at all; today the world is consuming the metal at the rate of
250,000,000 pounds a year. This indispensable metal is
chiefly the product of labor. A ton of the material has a
value in excess of $500. The raw materials, unimproved
by labor, required to produce this ton of aluminum, are not
worth over $25. Least valuable of all is the bauxite, which
must be mined, treated, transported and put through an
elaborate chemical process. Coal must be mined, transported,
 and its energy turned into steam; limestone must
be quarried, transported and treated; common salt must be
produced and put through an extensive chemical process to
produce soda ash; cryolite is produced in the Arctic Circle
and brought from that distant field; fluorspar is mined at
considerable hazard and expense, and is highly treated; the
carbons used are the product of elaborate manufacture, using
        <pb n="8" />
        as raw products materials which have progressed through
other stages of manufacture in the coal tar and oil industry,
and the hydro-electricity used is practically all labor, since
it represents the harnessing of water.
Coal, limestone and water power are not found in
proximity to the bauxite. In America the bauxite is carried
400 miles to the plant which refines it. The resulting
alumina is transported from 600 to 1200 miles to the point
where hydro-electricity is available.
Beginning in 1888, with an investment of $20,000, in a
plant 20 feet by 100 feet in size, with a daily capacity of a
few pounds of aluminum and employing five persons, the
Aluminum Company of America has grown into a corporation
 with an investment of $200,000,000 in more than 20
plants, having a capacity of 170,000,000 pounds a year, and
employing 20,000 people. Its payrolls aggregate $24,000,000
a year, and its taxes, municipal, State and Federal, are
$3,200,000 a year. The company was recapitalized and re-‘ncorporated
 in July, 1925. For the ten years ending
December 31, 1926, the net income of the company after
taxes and depreciation available for interest has averaged
ver $12,000,000 per annum and for the last three years such
aet income has been, respectively: 1924—$13,425,266.69;
1925—$22,891,505.40; and 1926—$19,747,068.85.
The company has acquired a large water power on the
Sanguenay River, in the Province of Quebec, and has constructed
 there a large almuinum producing plant, which is
now in operation. The company and its subsidiaries own
and operate plants at East St. Louis, Ill, Niagara Falls,
N.Y.; Massena, N. Y.; Edgewater, N. J.; New Kensington,
near Pittsburgh; Shawinigan Falls, Quebec; Toronto, Oncario;
 Badin, N. C., and Alcoa, Tenn. Ample deposits of
oauxite are owned in Arkansas, British Guiana, Dutch
Guiana, and other foreign countries.
The offices of the Aluminum Company of America are
in the Henry W. Oliver building, Pittsburgh. Arthur V.
Davis is president; the vice presidents are Roy A. Hunt,
R. E. Withers, E. S. Fickes, Edward K. Davis, C. H. Moritz,
W. P. King and G. R. Gibbons. G. R. Gibbons is secretary
and R. E. Withers is treasurer.
        <pb n="9" />
        ARMSTRONG CORK COMPANY

The Armstrong Cork Company had its beginning in a
small room at the corner of Smithfield Street and Diamond
Alley, Pittsburgh, in the year 1860, when Thomas M.
Armstrong and John D. Glass purchased the hand-cut cork
business of Harry Overington, a former workman of William
King of New York City, the first person to manufacture
corks in the United States.
Mr. Glass died in 1864 and shortly afterward his interest
in the business was purchased by William L. Standish and
Robert D. Armstrong, a brother of Thomas M. Armstrong.
The name cf the firm was then changed to Armstrong,
Brother &amp;amp; Company, and the business was moved to a location
 on Third Avenue in the rear of the old St. Charles Hotel.
Somewhat later the factory was moved to First Avenue
where it remained until 1878, when the continued expansion
of the business made necessary the purchase of land for a
much larger plant in the area bounded by Twenty-third,
Twenty-fourth and Railroad Streets and the Allegheny
River, the site of the present Pittsburgh factory, warehouse
and office build’ ngs.
The erection of the new factory was but one step in the
expansion of the Ccmpany which has been going on steadily
ever since. In 1893 the Lancaster Cork Works at Lancaster,
Pa., was purchased to supply more efficiently the trade in
in the east; in 1900 a new plant was erected at Beaver Falls,
Pa., for the manufacture of corkboard insulation from the
waste developed in the making of bottle stoppers and other
cork products, and in 1904 a similar factory at Camden,
N.J., was purchased from the Nonpareil Cork Manufacturing
Company.
For many years the Company had secured corkwood.
the outer bark of the cork oak tree, from various sources in
the cork producing countries. But in 1906 the business
had grown to the pcint where it was necessary to build a
factory at Seville, Spain, for the preparation of its raw
material. This was the forerunner of a large foreign organization
 which now numbers some sixteen plants in southern
France and northern Africa.
        <pb n="10" />
        ed EC Tr

General Office and Pittsburgh Plant, Armstrong Cork Co.
        <pb n="11" />
        In 1907 the Company entered an entirely new field, the
manufacture of linoleum, and built a plant at Lancaster,
Pa., which has been added to repeatedly until now it is the
largest factory of its kind in the country.

Since then three additional plants, at Oakdale, Pa., New
Brunswick, N. J., and Algeciras, Spain, and many new products
 have been added until now the Company sells to almost
every industry—cork stoppers of all descriptions, cork
gaskets and floats for automobiles and other machines,
seamless cork cots for spinning rolls in textile mills, cork
compositions for innersoling and box toes in shoes, linoleum
of all kinds, cork carpets, felt base floor coverings, flooring
tile of pure cork and cork composition, corkboard for the
insulation of cold storage rooms, refrigerators, and the walls
and roofs of residences and other buildings, cork covering
for refrigerated pipe lines, heat insulation for steam pipes,
boilers, furnaces, ovens, kilns, stills, ete., cork brick for
floors in dairy barns and hog houses, cork machinery isolation
 for deadening noise and vibration of moving machinery,
and a host of other articles made of natural or composition
cork, such as pen holder tips, insoles, yacht fenders, handles,
washers, discs, etc.

Because of the varied character and use of these products,
their sale is handled through three main sales divisions—
Cork Division, Linoleum Division and Insulation Division.
with offices in all of the principal cities.
At the present time, the Armstrong Cork Company owns,
directly or through subsidiaries, seven factories in the United
States, in addition to sixteen plants in the cork producing
countries for the collection and preparation of raw material.
Two of these foreign plants produce finished materials as
well. The Company is a Pennsylvania corporation and
employs approximately 5.000 persons.

A. M. BYERS COMPANY

Established in 1864 as Graff, Byers &amp;amp; Co., incorporated
in 1893 as A. M. Byers &amp;amp; Co., and in 1903 under its present
name, the A. M. Byers Company makes and sells approxi-
        <pb n="12" />
        mately half the genuine wrought iron pipe today manufactured
 in the United States. In the early years bars,
sheets, etc., as well as pipe, were made. Now the entire
output of the company’s puddle mills is required in the
manufacture of Byers Pipe, couplings and nipples. Surplus
of pig iron, made primarily for supplying the company’s
puddle furnaces, is sold to the foundries within shipping distance
 of the blast furnace at Girard, Ohio.

Typical of the unvarying policy which the Byers Company
 has pursued in maintaining the highest standards of
quality, and in building into its pipe the longest possible
life, it is noteworthy that its rolled products have always
been made of unadulterated wrought iron with no admixture
of scrap of any nature whatsoever. In this connection it is
interesting to examine the picture of the old puddle mill,
shown on the opposite page. It stands on the site of the
original Byers plant, and the sheets which form the siding
and roofing were made in Byers own works in 1881. Without
 paint, without galvanizing, and practically without repairs,
 these wrought iron sheets have served for 45 years in
the smoke and sulphur laden atmosphere of the industrial
plants and railroad yards of Pittsburgh’s South Side. Their
condition today makes it appear that these old sheets will
last for another generation. Many records of old Byers
Pipe in buildings that have been dismantled also show uninterrupted
 service for forty, fifty and more years—all bespeaking
 the exceptional life of old-fashioned wrought iron.

While higher in first cost than modern steel pipe, the
lasting qualities of Byers Genuine Wrought Iron Pipe make
it particularly adapted for permanent installation where
ultimate cost per year of service is the dominant consideration.
 It finds its chief uses in the plumbing, heating and
other pipe systems of large buildings; in railway service,
particularly for locomotive piping and for airbrake lines;
in the oil and gas fields, both in the wells and long distance
pipe lines; for water and gas service lines, and other underground
 installations; in industrial plants for handling process
liquids, hot water, steam returns and in other similar services
where corrosion is a factor to be reckoned with.
        <pb n="13" />
        Upper: A Section of the Pittsburgh Mill.
Right: A Puddler at work.

A. M. Byers Company,
Manufacturers of Genuine Wrought Iron Pine and Oil Country Tubular Products.
        <pb n="14" />
        The higher cost of Byers Pipe originates in the oldfashioned
 puddling operation—slow and laborious, but the
only known method of producing the highest quality of
wrought iron. However, to the eye of the layman, genuine
wrought iron looks much like the cheaper metal, steel. It
has therefore been necessary for the Byers Company to devise
 distinguishing marks for their product, and for more than
ten years the name Byers in raised letters, followed by two
figures indicating year of manufacture, have been rolled
into the metal and repeated each three or four feet on every
ength of Byers pipe.
Since early in 1925, an additional marking has been
provided in the form of a colored stripe which winds around
each piece of pipe from end to end. It is painted on by
machinery in the course of the several inspections to which
the pipe is subjected prior to shipment. This stripe is
visible from any angle, at distances of 50 feet or more, and
makes Byers Pipe, either black or galvanized, the most
zasily identified of any pipe made. Byers nipples are also
marked with the Byers name and the thickness; that is.
whether standard or extra heavy weight.
Among the notable modern structures in which many
miles of Byers Pipe are in service, are the Woolworth Build:
ing and the Pennsylvania Hotel, New York; Stevens Hotel,
Chicago; William Penn Hotel, Pittsburgh; Southwestern
Bell Telephone Building, St. Louis; Standard Oil Building,
Baltimore; General Motors Building, Detroit; Dexter-Horton
National Bank, Seattle; Seville-Biltmore Hotel, Havana;
Marunouchi Building, Tokio, and many others equally well
known.
The Byers Company operates a blast furnace, puddle
and rolling mills at Girard, Ohio, and puddle and pipe mills
at Sixth and Bingham Streets, South Side, Pittsburgh.
These two plants employ from 2,500 to 3,000 men.
The principal business office of the company is at 235
Water Street, Pittsburgh, with the general sales office in the
Union Bank Building, Pittsburgh. Branch sales offices are
maintained in Boston, New York, Rochester, Philadelphia,
Pittsburgh, Cleveland, Chicago, St. Louis, Jacksonville,
Birmingham, Houston, Tulsa and Los Angeles.
        <pb n="15" />
        The capital stock of the company consists of $4,500,000
seven per cent cumulative preferred stock, and 150.000
shares common stock without par value.
The present officers of the company are: E. M. Byers,
chairman of the board of directors; A. H. Beale, president;
J. Frederick Byers, L. M. Johnston, E. L. Ives, vice-presidents;
 Frank G. Love, secretary and treasurer; H. H. Bryant,
 assistant secretary and assistant treasurer; C. G. Jensen.
comptroller: W. S. Graham. auditor.

DAMASCUS BRONZE COMPANY

Along with the growth of the steel industry and railroads
in Pittsburgh, there came a rebirth of the ancient industry
of bronze founding. Bronze had been used throughout the
ages for coins and statuary, and it was this time-tried alloy
that has made possible the development of heavy rolling in
our mills.

Bronze and its close relative, babbitt, are carrying the
locomotives and cars of our railroads in unprecedented
volume. The rolls in many mills operate at a dull red heat
and with scanty lubrication. The bearings are therefore
called on not only to withstand high temperatures, but to
support the rolls at the tremendous pressures encountered.
Different conditions require different formulae and this fact
has necessitated the use of all the helps of modern science in
the present day manufacture of bearings.
It is by the recognition of this fact that Damascus Bronze
Company has grown from the small beginning in 1879, with
a capital of less than $5,000, to a company owning assets of
well over a million dollars. M. J. Graney may be called the
father of the present company, when he started his foundry
on Church Street in old Allegheny. Later was associated
with him William T. Paul, and then came Frank Scott and
George A. McLean, all of whom greatly aided the company’s
growth. John T. Brown was appointed manager in 1892 and
until his death in 1918 was a well known figure in Pittsburgh
industry.
The products of the company include bronze bearings,
bronze and alloy ingots and babbitt metals. These are
        <pb n="16" />
        St er mS HRARE SE mn  S E et N a aa re mires pt are om +e nm pms emi 4
are ee mms es SL men ELE Sf JS Mr Mi I i oii TI a Rl ia NT el
ss Smee dl Fs BET mT ae. OE peg ve de ow Tal Bene wailed of alin BT ET ALF BNI baer see os

Main Office and Plant. Damascus Bronze Co.. Pittsbursh.

Pa
        <pb n="17" />
        shipped to all parts of the world, as “Damascus Better
Bearings’ are known wherever steel is rolled. The present
policy of the company is the same as that which produced
its growth and requires the use of virgin metal mixtures in
high grade bearings.
The management is in the hands of William B. Klee,
president; William K. Frank, vice president and general
manager; Edwin B. Ross, secretary, and these with Isaac
W. Frank and William E. Cartwright, constitute the board
of directors.

FORT PITT BEDDING COMPANY
The Fort Pitt Bedding Company, located on Liverpool
Street and Preble Avenue, North Side, was incorporated in
May, 1906, for the sole purpose of manufacturing bedding—
the main articles being mattresses, bed springs, steel cots,
steel couches, double deck bunks, pillows, automobile seats
and the nationally known Sealy Mattresses. Some of
the products are shipped into every state in the Union.
The stockholders and officers are as follows: W. L.
Trimble, president; Chas. P. Trimble, secretary and treasurer;
 H. E. Wolf, general manager.
The payroll consists of 180 employees. The company
operates its own printing department and has a first-class
machine shop. Extensive additions have been made to the
plant in the past 10 years.
Recently, this company with 24 other bedding factories
located throughout the United States, bought out the Sealy
Mattress Company of Texas, which concern made what is
known as the Famous Sealy Tuftless Mattress and this
mattress is now being manufactured and distributed by 25
Sealy factories.

GOLDEN- ANDERSON VALVE SPECIALTY CO.

The Golden-Anderson Valve Specialty Co. was incorporated
 in Pennsylvania in May, 1905, to specialize in the
manufacture and sale of automatic control valves for steam
and water service, and its products are nationally known for
their superiority in design, construction and operation.
        <pb n="18" />
        The company furnishes all the leading water works, railroads
 and industrial plants with its automatic valves because
 they are indispensable for efficient and economic
operation and for preventing loss of life and property in case
of accidents. The valves are furnished in bronze, cast iron
and cast steel, according to the service requirements and conditions.

Prominence was given to the correct mechanical design
of these valves by tests made by the Steel Corporation, who
wanted only the best for life and property protection, and
the Golden-Anderson valves proved their merit and durability
 over all competitive makes of similar valves which
were included in that test.
The company only builds automatic control valves, and
most prominent among its designs are automatic valves for
boilers to protect life and property in case of boiler or steam
line explosions; for steam engines to prevent fly-wheel explosions;
 altitude valves to maintain a constant water level
in tanks, standpipes and reservoirs without the use of floats
or complicated fixtures; and regulating pressure valves for
reducing a higher pressure to a lower fixed pressure.
The officers of the company are C. E. Golden, president;
E. V. Anderson, vice president; D. B. Golden, treasurer,
and J. A. Voland, secretary. Representatives of the company
 are established in all the principal cities of the United
States.

THE HEPPENSTALL FORGE &amp;amp; KNIFE CO.

Back in 1889, in a little building about twenty-five by
fifty feet, the Samuel Trethewey &amp;amp; Co., Ltd., was organized
for the manufacture of shears and rolling mill machinery.
Samuel Trethewey, the founder of this company, held some
patents on certain parts of steam hammers and shears.
The next year, 1890, the name of the firm was changed
to the Trethewey Manufacturing Co. and the plant was
moved to a plot of ground fifty by one hundred thirty-five
feet, at 47th and Hatfield Streets, about the middle of the
present location of the Heppenstall Forge and Knife Co.
At this same time, the company also began the manufacture
of shear knives.
        <pb n="19" />
        HreppeENSTALL ForgeE &amp;amp; Knire CoMPANY
        <pb n="20" />
        In December, 1895, the company was reorganized under
the name of the Pittsburgh Shear Knife and Machine Co.,
under the management of Sam Heppenstall, who had purchased
 stock in the original company in 1889, and had actively
 entered its employ in 1893. It was in 1893, shortly
after entering the company, that Mr. Heppenstall had a
vision of a better shear knife than they were putting out—a
shear knife with four cutting edges instead of one, as shear
knives were then manufactured. Despite the protests that
it could not be done, Mr. Heppenstall made a shear knife
with four cutting edges, and today all shear knives are
manufactured with four cutting edges.
On January 5, 1904, the company was reorganized unger
the name of the Heppenstall Forge and Knife Co., with Sam
Heppenstall as president, and Charles William Heppenstall
2s manoger, and began the manufacture of forgings and
shear knives, in which work it is still engaged.
The plant has grown from that small building in 1889, to
one covering six city blocks, where one may follow the
steps of making a steel forging or a shear knife, from the
melting of the steel, through the forging, heat treating, and
machining to the finished product.

In 1911 an auxiliary plant was organized in Bridgeport,
Conn., which was called the Heppenstall Forge Co., and in
1919 another branch warehouse was opened in Detroit,
Michigan, under the name of the Heppenstall Steel Co.
The company also maintains sales offices in all the large
ties.

In 1920 Sam Heppenstall resigned from the active presidency
 to become chairman of the board, and his son, Charles
William Heppenstoall, was elected president, with Samuel
B. Heppenstall as vice-president. Today, the Heppenstall
Forge &amp;amp; Knife Co. manufactures die blocks, hammer rams,
piston rods, crankshafts, pinions, many other kinds of forgings
 and shear knives, and sends them to all corners of the
globe. Today, also, the third generation of Heppenstall
is working his way up through the plant, in the person of
Robert B. Heppenstall, son of the president,
        <pb n="21" />
        THE O. HOMMEL CO.

About thirty-five years ago, in a room in a building in the
downtown section of Pittsburgh, O. Hommel, the head of
this company, started the business by supplying makers of
picture frames, gilders of ornaments, lithographers, painters
and manufacturers of other surfaced material with a bronze
powder imported from Germany. This room enclosed the
office and the receiving and selling departments. The business
 progressed and from this humble beginning has arisen
a large factory, covering approximately three acres of ground
at Carnegie, Pa., with general and executive offices at Carnegie
 and Pittsburgh and sales offices in the most important
sities of the United States, the vested interests approximating
syne half million dollars.

“Quality First” was the motto, coupled with the watchword
 “Service,” and Mr. Hommel realized that, in order to
insure to the trade uniform material and satisfactory deliveries,
 it would be necessary to go into the manufacturing
business. Bronze Powder has an extensive use in surfacing.
You see it on wall paper and moldings, picture frames, lamp
bases of every variety and shades of bronze; labels; letter
heads; Christmas cards; radiators; pipe; gilt painting, especially
 on iron objects, indoors and out, and on many other
sbiects.

Soon after the bronze factory was well established the
company embarked in the production of oxides and colors
for use in glass, pottery and iron enamel tiades.
With the motto “Quality is remembered long after
price is forgotten,” always in view, the company is always
reaching out for something better. With Mr. Hommel’s
long experience and study of industries which it serves and
with his staff of expert assistants this branch of the business
has grown to large proportions, and has become one of
immense value to the ceramic industry. Every color of
oxide and almost every shade of colors are produced for the
iron enamel trade, and all varieties of known colors are
brought out for the glass and pottery trade and art decorators.
        <pb n="22" />
        A person admiring the beautiful colors in a piece of porcelain,
 glass or enamel ware—and enameled stove colored in
mahogany, black and white and other colors—has no idea
of the long, tedious, painstaking work required to produce
a color. Often it takes an expert years to bring cut a particular
 shade.
An important branch of the company’s system is the
research department. A large laboratory fully equipped
is maintained where new colors are produced, better methods
for using old and new materials are developed, and where the
materials manufactured are tested to keep them uniform.
This department is famous throughout the United States,
Canada and Mexico. Not a day passes but some query
comes in by phone, by mail or by person asking for the correct
 or most approved method of using some material. Mr.
Hommel, together with his staff of experts, are often called
upon as consultants by glass, pottery and iron enamel manufacturers
 who are having technical or other difficulties.
In the early days, the method of blending and shading
colors on pottery and glass was crude Stippling and dry
dusting were tried and discarded as unsatisfactory. Mr.
Hommel, seeing the possibilities in the advancement of
decorating if an instrument or tool could be made to produce
the proper effects with his experts, set to work on the problem.
 The result was the air brush—a spraying tool operated
oy compressed air. The air brush has revolutionized the
glass and pottery industries. By its use every variety of
shade and blend of color are applied to ware. This we see
in lamp shades and bases; white lamps in hospitals, trains
and offices, with blends of ivory effects; vases of every color
and shade; and other articles too numerous to mention.
Nearly every pottery and glass factory now has its decorating
shop, many making this the important part of their business.
Thousands of men and women are employed in these shops
in all manner of art decorating. The air brush has been
developed and improved until now there is an air brush for
every kind of surfacing from the smallest piece of art china
or glassware to the largest objects—even house painting.
The industry has an appeal to the educational institutions
of the city. Every year chemical students from our high
        <pb n="23" />
        schools, by request, are conducted through the plant. They
are shown chemical and smelting departments where oxides
of all colors and shades are made for the iron enamel trade;
the mill or grinding rooms where colors are made and mixed
for the pottery, glass and other decorating trades; the”gold
. v v mn
room where pure gold is converted into form;for use on gold
encrusted ware; and the heavy stamp and polishing” rooms

A corner in the Bronze Powder Room. Intermediate process.
0. Hommel Co., Carnegie, Pa.

where copper, zinc and aluminum are made into gold and
silver bronze powder. In addition many visitors come
annually from other states and from foreign lands to visit
the factory.
The ccmpany’s close association with other factories in
this country and in Europe places it in a pesition to furnish
art decorations, potteries, glass factories and iron enamel
works with tools and supplies of every nature required and
of the best quality. Not the least among these are porcelain
 grinding balls and lining bricks used in mills for grinding
enamel, color and dry earth powder of every kind: and erind-
        <pb n="24" />
        ing jars or mills. They have also in course of development
pyrometer tubes for use with heat recording instruments.
The O. Hommel Co. is continually taking on and developing
 new features in the ceramic trades and bids fair to grow
to still greater importance as one of the industries of Pittsburgh.
 The general office is located at Carnegie, Pa., and
axecutive office at 209 Fourth Avenue, Pittsburgh.

THE KEYSTONE DRILLER COMPANY

Robert Magee Downie was born on a farm near Valencia,
Butler County, Pennsylvania, August 21, 1853. At the age
of 22, while as yet there was no such device known as a well
drilling machine on wheels, he learned that there was a
method of sinking small test holes for coal, by hand, using
a sapling as a spring-pole, to carry the drilling tools. With
the proceeds of a winter’s school-teaching and the assistance
of a neighbor he procured an outfit of spring-pole drilling
tools and went into the business of exploring for bituminous
coal.

It was hard work. Five to ten feet of three inch hole
was a fair day’s work for two strong men. He learned the
theory and “art” of drilling wells; and he observed that the
farmers sometimes used the abandoned test holes for water
supply. With a set of larger tools he went into the business
of drilling water wells, for which there was great demand;
but he had trouble convincing his clients that a permanent
and adequate supply of water could be gotten out of a 5
inch hole. The world had been accustomed since the days
of Abraham to wells four or five feet in diameter. He had
to guarantee his new-fangled well to produce “plenty of
water or no pay.” Experience showed that the drilled well
was more sanitary, could be cased securely against surface
contamination and vermin; that it was more reliable because
 it could be carried down to a second or third waterbearing
 stratum; that it was cheaper to make and safer for
man and beast.
It seemed that there should be an easier way. In 1878
Robert Downie built in his father’s farm yard, out of a heavy
wagon truck, a second-hand boiler and small steam engine,
        <pb n="25" />
        Upper: Bird's eye
view of the plant at
Beaver Falls, Pa.
Right: A reproduction
of the Keystone Portable
 Steam Driller Co.,
Ltd., at its organization
 at Fallston, Pa.,
1882.

Keystone Driller Company, Beaver Falls, Pa.
        <pb n="26" />
        and with some assistance from his younger brothers, John
G. and James L., the first well drilling rig to be mounted on
wheels. It was a success and enabled him to drill 5 inch or
6 inch wells at the rate of 40 to 50 feet per day—ten times as
fast as they could be drilled by hand and with about a tenth
of the labor. He “drilled” his way through Geneva College,
graduating with the class of 1881. The school had that year
been moved from Northwood, Ohio, to Beaver Falls, Penna.
At this time Dr. H. H. George was President of the College.
Dr. David McAllister occupied the chair of Philosophy.
James D. MecAnlis kept a jewlery store at Seventh avenue
and Eighth street. Robert Downie, who had had some
success as a debater in the Adelphic Literary Society, had
one firm purpose and ambition. He desired to preach the
gospel. ‘He was preparing to leave for Allegheny and the
Covenanter Seminary, when he met James D. McAnlis, who
suggested the organization of a company to manufacture
well drilling machinery. It was largely due to Mr. McAnlis’
persuasion, and to the friendly interest of Dr. H. H. George,
that a new industry was founded in the Beaver Valley.
The well drilling business had, in the meantime, probably
in 1878, been organized under the name of R. M. Downie
and Bros., with an office at the corner of Arch and Ohio
streets, in Allegheny; and some six or eight replicas of the
original non-traction well drill were manufactured under
contract with the Velte Foundry Company, at 33rd Street
and Penn Avenue, and sold under the adopted trade name,
“Keystone.” John Galbraith Downie was closely associated
 with his brother Robert M. in this as in many other
enterprises at a later time. R. M. Downie &amp;amp; Bro. exhibited
one of their machines at the Pittsburgh Exposition in the
winter of 1881.
The Keystone Portable Steam Driller Company, Ltd., was
organized on Ground Hog Day, February 2, 1882, in the
back room of Mr. McAnlis’s Jewelry Shop, with a capital
stock of $20,000. Of this amount $10,000 was subscribed
in cash by the following charter members and founders, and
$10,000 worth of stock was allotted to Robert M. Downie
        <pb n="27" />
        and John G. Downie, for patents and rights to manufacture
Keystone Drillers: Robert Patterson, of Beaver, attorney
at law; Dr. R. J. George, pastor of R. P. Church, Beaver
Falls; Dr. H. H. George, President of Geneva College; Dr.
David McAllister, of Walton, N. Y.; John G. Downie, of
Downieville, Butler County, Penna.; James D. McAnlis,
jeweler, of Beaver Falls; Robert M. Downie, theological
intendant, of Beaver Falls.
At the organization R. M. Downie was elected secretary
and general manager, positions which he held until his death,
October 28, 1924, in New Brighton, whither he had been
taken from his home overlooking the campus of his alma
mater, in Beaver Falls.
The manufacture of Portable Water Well Drilling
Machines was begun in a small stone building, the old
Thornily Foundry and Machine Shop, at Fallston, Penna.,
in February 1882, with a crew of twelve men. A 10-HP
water turbine furnished power for the plant. In 1887 the
company purchased four building lots at Twentieth street
and Eighth avenue, Beaver Falls, and erected larger frame
buildings. In 1891 the company re-chartered under the
name of Keystone Driller Company with a capital stock of
$150,000, and from time to time the working capital was
increased by the sale of stock and stock dividends. The
annual business at this time had approached $100,000. At
the end of the decade it had doubled—a slow but steady and
healthy growth.
The photograph of the Fallston plant is much more interesting,
 from a historical standpoint, than the bird’s eye
view. It shows the original crew of twelve men employed
by the company, beginning with the second man at the left
in a white shirt, who is R. M. Downie. The third man is
J. G. Downie. The man seated on the end of the wagon
tongue is Robert G. Forbes, who was at that time bookkeeper,
 and was later and for many years, treasurer and
purchasing agent. The machine shown in this picture was
the principal product and is a No. 2 non-traction Keystone
Portable Steam Drill. The photograph was taken in April
        <pb n="28" />
        or May of 1883, but shows the plant as it was in the organization
 of the business, February 2, 1882. Across the top
of the picture you will notice two cables. These are not
telephone wires, or electric service lines, but were used in
transporting power from a 10-HP water turbine in the mill
race across the street, to operate the plant.
By 1902 considerable expansion had taken place, several
large wooden buildings had been added and about one hundred
 men were employed in all departments. Following a
machinists’ strike the plant was almost entirely destroyed
by fire, in November of that year. The newly erected brick
fire-proof office building at Twentieth street and Eighth
avenue escaped and forms the front of the present office.
An issue of preferred stock with a guaranteed dividend of
8% was placed on the market to raise some of the money
needed for the construction of new and better buildings.
At this time the paid up capital stock was about $250,000.
and the annual business had grown to nearly that amount.
Additional much needed ground was obtained by the purchase
 of the adjoining plant of the American Steel and Wire
Company. All the new buildings now erected were of
modern fire-proof construction.
John Galbraith Downie, younger brother of Robert M.,
was the inventor and patentee of the Downie Double Stroke
Deep Well Pumps, about 1888. These were manufactured
by the Downie Pump Company, of New Brighton; later
moved to a new plant at Downieville, Penna. In 1907 the
established business of the Downie Pump Company was
bought out by the Keystone Driller Company, and moved
to Beaver Falls. During the first decade of the century
Keystone Drills were greatly improved, new sizes were added
to the catalogue; machines were adapted to new uses, such
as mineral prospecting, placer gold testing, blast hole drilling
in quarries and oil and gas well drilling. The responsibilities
of management were divided between R. M. Downie, general
manager, and Frederick W. Ransom, assistant general
manager and treasurer.
In 1912 the company, by purchase of patents and direct
development, produced a light traction power shovel, usable
with the novel “Skimmer” and “Pull Stroke” ditcher
        <pb n="29" />
        buckets. By reason of its portability and adaptability to
a wide range of uses it sprang into the favor of road building
and ditching contractors and engineers. A large and
profitable business was added to that already enjoyed in
drills and pumps. Out of accumulated profits and surplus
the company declared in January, 1924, a stock dividend and
offered an additional amount of stock at par to stockholders.
The total amount offered was immediately taken up. The
said up capital stock at present is about $2,000,000.
A good business has been enjoyed during recent years.
The total annual business has increased considerably over
1009, from 1916 to 1926. The main plant at Beaver Falls
covers about nine acres and employs over 400 men, most of
them skilled mechanics. It includes several modern machine
 shops, gray iron and steel foundries, wood working department,
 boiler shop and forges. Branch offices are maintained
 in New York, Chicago and Joplin, Missouri. Wareaouses
 and small manufacturing plants are conducted at
Arlington, N. J., and Joplin, Missouri. Keystone Well
Drills and Excavators are widely used throughout the
United States and abroad. Forty-four years of fair-dealing
nave won the confidence of coutractors and engineers
throughout the world.

Of the founders of the Company, but one man remains,
James D. McAnlis, the revered president of the present
board of directors, which includes also the following names:
Robert Rex Downie, secretary and general manager; Charles
T. Smith, treasurer; John Warren, vice president; and J.Vale
Downie. sales manager.

LADD WATER TUBE BOILER COMPANY

The Ladd Water Tube Boiler Company was organized
in 1910, under the name of The George T. Ladd Company,
the firm name being changed in 1925, to Ladd Water Tube
Boiler Company, becoming a subsidiary of the International
Combustion Engineering Corporation of New York. The
Ladd Company is a Delaware Corporation with a capitalization
 of $7.631.,000., and has a large number of boilers in
        <pb n="30" />
        operation throughout the country, varying in capacity from
4,000 to 600,000 pounds of steam per hour
Ladd engineers pioneered the use of large combustion
chambers, having installed boilers in 1916 with four and
one-half cubic feet of combustion space per rated horsepower.
They were also the first boiler company to use heavy steel
work for boiler settings; to suspend the drums inside the
boiler settings; to perfect and install a patented feed box
arrangement, special baffle tile, air tight doors and many
other noteworthy improvements in boiler ard furnace
construction.
That the fundamental design of the Ladd Boiler is correct
is proved not only by the efficient operation of these boilers
wherever installed, but also by the fact that today several
of the larger boiler companies have revised their original
model to more closely conform to the Ladd design.
Probably the largest and best known water tube boiler
installation in the world is the eight 2,647 HP. Ladd boilers
installed in the River Rouge Power Plant of the Ford Motor
Company. Four of these boilers were installed in 1920, and
at that time they were not only the largest power boilers
ever built, but also the first boilers to be fired by a combination
 of pulverized coal and blast furnace gas. The performance
 of the first four boilers was so satisfactory that a
second order for four additional boilers of the same horsepower
 capacity was placed and the hoilers installed during
1922.
With the rapid advances that have been made in the
past ten years in combustion equipment and with the advent
particularly of pulverized fuel it was logical that the largest
company in the combustien field and the Ladd Boiler Company
 should have a common interest. The progressive
ideas of both organizations long before a consolidation was
effected tended to bring them together in rather closer
accord than might ordinarily be expected. On the other
hand the engineers responsible for the design and erection of
the Ladd Water Tube Boiler as well as the engineers of Combustion
 Engineering Corporation recognized that a more
efficient piece of work could be done by having the boiler
and the furnace practically one unit designed bv one or-
        <pb n="31" />
        Ladd Boilers Installed in the new Kips Bay Station of the New York
Steam Corporation. Steam Production—325,000 Ibs. per hour. These
boilers are equipped with Combustion Engineering Corporation Water
Walls, Screen and Air Heater.
        <pb n="32" />
        ganization, thus not only
relieving the customer of
the necessity of himself
harmonizing any differences
between two separate contractors,
 but also saving
in initial cost because of
dealing with one concern
for one unit rather than
with two concerns. The
Ladd engineers and the
Combustion Engineering
Corporation engineers have
in the short time since the
consolidation of the two
companies demonstrated
the logic and advantage of
boiler experts and combustion
 experts coming together.

One of the outstanding results of this combination is a
new unit with a number of interesting new features installed
at the Fordson Plant of the Ford Motor Company at River
Rouge. This is the largest steam boiler in the world, developing
 approximately 17,000 HP. and operating at extremely
high efficiency. Not the least interesting feature of this
installation is the fact that there is no brickwork in the furnace,
 the furnace walls being made of boiler tubes with
fins or steel flanges welded to them. Thus the side walls
of the furnace become boiler heating surface instead of a
ronstant source of expense because of burned-out brickwork.
In the Kips Bay Station of the New York Steam Corporation,
 there are in operation three large Ladd Water Tube
Boiler Units—each designed for a steam production of
825,000 lbs. per hour. These boilers are also equipped with
Combustion Engineering Corporation water walls, water
screens and air heaters. The coming together of the Ladd
Company and Combustion Engineering Corporation marks
a new step in power plant design, for it is the first time in the
history of the country that a prominent boiler concern has

wis Burin
        <pb n="33" />
        joined forces with a group of combustion engineers of such
broad and varied experience as those who are brought together
 in this combination.
Since the consolidation with the International Combustion
 Engineering Corporation, a new steam generator
has been developed that has revolutionized the production
of steam. Installations are already being made in some of
the largest industrial plants and central stations in the
country. The design and construction of these steam
generators are being directed by the Ladd Water Tube
Boiler Company.

Power Plant of Ford Motor Co.’s Fordson Plant.

Recently the International Combustion Engineering
Corporation purchased the Heine Boiler Company plants
at Phoenixville, Pa., and St. Louis, Mo. The acquisition
of these two modern plants provides ample shop facilities
for building all types of Ladd and Heine boilers.
The officers of the Ladd Water Tube Boiler Company
are as follows: George E. Learnard, chairman of board;
George T. Ladd, president; H. D. Savage, vice president;
        <pb n="34" />
        George H. Hansel, secretary and treasurer; Robert E. Chew,
assistant treasurer. The main offices of the Company are
located in the First National Bank Building, and district
offices are maintained in New York and Chicago.

THE McALEENAN BROTHERS CO.
THE McALEENAN CORPORATION

About fifteen years ago a large boiler company located in
Pittsburgh changed ownership. The usual transitions occurred.
 Veterans went their way, seeking new fields, while
replacements came in to carry out the new ideas that new
owners believed only possible of fruition by a changed personnel.
 One man, for fifteen years the superintendent under
the old regime, was out of a job. But what’s a job when
there is a small plot of ground hungering for a new plant
where a man of vision can put to the test the practicability
of new ideas merged with ripe years of experience in knowing
how—in planning, designing and constructing boilers and
other products made of steel?
So it was, that on October 2, 1911, McAleenan Brothers
Company was established by George R. McAleenan. He
and his brother, E. G. McAleenan, had been engaged in this
particular industry since their first working days and understood
 it thoroughly from every angle. With this background
 and a very limited capital they started out. A
small space 20 feet by 60 feet, located on the present site at
Twenty-fifth street and Allegheny Valley Railroad, served
as headquarters. Today that once small plant has spread
out to such an extent that the first impression that comes
to a visitor is that the railroad tracks seem like the small boy
at his marbles who keep shouting at his competitor, “No
hunching.” For the present plant of the MecAleenan
Brothers Co. covers the entire property fronting 200 feet
on Railroad street by 400 feet on Twenty-fifth street.
The business grew and expansion was urgent. McAleenan
 Brothers Company was incorporated June 5, 1913, with
an authorized capital of $100,000, which was later increased
to $150,000. And still progress called for further expansion
and The McAleenan Corporation was formed in 1922. with
        <pb n="35" />
        Boilers being assembled in a
Minnesota Power Plant.

Gas flues erected in a
Mid-Western State.

Diffuser type stack erected
on Power Plant in
Florida.

Tainter Gate for water flow control for High pressure welded steel tank.
Power Plant in Texas.
The McAleenan Brothers Co. The McAleenan Corporation. Pittsburgh. Pa.
        <pb n="36" />
        a capitalization of $100,000 and a completely equipped
engineering organization, to design, engineer and construct
steam power plants. Soon jt was necessary to add a chemical
 engineering department to care for the Increasing work
in that field, and later a masonry department was formed
to handle the brick work of boiler settings, an exceedingly
important part of modern steam power plant construction.
Thus, under one responsibility, McAleenan Brothers Company
 in conjunction with The McAleenan Corporation are
equipped to undertake successfully contracts covering the
sntire work from planning to coustruction.
A contract that was fulfilled recently in Minnesota furnishes
 an interesting illustration of the McAlesnan organization’s
 ability to measure up to the unusual demand. In
this Minnesota plant the order was issued on October 1 that
steam must be raised in the plant on December 1. The
boilers were suspended from the building, which necessitated
the building to progress before the boilers could be installed.
Despite the fact that when the order was given, nothing
towards construction was completed except the foundations,
the job—three complete boilers totaling 5000 horse power
—~was completed and steam furnished on the required date.
The chemical department is active in the solution of
manufacturing problems and has evolved processes for the
recovery of previously wasted by-products in the coking
industry, for the elimination of stream pollution by steel
plants and other original methods of manufacturing and
conserving which effect savings to the interested industries.
Under normal conditions the plant employs about 125 men,
and the field construction force, in crews spread over the
~ountry, totals about the same number.
MecAleenan Water Tube Boilers are furnished in two
types—inclined and horizontal. The MecAleenan Corporation
 offers an exceptional service in the complete installation
of large and complicated boiler settings and furnaces—a
service that includes the detail design of all metal and refractory
 parts, the fabrication of steel work and cast iron
members and the entire erection, all under one responsibility.
Other products of the McAleenan organizations are:
gas absorbers. steam jacketed agitators. annealing boxes,
        <pb n="37" />
        smoke breechings, coal and ash bunkers, steel chimneys,
creosoting cylinders, digesters, chemical and rotary dryers,
air and gas ducts, evaporators, flanging, coal and ash hoppers,
chemical kettles, oil tanks and stills, vacuum pans, penstocks
 and riveted pipe, air and gas receivers, boiler, kiln,
etc., shells, tar acid recovery systems, chemical plant equipment,
 chemical surveys and reports. The products of the
McAleenan organizations have been installed in practically
every state in the Union as well as exported to various
foreign countries.
The officers of the organizations are:

McAleenan Brothers Company.
George R. McAleenan, president; W. W. Johnston,
treasurer; E. G. McAleenan, sales manager; N. R. Seidle,
general manager; W. G. Ingham, secretary.
The McAleenan Corporation.
George R. McAleenan, president; E. R. Cate, vice president
 and secretary; W. W. Johnston, treasurer; R. M. Crawford,
 manager chemical department; J. F. Roney, manager
masonry department.

THE McKINNEY MANUFACTURING COMPANY

In 1865 in a small machine shop at Cincinnati, Ohio, the
business of the McKinvey Manufacturing Company was
begun. Several years later the founder, William S. Me-Kinney,
 was joined by his brother, James P. McKinney, and
in 1870 the company moved into larger quarters at Hamilton,
Ohio. In 1878 the plant was finally located in Pittsburgh,
where it has continued to grow and expand until today it is
one of the largest manufacturers of wrought hardware in the
world, with a vast scope of products including not only a
complete line of hinges and butts, but such hardware specialties
 as door latches, bolts, handles, shelf brackets, barn
and garage door hangers and track, and other miscellaneous
articles; all with one predominating characteristic—quality.
Early in 1926, after several years of careful study and
exhaustive research, McKinney Forged Iron Builders’ Hardware,
 an innovation in builders’ hardware, was introduced
        <pb n="38" />
        as an addition to the company’s general builders’ hardware
line. This step was the result of a close survey of the growing
 tendency on the part of interior decorators and home
builders to use forged iron in their decorative schemes.
Several nationally known architects were consulted and used
in the research work and in the selecting of the old originals,
copies of which the company was to forge.
The makers of the famous McKinney hinges have now
made available beautiful forged iron pieces to fit the spirit
of the modern period homes. It is fabricated in the finest
and most authentic traditions of the art of metal craftsmanship.
 Adaptation of forged iron hardware to modern
building requirements has heretofore presented a hard
problem. To overcome difficulties McKinney was most
fortunately placed, for, as manufacturers of hinges of long
standing, there was available a wealth of practical experience
 in solving the problems of application.
To enable the builders of a period home to carry out the
same decorative motif throughout the home and the entrances,
 four beautiful forged iron lanterns have been added
to the forged iron line. They blend into their surroundings
and add that touch of genuineness and hospitality which is
so much desired by lovers of the home beautiful.
When the company was founded in 1865 the space occupied
 was approximately 5,000 square feet. Today the
factories and warehouses cover about 214 city squares with
a floor space of over 400,000 square feet, approximately 9
acres, and give employment to 800. Recently a large 314
story factory adjoining McKinney Manufacturing Company’s
 premises was purchased to make room for the steady
srowth of the business.

The officers and directors of the company are Wm. C.
Farr, president and treasurer; R. G. McKinney, vice president;
 Jas. P. McKinney, Jr., vice president; Wm. S. Me-Kinney,
 vice president; and Robt. L. McKinney, secretary.
Branch offices are located in Boston, New York, Baltimore,
 Chicago, San Francisco, Montreal and Toronto. Export
 representatives market the products all over the world.
        <pb n="39" />
        McKinney Manufacturing Co., Pittsburgh, Pa.
Manufacturers of Hinges. Forged Iron and General Builders’ Hardware.
        <pb n="40" />
        MILLER SAW-TRIMMER COMPANY

The Miller Saw-Trimmer Company, corner Penn avenue
and Water street, are the largest manufacturers of automatic
feeders for printing presses and the largest manufacturers of
printers’ saw-trimmers in the world. This company located
 in Alma, Michigan, until 1918, and was brought, while
there, to the attention of the Pittsburgh Industrial Development
 Commission. Investigation followed, which resulted
in the establishment of the company in Pittsburgh, where
in June, 1913, it was installed on the fifth floor of the Point
Building. This one floor was sufficient to house the entire
office staff, engineering and mechanical forces, which totaled
at that time thirty-five people. The plant now occupies the
entire eight floors of the Point Building as well as another
building adjoining. Its entire forces now total upwards of
sight hundred men and women.
In 1919, the Miller Saw-Trimmer Co., with its great
demand for perfect, intricate gray-iron castings, engaged in
the manufacture of its own castings by establishing the
Pittsburgh Gray Iron Foundry at South avenue and Walker
street, North Side, with up-to-date foundry machinery and
an organization of one hundred and fifty men. This foundry
is not only providing castings for the Miller Saw-Trimmer
Co., but has built up a very large commercial trade. Its
output is known as the most perfect casting in Western
Pennsylvania.
From the manufacture of a single product, namely Saw-Trimmers,
 it has expanded to the building of Automatic
Printing Press machinery that has found a place not only
in this country, but in Great Britain, France, Germany,
Belgium, Holland, Spain, Sweden, Norway, Italy, Chili,
Paraguay, Peru, Argentine Republic, Colombia, Costa Rica,
Cuba, Mexico, Porto Rico, Japan, China, India, Java, Australia,
 Philippine Islands and throughout the entire Dominion
 of Canada.
The Miller Saw-Trimmer Co. has of its own manufacture
31,105 machines in operation in printing, lithographing and
engraving plants. Its product consists of automatic platen
press feeders, automatic cylinder presses. automatic die
        <pb n="41" />
        The Point Building, occupied euntirely by the
Miller Saw-Trimmer Co.. Pittsburgh. Pa.
        <pb n="42" />
        press feeders, automatic roll gold leaf presses, automatic
line casting machines, printers’ saw-trimmers, automatic
line casting saws and slugotype saws. Not only are these
machines in demand for commercial printing, but are
specially efficient in art work and have produced the finest
catalogues, books and advertising illustrations. All these
machines are printers’ labor-saving devices. The speed of
the platen and cylinder presses ranges from 3000 to 4500
impressions per hour.
[t designed, manufactured and marketed the first automatic
 job printing press of any importance in 1915. This
machine saved hundreds of printers from bankruptcy during
the war, releasing to our army thousands of young men
printing press operators. No other device relating to the
printing industry maintains the same accuracy of machining
and mechanical construction; 15,559 printer customers
recognize this fact. Its reputation is international. It
markets its own product, maintaining on the road about
one hundred salesmen, demonstrators and service men.
In addition to its Pittsburgh factory, it maintains
branches and service stations in New York, Philadelphia,
Chicago, Atlanta, Detroit, Minneapolis, St. Louis, Dallas,
New Orleans, Los Angeles, San Francisco and Boston; with
foreign agencies in Winnipeg and Toronto, Canada; London,
Amsterdam, Barcelona, Stockholm, Christiana, Paris, Sydney,
 Melbourne, Australia, Manila, Tokio, Havana, Rio
Janeiro. Buenos Ayres, Mexico City, Lima and Capetown.
[ts trade marks are: Craftsman, Miller Ideal Unit, Simplex,
 High Speed, Master Speed Jobber, Printers’ Greyhound
Presses, Universal, Heavy Duty and Slugotype Saws. Its
main slogan is “Service.”
The Miller Saw-Trimmer Co. was incorporated under
the laws of the State of Pennsylvania in March, 1916. Its
issued capital stock is $1,500,000. Its preferred stock
$185,000. Its surplus $432,043.80.
The Miller Saw-Trimmer Company’s business is directed
by the following corps of officers, all of whom are Pittsburghers:
 F. F. Nicola, president; P. C. Dunlevy, vice
president: J. H. Cannon, vice president and treasurer: A. W.
        <pb n="43" />
        Miller Heavy Duty Saw Trimmer. Above: Miller High Speed Press. Below: Miller Master Speed Jobber. Miller Ideal Unit.
Revresentative Grou of Miller Machines, Miller Saw-Trimmer Co.
        <pb n="44" />
        Barrett, vice president and production manager; T. R.
Foster, secretary.

The directors of the company are: F. F. Nicola, J. F.
Keenan, J. H. Cannon, A. W. Barrett, P. C. Dunlevy
Its successful development of printers’ precision machinery
 and its remarkable growth in a tonnage industrial
center, is an evidence that technical and diversified industries
 have a proper place in Pittsburgh.

NATIONAL CASKET COMPANY, INC.

The National Casket Company, Incorporated, is a
nation-wide concern for the manufacture and distribution
of burial receptacles and equipment required for the conduct
of modern funerals.
In 1864 William Hamilton, James T. Arnold, J. W. Carnahan
 and H. G. Algeo started the first coffin and casket
factory west of the Allegheny Mountains, known as the
Excelsior Coffin and Casket Works, the original plant being
located on Virgin alley, now Oliver avenue, Pittsburgh,
Pa. In the 80s they moved to old Allegheny. The firm
name was changed to the Hamilton, Lemmon, Arnold Company.
 In 1890 this company consolidated with the Chappell,
 Chase, Maxwell Company of Oneida, N. Y., and the
Stein Manufacturing Company of Rochester, N. Y., and
formed the National Casket Company, Inc.. with an authorized
 capital of $3,000,000.
Some years later they added to the consolidation a number
 of other firms in the south and southwest, increasing the
capital to $6,000,000. The present authorized capital stock
of the company consists of an equal number of shares of
non-par preferred stock and non-par common stock.
The late William Hamilton of the North Side, Pittsburgh,
 Pa., was the first president of the National Casket
Company, Inc. The present officers of the company are
P. B. Heintz of Boston, president and general manager;
Leo Stein of New York City, first vice president; F. C. Guthrie
 of Nashville, Tenn., second vice president; H. M. Tuttle
of Boston, Mass.. third vice president: W. E. Carnahan of
        <pb n="45" />
        Pittsburgh Plant of the National Casket Company
        <pb n="46" />
        Pittsburgh, treasurer; F. C. McKee of Pittsburgh, assistant
treasurer; H. L. Stein of Boston, secretary, and H. A. Haney
of Boston, assistant secretary. Robert J. Cleland of Pittsburgh,
 is a director in the company. The executive offices
are located at No. 3 Park Street, Boston. The treasurer’s
office is at 2216 Oliver Building, Pittsburgh.
The company maintains sixteen factories, two casket
hardware factories and twenty-two sales rooms. Of the
above, one sales room, as well as the largest, completely
equipped plant for the manufacturer of wood and metal
caskets, burial garments and casket hardware, is located in
Pittsburgh, the salesroom being at Seventh street and Duquesne
 way, and the plant on the North Side, the local
manager being George Reatchlous.
The plant at Pittsburgh, to which extensive additions
were made in 1920, not only supplies wood and metal caskets,
casket hardware, and burial garments for the territory immediately
 adjacent to Pittsburgh, but produces at this point
the metal caskets and casket hardware distributed throughout
 the entire country, by the company through its various
sales branches; and also supplies through its export department
 at New, York. these goods for shipment to foreign
buvers.

NATIONAL LEAD AND OIL COMPANY

The National Lead and
Oil Co. of Pennsylvania
had its beginning in 1891,
being incorporated under
the laws of Pennsylvania
andcapitalized for $2,000-300.
 In 1892 it succeedad
 to the established
businesses of the Armstrong
 McKelvy Lead &amp;amp;
Oil Co., Beymer-Bauman Lead Co., Fahnestock White Lead
Co., and others. Also, in more recent years, purchased
the Sterling White Lead Co. and the Davis Lead Co. and at
the present time continue the manufacture of these hrands

a
        <pb n="47" />
        Plants covering approximately four acres are now
operated at Pittsburgh and New Kensington, where the
nationally known and advertised Dutch Boy White Lead
and Oxides are produced. The Company has a capacity for
producing annually 7000 tons Dutch Boy White Lead, 10,000
tons of Oxides (Litharge and Red Lead), 2000 tons of Lead
Pipe, 1500 tons of Sheet Lead, and 2000 tons of solders and
babbitts, practically all of which is marketed in Pennsylvania,
 west of the Susquehanna River, Eastern Ohio and
small northern portions of the States of Mayland and West
Virginia; all being distributed through the Pittsburgh office.
Pursuant to the thought of guaranteeing the absolute
purity of the products, only virgin metals are purchased to
go into the manufacture of same; the bulk of the pig lead
used coming from the west out of the mines of the National
Lead Company, of whom this company is a subsidiary.
With regard to the matter of health and welfare of the
employees, it is considered of vital importance to the company.
 Therefore a physician makes weekly examinations
and a welfare room is maintained, each employee beiug required
 to use the facilities for bathing regularly. A restaurant
 is also provided where the employees are encouraged
to dine; lunches being furnished at cost of food only.
The officers are: W. N. Taylor, president; W. H. Taylor,
vice president; H. J. Irvin, treasurer, and J. W. Schlotterbeck,
 secretary. The foregoing are directors, together with
E. J. Cornish and Norris B. Gregg, of New York. and Edward
 F. Beale. of Philadelphia.

OIL WELL SUPPLY COMPANY

In 1862, just three years after the Drake well was drilled.
John Eaton, a native of New York State, came into Pennsylvania,
 to look into the prospects of the oil trade. His
inspection inspired him with a bright vision of the future.
Believing that “Seneca oil” meant much more to humanity
than its curative properties, which was what it had been
used for when collected laboriously from the surface of Oil
Creek, he decided that here was opportunity—to supply
drillers with better tools and to make oil field supplies readily
available.
        <pb n="48" />
        John Eaton founded the first oil well supply company, in
1862, with a small supply house in Oil City, which prospered
from the very beginning. Today the company which sprang
from it, the Oil Well Supply Company of Pittsburgh, has
seven factories, covering more than 90 acres, and over 100
branches located in the various oil fields of the United Sta tes,
with foreign branches in London and Tampico, Mexico, and
a factory at the latter place.
From this modest beginning has sprung a gigantic organization
 which ranks as the world’s oldest and largest
manufacturers of oil field equipment, and its growth is of
interest to every one connected with the oil industry.
Soon after the first supply house was opened in Oil City,
the first manufacturing plant was established at Bradford,
and was devoted to the making of woodwork materials. In
1899 this plant was moved to Parkersburg, W. Va., and at
the present time covers about five acres. It is still used
exclusively for the manufacture of woodwork for drilling
rigs. In 1880 the first shop for the manufacture of drilling
and fishing tools was opened in Summit City, McKean
County, Pa. In 1882 a second shop was opened at Bradford,
and continued in operation until 1890. when the factory at
Pittsburgh was started.
At its beginning the Pittsburgh factory employed 22 men,
and had a power plant of one 80 horsepower boiler and one
80 horsepower engine. As the oil industry grew and the
demand for equipment became larger and more exacting, the
Pittsburgh factory increased its working force and enlarged
its plant until today the present factory employs about 600
men, has a plant of 10,000 horsepower and covers seven
acres. This factory is devoted exclusively to the manufacture
 of drilling and fishing tools and is the largest plant
of its kind in the world.
In 1890 a factory was started at Van Wert, 0O., for the
manufacture of wood sucker or pump rods. In 1902 this
factory was moved to Poplar Bluff, Mo.. its present location.
and covers about five acres.
The first factory at Oil City was established in 1889, and
consisted of an engine works and machine shop. During the
        <pb n="49" />
        Drilling and Fishing Tool Factory at Pittsburgh, Pa.
One of the eight factories of the Oil Well Supply Company.
        <pb n="50" />
        years 1900 and 1901 the Imperial Works of the Oil Well
Supply Company was built at Qil City for the manufacture
of general oil well supplies. It began with a working force
of 800 men and at the present time employs 1,100 men.
This is the company’s largest factory and covers 45 acres.
At this plant are manufactured “Oilwell” drilling engines,
“Black Bear” gas engines, Imperial “Mud Hog” and Imperial
 “Giant Mud Hog” pumps, “Oilwell” pumping powers
and pumping equipment, “Oilwell”’ rotary drilling equipment
and other miscellaneous supplies. This factory is the home
of the famous “Imperial Rotary,” which a few years ago
quite revolutionized rotary drilling—a rotary which “makes
up” (screws together) and “breaks out” (unserews) drill
pipe, casing and tool joints without manual labor and in
less than half the usual time required for this work.
In 1900 the first boiler factory was opened at Oswego,
N. Y., with a working force of 30 men. The present boiler
factory employs 800 men and covers five acres. Here all
types of oil country boilers are made—*“A. S. M.. E.” Code
and Non-Code, “A. P. I.,” Canadian and British Burma in
locomotive type, and horizontal tubular in “A. S. M. E.”
rode type.
In 1908 a factory was built at Bradford for the manufacture
 of all types of packers. In order to take care of the
Pacific Coast trade, a Los Angeles factory was started in
1908, and at the present time covers five acres. In addition
to the factories named, the company maintains over 100
branches, located in the various oil fields of the United
States, 20 of which are branch machine shops, and the remainder
 branch stores, with complete stocks of oil field equipment.
 Frequently special tools must be made for special
cases, or immediate repair work is required to save time and
expense on a well. With “Oilwell” shops right in the field.
prompt service can be given.
Most of the employees of the company are veterans in the
business and their accurate knowledge is a most valuable
factor. Its engineers are constantly studying various conditions
 and perfecting suitable equipment to meet them.
The company has exhibited and taken first prizes at the
World’s Fair in Paris, in 1900. and at Turin, Italy, in 1911.
        <pb n="51" />
        as well as at the Chicago World’s Fair in 1893. An exceptionally
 interesting display was made for the Paris Exposition,
 a contract being made to drill an artesian well during
the course of the display. Prior to this the shortest time
in which such a well had been drilled was four years, but
“Oilwell” equipment completed the task in three months.
Officers of the company are: Louis Brown, president;
D. J. Brown, vice president; Thomas Fleming, Jr., vice
president; S. Clarke Reed, vice president; H. C. Burns.
‘reasurer; W. W. Anderson, secretary; H. A. Boschert.
assistant treasurer: E. W. Criswell. assistant secretarv.

PENNSYLVANIA SALT MANUFACTURING CO.

The Pennsylvania Salt Manufacturing Company is now
in the seventy-seventh year of its existence, having been
organized in 1850, with Charles Lennig as president and
George Thompson as secretary and treasurer. The offices
were originally in Pittsburgh, but they were moved to Philadelphia
 in 1873, and have been there ever since, moving from
time to time to obtain larger quarters, and now being located
:n the Widener Building. The company was chartered for
10 years on September 25, 1850; renewed for 20 years in 1860,
and on June 2, 1879, the charter was renewed for 999 years.
The original capital stock was $100,000. Many increases
 were made, until in 1912 the capital was fixed at
$7,500,000. Dividends were paid from 1863 to 1914, inclusive,
 at the rate of 129, per annum; for the next two years,
8%; and from 1917 to the present time. 109,, with two
extra dividends of 19, each.
The plants of the company are located at Greenwich
Point, Philadelphia, and Natrona, Pa.; Wyandotte and
Menominee, Mich. It has branch offices and sales agencies
at Pittsburgh, New York, Chicago and St. Louis.
In 1920 the Natrona Light and Power Company and the
Brackenridge Light and Power Company were incorporated,
to supply light and power to the towns, residents and industries
 adjacent to the Natrona plant. As of January 1, 1924,
Natrona Stores Company and Pennsalt Coal Company
        <pb n="52" />
        were incorporated, the former to operate a general store, and
the latter to operate a coal mine, both at Natrona, Pa. In
addition, the Wyandotte Southern Railroad Company and
the Natrona Water Company are owned and operated.
The capital stock of the Michigan Electrochemical Company
 was purchased October 81, 1924.
At the last named plant bleaching powder and caustic
soda are manufactured, in addition to liquid chlorine. The
company imports large quantities of kryolith, bauxite and
nitrate soda, and manufactures acids, acid phosphate, alum,
alumina, lye, sodas, chlorides, sulphates, salt and other
products.
The company’s net earnings in 1926 were $912,255.74,
and its balance sheet shows assets of $14,339,607.01.
Following is the executive organization:
Directors—Geo. Fales Baker, M. D., Miers Busch, John
M. Scott, Leonard T. Beale, William P. Gest, William P.
Morris, Sydney Thayer; chairman of the board, Geo. Fales
Baker, M. D.; president—Miers Busch; first vice-president—
William P. Morris; secretary and treasurer—L. A. Smith;
assistant secretary and assistant treasurer— Warner R. Over;
general sales agent—N. E. Bartlett; assistant general sales
agent—Chas. W. Bowden; traffic agent—H. L. Crowder;
general purchasing agent—Norman W. James; assistant
purchasing agent—Herbert W. Ingham; directors of research
department—A. E. Gibbs. Herbert Philipp.

THE PITTSBURGH GEAR AND MACHINE CO.

The history of this relatively small and new company
gives proof to the fact that every American workman has,
ander industrial conditions in this country. an opportunity
ior self-advancement.
The Pittsburgh Gear and Machine Company was incorporated
 under the laws of the state of Pennsylvania in
1916, just before the World War, and its present authorized
 capital is $200,000. The officers of the company are
as follows: Frank H. Rea, president and treasurer; Henry
E. Rea. assistant treasurer: John J. Jackson, vice-president:
        <pb n="53" />
        Joseph C. O’Brien, secretary; John Harper Jackson, assistant
secretary.

Frank H. Rea was formerly with Rea &amp;amp; Company, pork
packers, whose business was dissolved after a disastrous fire
about fifteen years ago. Mr. Rea looks after the financial
end of the business and has devoted much of his time to
developing the company.
Henry E. Rea is a son of the president and after about
five years of practical training in the shop in various capacities
 is now engaged in sales development work, in addition
to his duties as assistant treasurer.
John J. Jackson is one of the pioneers in the gear business,
 having worked his way from machine operator to the
position of general superintendent of the plant of the R. D.
Nuttal Co., one of the oldest gear manufacturing companies
in the country. Mr. Jackson personally looks after the
shop operation and is known throughout the gear industry
as a “live wire.” Joseph C. O’Brien is also an “old-timer”
in the gear business, having served in various capacities
from machine operator to chief mechanical engineer of the
R. D. Nuttall Company.
Mr. O’Brien is in charge of the engineering, estimating
and cost work of the company.
John Harper Jackson is a son of John J. Jackson and
after graduating from college was with the Sharpless Separator
 Co. and United States Cast Iron Pipe and Foundry
Company. He then served as lieutenant in the Ordnance
Department and is now in charge of the development of
the business.

In the hectic days at the opening of the World War this
small company was not carried away by the abundance of
opportunities for branching out from their chosen lines of
endeavor, but calmly selected the work for which their organization
 was best fitted to serve the country, mapping out a
war program and a post-war program regarding policies to
be followed in the development of the business.
During the war they manufactured transmission gears
for a number of the largest farm tractor companies in the
country; also larger gears for ammunition presses, and kin-
        <pb n="54" />
        dred machinery, and became known as a virtual service
station for all sorts of repair parts for the munition factories
in the Pittsburgh district. The company is now engaged
in manufacturing gears for new equipment as well as repairs
for a great variety of industries, a few of which are manufacturers
 of the following: Coal mine equipment, furnaces,
ete., steel mill machinery, bottling and canning machinery,
amusement park machinery, truck and tractor attachments,
iron and steel products, food products, sanitary ware and
pumps.
In keeping with the development of this art, the company
has taken on the manufacture and sale of Fabroil and Textolite
 gears. These are quality products known as silent or
noiseless gearing. The raw materials were developed and
are manufactured by the General Electric Company and
the finished gears are made in the plant of the gear company.
 Through their facilities for rendering service, the
company has built up quite a business in this branch of their
activities.
The company has also taken on the sale of chain drives,
which is a sort of companion business to that of gears.
They act as distributors for the Whitney Manufacturing
Company of Hartford, Conn., one of the oldest and most
reliable silent type chain manufacturers in the world. The
sprockets are manufactured in the gear company’s plant
and complete drives designed and furnished to meet all rejuirements.
 Here, again, their excellent facilities for rendering
 service have been instrumental in developing a growing
 volume of business.
The policies of the company in rendering service to its
customers, the handling only of quality products of their
respective kinds, and the development of a thoroughly
trained and efficient organization to carry out the policies
of the management give promise of a prosperous future.

PITTSBURGH TESTING LABORATORY

The nation-wide service of the Pittsburgh Testing Laboratory
 of today, with branch offices and laboratories in
many of the principal cities of the United States. is the result
        <pb n="55" />
        of 46 years of dependable inspection and testing service to
industry.
Founded in 1881 by William Kent and William F.Zimmerman,
 under the firm name of Kent &amp;amp; Zimmerman, mechanical
 engineers, it was later acquired by Capt. A. E. Hunt and
Geo. H. Clapp, who inaugurated the unique service of inspection
 of materials, testing of machinery and metals, and chemical
 analyses—a service upon which the business was built.

Pittsburgh Testing Laboratory Building,
Stevenson &amp;amp; Locust Streets,
Pittsburgh, Pa.

Industry found their services of great value in making
independent inspections and tests, free from all bias or exaggeration,
 and the scientific methods by which they pursued
their investigation soon won the confidence of all industry.
In 1891, it was made a limited partnership under the
name of Pittsburgh Testing Laboratory, Limited, and in
1907 was incorporated under the laws of Pennsylvania.
        <pb n="56" />
        Upper: Physical Laboratory Center: Steel Chemistry Upper: Fuel Testing Department
Lower; Organic Chemistry Lower: Testing Road Materials
Pittsburgh Testing Laboratory. Pittshursh. Pa.
        <pb n="57" />
        The business was started in the Schmidt Building in Fifth
avenue, the chemical laboratory located at the old Carbon
[ron Works and the Physical Laboratory was later moved
to the basement of the Fitzsimmons Building in Fourth
wvenue.

Later on, all departments were grouped at 325 Water
street, where the business remained for 22 years. In 1910,
‘heir own building was erected at Seventh and Bedford
avenues, which property they still own.
The rapid growth of the business, extending to every form
of inspection, analysis, special research and physical testing,
 made it necessary to move into still larger quarters in
1923, purchasing at that time the old Newboys’ Home, at
the corner of Stevenson and Locust streets, and now occupying
 the entire property.
The present organization and service of the Pittsburgh
Testing Laboratory embraces the following departments:
General Inspection Department: This comprises a
properly organized corps of accredited inspectors, in industrial
 centers, for the inspection of steel and iron products
used in buildings, bridges, rails, cars, locomotives, special
machinery, tanks, steel and iron pipes, hydro-electric equipment,
 wire, transmission towers. etc.
Department of Research and Special Investigation:
This service includes research along chemical and engineering
lines, in developing new products, in lowering costs of manufacture
 and in investigating various industrial problems;
experts in patent litigation, along metallurgical and chemical
 lines, as well as investigations of mining properties and
mineralogical surveys.
Chemical Department: Well equipped laboratories are
located at Pittsburgh, New York, and Birmingham, Ala.,
for conducting chemical tests and investigations, involving
‘errous and non-ferrous metals, asphalts, clays, silicates
(glass), coal, gas, oil, paint, ores, lubricants. alloys, water,
food products of all kinds.
Physical Testing Department: Well equipped laboratories
 are also located at Pittsburgh, New York, Birmingham,
 Ala., Dallas, Tex., Chicago, Detroit, Cleveland.
        <pb n="58" />
        Buffalo, Miami, and Tampa, Fla., for physical tests of
cement, concrete, sand, stone, metals of all kinds, wood, materials
 used in highway construction, building materials and
for boiler tests, power plant tests and other engineering
problems.
The present officers of the Pittsburgh Testing Laboratory
 are: George T. Ladd, chairman of the board; James
Milliken, president; F. V. Green, vice president; F. O. Gardaer,
 secretary-treasurer, and A. R. Ellis, general manager.
The directors include George T. Ladd, James Milliken,
D. Frank Crawford, C. H. Curry, George H. Clapp, F. F.
Brooks. A. R. Ellis. and John C. Slack.

PITTSBURGH TRANSFORMER COMPANY

The Pittsburgh Transformer Company is a Pennsylvania
 corporation and a peculiarly Pittsburgh institution
throughout. Its plants and head offices are in Pittsburgh,
owned in Pittsburgh, and all the employees are native Pittsburghers.
 All officers are Pittsburghers. Over ninety per
cent of the raw materials used are manufactured in Pittsyurgh.

This company’s business in 1901 was $20,000 a year.
The business today occupies five complete city blocks, covered
 with the most modern factories and equipped with the
most modern and efficient machinery for the manufacture
of all parts of transformers. This company is the only
company in the world that manufactures all its parts, except
accessories. No other company manufactures all its electrical
 parts and also all of its tanks, radiators and fabricated
steel, which Pittsburgh Transformer Company does in its
rarious North Side plants.
The gross sales of the Company have grown in twentyfive
 years from $20,000 per annum to $6,000,000 per annum,
and the company now is the largest independent manufacturer
 of transformers in the United States, with a total numher
 of employees of over six hundred.
An interesting point here may be noted in reference to
wages paid by Pittsburgh Transformer Companv. The
        <pb n="59" />
        Factory of the Pittsburgh Transformer Companv. Pittsbureh. Pa

Installation of Pittsburgh Single Phase Power Transformers.

Factorv of the Pittsbureh Transformer Company. Pittshurgh. Pa.

15,000 Kva Pittsburgh Polyphase Power Transformer. The largest
Self-Cooled Transformer shipped complete by any manufacturer
 in the History of the Electrical Industrv.
        <pb n="60" />
        average wage paid in the factory, taking an average of skilled
 and unskilled labor and boys,—that is, an average of the
entire working force,—is $1880 yearly. The average of
twenty-one cities in the United States is $1321.50. The
wages of this company are 429, higher.
The Pittsburgh Transformer Company has just shipped
five of the largest transformers ever made in the world,—
shipped complete, ready to install on arrival. Every part of
these enormous transformers was manufactured in its own
plants. These are served by the Pennsylvania and Baltimore
 and Ohio Railroads, and shipping facilities are provided
 by eleven sidings.
The factories are equipped with electric cranes ranging
in size up to fifty tons. As transformers are shipped all over
the United States, Pittsburgh is a very central distribution
point. This company now is the second largest shipper on
the North Side, quite a distinction in this city of tremendous
freight figures. ;
Pittsburgh being primarily a steel and glass center,
diversified industries are very desirable for the prosperity
of the city. The Pittsburgh Transformer Company is
particularly of this nature, belonging essentially in the diversified
 class. Yet, over 909, of the raw materials entering
into the construction of the finished transformer are, produced
 in Pittsburgh, i. e., various products of steel and oil.
The annual consumption of Pennsylvania base electric oil
alone exceeds 1,500,000 gallons, purchased of course from
Pittsburgh manufacturers.
R. V. Bingay, president, became connected with the company
 two years after its founding in 1898, when he was 29
years of age. He has introduced several revolutionary principles
 of design, and the list of patents owned by the company
fills almost a page of the catalogue. His associates on the
board of directors and in the ownership of the company are
C. V. Edwards and S. McN. Johnston. In building his
organization, Mr. Bingay has never gone outside his office
or shop for men. He takes boys in their teens and makes
works managers of them. He believes in giving his men
full responsibility and in promptly rewarding those who do
their duties well.
        <pb n="61" />
        LEE S. SMITH &amp;amp; SON COMPANY

Lee S. Smith &amp;amp; Son Company was founded January 1,
1866—61 years ago. Its ownership and executive control
has remained unchanged during the entire six decades. The
late Lee S. Smith originally came to Pittsburgh in 1862 to
study dentistry with Dr. C. Sill, a prominent Pittsburgh
dentist at that time; he worked in Dr. Sill’s office for two
years before enlisting in the Union Army during the Civil
War.

Before enlisting he clerked for a short time in the dental
 depot operated by Torrence &amp;amp; McGarr in counection
with their drug store on the corner of Fourth and Market.
On his return to the city Mr. Smith learned that Dr. M. E.
Gillespie, who had in the meantime purchased the depot,
desired to dispose of it. Mr. Smith had no money except
a small amount of back pay due from the government, but
Dr. Gillespie sold the business to him on notes.
The meager stock was moved to 58 Market street, between
 Third and Fourth, and said Mr. Smith, “On Janwary
 Ist, 1866, I launched the Lee S. Smith Dental Depot
and flung my banner to the breeze. Because I couldn’t
afford to do anything else I took my sleeping quarters under
the counter, did my own janitor work and ran my own errands.
 When my son Linford was old enough 1 employed
him first as errand boy and then as salesman. When he
finished school I gave him an interest in the firm, then
changing its name to Lee S. Smith &amp;amp; Son. Later the business
was incorporated as Lee S. Smith &amp;amp; Son Company.”
The enterprise which had such a humble birth has grown
until it is today one of the largest businesses of the kind in
the entire world. The retail salesroom and executive offices
occupy an entire floor in the Keenan Building, from which
a staff of salesmen travel the surrounding territory; a fourstory
 factory building at Aspinwall is owned and operated
by the company, shipping dental goods throughout America
and to countries overseas.
        <pb n="62" />
        STANDARD SANITARY MANUFACTURING CO.

When Pittsburghers are entertaining friends from Europe
 and are being told of the exquisite linens made back
home in Ireland or the dapper woolens made in England
or the lovely silks in France—then Pittsburghers can take
their guests to one place in their home and even the score
with lots to spare. The bathroom, of course.
Pittsburghers then can say: “Americans are healthier,
happier, because Pittsburgh has led in the development
and making of plumbing fixtures. Pittsburgh has had a
big share in making America ‘thé leader in sanitation. The
Standard Sanitary Manufacturing Company, with home
offices in Pittsburgh, is the largest manufacturer of plumbing
 fixtures in the world.”
The guest from abroad is likely to make us: appreciate
what we take for granted. “How wonderful,” he is apt to
say, while looking at the built-in bath, hard, smooth, white.
and not a single crevice or joint.
If our guest is of an inquisitive nature, he is apt to make
as feel foolish with a torrent of questions. “It is iron underneath,
 isn’t it? How do they make it so large, all in one
piece? How can they put on enamel so evenly on such a
large piece, with those curves,and to be so beautifully white?”
We answer as well as we can. But the interest of our
guest is stirred. He fires more questions at us. We have
a happy thought and tell him: “While we are downtown
this afternoon, we will stop at the ‘Standard’ showroom and
find out all about it.”
At the showroom we see rows and rows of plumbing
fixtures in various designs and sizes with various kinds of
fittings. With an attempt at an air of ease we turn to our
guest and say: “See, side by side, so a person can compare
and quickly tell what he wants.”
We ask for the manager. “Yes, you want to see Mr.
Rutledge. Just a minute.” A large, white-haired, genial
gentleman comes forward. He has a cordial, well modulated
 voice. We feel relieved. We think to ourselves, “Our
guest from abroad can’t stump this chap.” We listen to
        <pb n="63" />
        see if there won’t be some question that will not be met by
a ready answer.
“How large is your organization? Do you have representatives
 in Europe?”
“Yes,we have either branches or agents all over the world.
We have factories here in Pittsburgh; in New Brighton, a
little outside of Pittsburgh; in Louisville; in Baltimore; in
Tiffin, Ohio; in Kokomo, Indiana; in Richmond and San
Pablo, California, and in Toronto, Canada. We have four
large warehouses »n the Atlantic coast and three on the
Pacific. We have showrooms in most of the large cities in
this country.”
“You sell a good many fixtures, then?”
“Since 1900, we have sold over 28 million. We now
make and sell each year more than 2 million fixtures and
more than three million brass fittings.”
“Fixtures, fittings? What is the difference?”
“Take this lavatory for instance. Without these handles,
 this nickelplated spout and these pipes, we have the
bare fixture. These trimmings are called fittings. You
can have whatever fittings you choose on the lavatory you
select.” -
“This company is fairly old, then?”
“The present company was organized in 1900, combining
 many smaller companies into a single concern.”
By this time we have sauntered around so that now we
are in front of a drinking fountain. Mr. Rutledge turns a
handle. A jet of clear water bubbles upward. He invites
us, “Want to try it out?”
While we are taking our turn at the fountain, our friend
bombards Mr. Rutledge with another question. ‘These
fountains, they are not enameled iron, ave they?”
“No, they are vitreous china. Much the same material
 as in china dishes.”
“You make all—the enameled, the brass fittings aud
this vitreous china?”
“Not only that, but we make more of each than any
other manufacturer in the world.”
“What an exquisite child figure,” exclaims our guest,
stopping before a colcred hanger showing a child climbing

"&amp;gt;
oe
        <pb n="64" />
        Admiring a Pedestal Lavatory in one of the many showrooms
Standard Sanitary Mfg. Co.
Pittsburgh, Pa.
        <pb n="65" />
        nto a bath. “Ah, that is very, very fine. And the artist?
J. W.S.”
“Jessie Wilcox Smith,” supplies Mr. Rutledge.
“Oh, we have heard of her. She paints children so lovely,
 so life-like that one is tempted to call to them, half expecting
 an answer. Yes, you have real art in your advertising.
 But does it pay?”
Mr. Rutledge settles back on his heels. Then he begins:
“You see the bath in the painting. Built-in. Only a few
years ago, built-in baths were rare. We made so few they
were expensive to produce. Now when we make hundreds
of thousands a year, our manufacturing costs are lower and
we can sell built-in baths at a price within the reach of the
average home owner.”
Our friend’s face brightens. He interrupts with, “Yes,
[ know. You are on a large production basis. As they
say, your cost per unit is lower.”
“Exactly. But before we could make so many per year
we had to be sure we could sell them, We had to show
people how much more beautiful and sanitary they were
than tubs on legs. That has been the job of ‘Standard’
advertising. When a woman looks at a lovely ‘Standard’
bathroom she decides her new home will have a built-in
bath.”
“You can say then that ‘Standard’ advertising has made
homes more sanitary by making people want better fixtures
and has reduced prices by making people want more fixtures.”
“And made people healthier. More baths mean more
bathing. And millions of women have less back strain and
are healthier because kifhen sinks are now set ‘yard stick
high.” ”’
‘Yard stick high?”
“Yes, the old practice was to set sinks 30 inches high.
Much too low. ‘Standard’ advertising convinced housewives,
 architects, builders that sinks should be set higher—
36 inches best for the average woman.”
“Another lovely painting,” remarks our friend about a
poster strongly colored in tints of blue and orange. He
reads aloud: “The Plumber Protects the Health of the Nation.”


tb

9
Co
Co

I
        <pb n="66" />
        Mr. Rutledge explains, “This company distributed this
poster all over the country. It helped make the public
appreciate more fully the importance of the plumber in the
community.”
“A far-visioned act, indeed,” the man from Europe comments.

“Yes, the company is very broad in its policies. And
because of that fact, it has a very loyal organization. The
company makes it easy for its employees to buy stock, it
insures its employees and follows a general practice of seecting
 its executives from its own ranks.”
We remember promising to let some one meet our foreign
 friend at the William Penn at four. We thank Mr.
Rutledge and at last succeed in making our friend terminate
his expressions of appreciation.
On the sidewalk he turns to us, “That was an interesting
 visit. Yes, you are ahead of us in sanitation. Pittsburgh
 should be proud of her part in making American
homes the world’s models in means of cleanliness.”
The company was incorporated December 26, 1899, and
capitalized at $5,000,000. The present capitalization consists
 of $4,736,400 preferred stock and $26,954,050 common
stock, with surplus and reserves of $16,947,848.36. The
average number of employees on the payroll for the year
1926 was 11,585, to whom was paid in wages and salaries
$18,601,321.11, being an average per employee of $1,612.60.
There are 6,746 shareholders, an increase of 645 last year.
Employee shareholders number 4,132, or 37.69, of the paycoll,
 and hold 280,075 shares of the common and 6,711 shares
»f the preferred stock.

Directors— Theo. Ahrens, J. W. Arrott, Jr., Willard C.
Chamberlin, A. V. Conradt, David Jameson, F. G. MecIntosh,
 W. C. McKinney, Theo. E. Mueller, E. L. Dawes,
I. W. Oliver, H. L. Ott, H. M. Reed, J. D. Tschopik.
Officers—Theo. Ahrens, president; J. W. Oliver, first vice
president and chairman of executive committee; E. L.
Dawes, second vice president; W. C. McKinney, secretary
and treasurer: J. D. Tschopik, vice president and general
        <pb n="67" />
        manager of branches; H. M. Reed, vice president and general
manager of factories; Willard C. Chamberlin, vice president
and general sales manager; M. C. Wilde, assistant treasurer;
Jas. DeHaven, assistant secretary; Theo. E. Mueller,
assistant general manager of factories.

STANDARD UNDERGROUND CABLE COMPANY

Richard S. Waring (deceased) was the founder of the
Standard Underground Cable Company, in 1882; he was
a real pioneer,—a man of vision; and his venture In the new
and untried field of underground cables was the first speaific
 project of the kind in the United States.
Many discouragements and difficulties were encountered,
including opposition, or at least no encouragement by public
service companies, who naturally did not relish the thought
that they might be required to spend large sums of money
to remove their overhead wires from the streets and place
them underground without long proof of permanence.
But Mr. Waring was an outstanding example of the type
of men who never acknowledge defeat, and whose extraordinary
 foresight and courage spur them on in spite of
seemingly insuperable obstacles. Before many years public
service companies realized the value of underground cables,
and nowadays such cables have become an indispensable
part of their equipment in the larger cities.
There were associated with Mr. Waring in the later formative
 period of the Cable Company some of the promiaent
 leaders in other Pittsburgh industries, such as B. F.
Jones, Sr., John and Willis Dazell, John and Frank Moorhead,
 Mark W. Watson, George B. Hill, Jacob Painter, Jr.,
and James H. Willock, and finally (in 1886) George Westinghouse.

The company was first organized as a New Jersey corporation,
 but in 1889 it became a Pennsylvania corporation,
by receiving a charter signed by Governor James A. Beaver,
on June 4 of that year.
It was only a few years after 1886 that the company
began its unbroken record of cash dividends, interspersed
aow and then with stock dividends out of surplus earnings,
        <pb n="68" />
        its January, 1927, cash dividend being Dividend No. 143.
From a corporation with $1,000,000 capital, and very little
or no surplus, and only one small plant, in 1889, it has grown
to be the leading manufacturer of underground cables in the
United States, with an issued capital stock of $6,300,000,
in addition to an earned surplus in excess of that figure, and
with the most modern plants (named in the order of their
creation) in Pittsburgh, Oakland, or Emeryville, Cal., Perth
Amboy. N. J., Hamilton. Canada, and St. Louis, Mo

Its list of products has also expanded tremendously in
kind, as well as volume, from the small production of underground
 cables only, in the beginning, until now it includes
not only all types of underground, aerial and submarine
cables, but copper rods and wire, brass and bronze rods
and wire, and practically all kinds of insulated wires and
cables, such as magnet wire, weatherproof wire and rubbercovered
 wire. Its total volume of business has grown from
a few thousands to approximately $30,000,000 per annum.
The Standard Underground Cable Company’s products
are known and shipped to every state in the Union, and to
many foreign countries, and the strategic locations of its
plants enable it to procure its raw materials of manufacture,
and to serve its localized customers, to the best advantage
of all concerned.
Its district sales offices extend from the Atlantic to the
Pacific coasts, and include Boston, New York, Philadelphia,
Washington, Atlanta, Pittsburgh, Chicago, St. Louis, San
Francisco, Los Angeles and Seattle, besides having commission
 agencies in various places in the United States and
in some foreign countries.

Its Pittsburgh plant, which is of special interest to
Pittsburghers, is located on the Allegheny Valley division
of the Pennsylvania Railroad, on Pike street, and extends
from Sixteenth street to Seventeenth street, a distance of
475 feet, covered with buildings, nearly all haviug five floors.
This plant is devoted mainly to the manufacture of leadcovered
 cables for telephone, telegraph and electric light
and power service, and the manufacture of cable accessories,
such as terminals and junction boxes and splicing materials.
        <pb n="69" />
        The general offices of the company and a cafeteria are also
located in a portion of the top floor of this plant.
Commercial testing laboratories are maintained at all
its plants to assure the perfection of the materials shipped
out; and extensive research and development laboratories
are maintained at its Perth Amboy and Pittsburgh plants,
for in this branch of electrical development, as in the electrical
 field generally, constant vigilance (study and research)
is the price of liberty (commercial and financial success)
and the Standard Company, through its corps of specially
trained engineers, has always given the closest attention
to the needs of the industry, and while those needs have had
a marked growth in the last four or five years, the end is not
yet.

Four or five years ago, underground cables to carry current
 at 33,000 volts pressure were rare, and were considered
very difficult to make, while today they are not at all uncommon
 for some of the cable manufacturers; in fact this
company has during the last two years, made and furnished
a number of underground cables” to operate at 66,000 to
75,000 volts pressure, as the demand arose for such extraordinary
 super-tension cables, and concurrently with such
cable development has also gone the development of terminals
 and joints to match the cable. Now there is a wish, in
some important quarters, that cables for 132,000 volts
might be made available, and the Standard Company is at
work on the problem, and expects to make such cables
commercially in the near future.

This company has been peculiarly fortunate in holding
its important staff for long periods of time, and in commanding
 a degree of loyalty and attachment to its interests
which is rarely found. Thus a relatively large number of
the more important key men (as well as some of minor importauce
 at present) both in production and research, in
sales and administration, have to their credit continuous
periods of service ranging from fifteen years up to thirtyfive
 years or more, the president of the company, Joseph
W. Marsh, having been connected with it since its birth in
1882.
        <pb n="70" />
        The company has just completed a large program of
extensions and improvements, covering a period of five years,
and involving the expenditure of upwards of $5,000,000,
and all without borrowing, and without calling upon its
stockholders for additional capital.
The Standard Cable Company is distinctly a Pittsburgh
industry, even though it has some plants elsewhere,—for
it was organized solely by Pittsburgh people, its executive
and general sales offices have always been in Pittsburgh,
and its stockholders, at least to 959}, are residents of Pittsburgh
 and vicinity.
Its directors are Henry Buhl, Jr., Joseph N. Davidson,
Louis W. Dalzell, Harvey L. Childs, James H. Lockhart,
Joseph W. Marsh, John Moorhead, Jr.., H. D. Shute.
and P. H. W. Smith.
The officers are: President, Joseph W. Marsh; vice
presidents, P. H. W. Smith, C. J. Marsh and A. B. Saurman;
treasurer, C. M. Hagen; assistant treasurer, R. M. Farber,
assistant treasurer and assistant secretary, H. B. Brunot,
secretary, J. W. Shibler; auditor, F. L. Dudgeon: assistant
auditor. S. A. T.eppert. °

UNITED ENGINEERING AND FOUNDRY CO.

The United Engineering and Foundry Company is an
organization of engineers, founders and machinists which
stands in the foremost rank of this industry, and which
constructs complete machinery equipment for iron, steel
and tube works. It occupies extensive areas of plants in
Pittsburgh and Vandergrift, Pa.; Youngstown and Canton,
Ohio. The Pittsburgh plants are: the Frank-Kneeland
Machine Company Department, located at Fifty-fourth
street and the Allegheny Valley railroad; the McGill &amp;amp;
Company Department, at Twenty-seventh and Smallman
streets; and the Lincoln Foundry Company Department,
at Sixtieth and Butler streets. At Youngstown, O., are
the Lloyd Booth Company Department and The William
Tod Company Department. At Canton, O., is the American
 Roll and Foundry Company Department. The steel
foundry is at Vandergrift, Pa.
        <pb n="71" />
        In the long list of products of this great concern may be
found, under the head of “Mills,” blooming, universal,
plate, slabbing, sheet, tin, guide, structural, skelp, muck bar
and cold strip. Under the heading “Shears,” are bloom
hydraulic, lever, guillotine, vertical, plate, squaring, doubling
 and rotary. Other products are high-speed forging
presses; sand, chilled, steel and ‘“Adamite” rolls; tube works
machinery for complete lap and butt weld equipment.
Under the title of “Miscellaneous Machinery,” may be
mentioned hot and cold saws, roll lathes, accumulators,
ingot tilters, mill, traveling and tilting tables; billet, ingot,
ash and slag cars; ore mills, squeezers, intensifiers, manipulators,
 plate bending roll, iron and steel castings, machine
molded and cut steel gears.

Much of this will be found quite techuical, but it is
necessary to mention these numerous forms of machinery
in order to tell the great scope of operations of the company
under discussion.

Quite recently the United Engineering and Foundry
Company constructed the largest blooming mill in the
whole world. It is technically described as a “54-inch 2-high
 reversing blooming mill,” This mill was recently
completed at the Youngstown plant of the company, for
use at the Homestead works of the Carnegie Steel Company.
In addition to its being the largest structure of its kind in
the world, it is of special interest in many other particulars.
 The entire mill is of massive construction throughout,
 and with the exception of a few minor parts, the castings
 are all made of steel. Incorporated in the design are
the latest inprovememts in blooming mill practice, including
several exclusive “United” features. Due to the dimensions
 necessary for the mill, it was practically impossible
to obtain sufficient spread of bed plates or a suitable arrangement
 of feed rollers in a one-piece housing. It was therefore
 necessary to design a built-up housing assembly, made
up of four post sections and a top and bottom separator.
This design is similar to the very successful housing arrangement
 which the company developed and built for the
206 inch 4-High Plate Mill at the Lukens Steel Company,
        <pb n="72" />
        Coatesville, Pa., which has been in operation about nine
years and proved entirely satisfactory. The finished weight
of the housing assembly is about 800,000 pounds. The total
finished weight of the mill is 3,833,000 pounds. The total
height of the mill, including shoe plates and supports. is 38
feet and 34 inches.

The capitalization of the United Engineering and
Foundry Company is $1,770,300 preferred stock and $6,-935,300
 common stock, a total of $8,705,600. Total sales
for the first year of its organization were $2,250,000; total
sales for the fiscal year 1926, were $12,000.000.
Present officers of the company are: I. W. Frank,
chairman of the executive ccmmittee; F. C. Biggert, Jr.,
president; G. G. Small, first vice president; William Gardner,
 second vice president; Charles E. Satler, secretary;
George H. Friesel, treasurer-auditor. Directors are, besides
 the officers: W. K. Frauk, K. C. Gardner, George W.
Knotts, George T. Ladd, William Metcalf, R. W. Tener,
John Quinn, C. W. Bray and J. H. Lockhart.

THE VITRO MANUFACTURING COMPANY

The activity of Vollkommer &amp;amp; Company as specialists
for the enameling, glass and ceramic industries dates back to
the year 1896, when J. Vollkommer was assistant manager
and superintendent of enameling plants, and later on consulting
 engineer for various large firms. During 1903, by
association with his brother, Theodore J. Vollkommer, an
expert mechanical engineer, the co-partnersnip of Vollkommer
 &amp;amp; Co. was formed. As the result of careful study of
the conditions then existing in many enameling plants, it
was found desirable not only to continue their activity as
consulting engineers, but also to assist their patrons in obtaining
 the best possible raw materials and chemicals at
reasonable prices. The firm first engaged in the business
of importing such products. This proving a success, arrangements
 were made to build a small plant for manufactaring
 certain materials. In 1905 a building was leased in
East Liberty for manufacturing on a small scale. The
        <pb n="73" />
        materials met with such approval by the trade that a larger
plant and improved facilities for manufacturing were found
necessary, and in 1907 land was purchased at Sheridan, Pa.,
and a factory built and equipped. About eighteen months
after completion, this plant, together with a large quantity
of finished products and raw material, was entirely destroyed.
 Undaunted by this misfortune, the owners immediately
 set to work and in January, 1909, a new plant,
considerably enlarged, built in a very substantial manner,
and completely equipped, resumed operation. The business
since that time has been incorporated and operated successfully
 as The Vitro Manufacturing Company.
Some of the materials manufactured are prepared enamels
 for steel, cast iron and copper, coloring oxides, especially
 prepared to give enamels and glass any desired
color or shade; enamel white and vitrozircon, materials
developed to replace the expensive oxide of tin in white
enamels; vitrifiable colors and gold compounds for decorating
 glass, pottery and tiles; ceramic chemicals such as
chromium oxide, cadmium sulphide and uranium products
used as coloring mediums for the glass, enamel, pottery and
cement industries.

All raw materials and finished products are manufactured
 and controlled by chemical and ceramic methods. In
addition to a well equipped plant, this company has recently
 built and equipped a laboratory for research and
development of new products, as well as plant control.
This laboratory is in charge of an expert research chemist
and the staff includes practical enamelers, engineers and
ceramists. Vitro products are distributed net only in the
United States and Canada, but also in South America,
Europe, Australia and the Orient.
The main office of the Vitro Manufacturing Company
is at 928 Fulton Building, Pittsburgh, Pa. It is a Pennsylvania
 corporation, with a capital of $250,000. Josef Voll
kommer is president, J. W. Wenning vice president, Theodore
 J. Vollkommer secretary, H. E. Roemhild, treasurer.
        <pb n="74" />
        THE WOLFE BRUSH COMPANY

The older generation
still recollect the display
for almost a quarter of a
century on Wood street
« of two large stuffed boars,
“Sone white, the other
black, which held in
oo their mouths various
“RARY/ types of brushes. These
AN symbols of the brush
trade were displayed by Wolfe Bros. &amp;amp; Co., the pioneer
brush makers of Pittsburgh, who at one time occupied a
building whose site is now part of the plot on which the First
National Bank Building is now erected.

ESTABLISHED I85](
Yee oe sem

The Wolfe Brush Co. originated in 1851 by David Stewart,
 who located on Fifth street, later locating on Liberty
avenue, near Sixth street.
In 1883 after the death of David Stewart the business
was purchased by Wolfe, Patton &amp;amp; Co. and moved to
514 Wood Street. Later the firm name changed to Wolfe
Bros. &amp;amp; Co., and with the purchase of the Walker Brush
Co., of Franklin, Pa., became Wolfe, Walker &amp;amp; Co., by
which name it was known until the Company incorporated
in 1903 as the Wolfe Brush Co., shortly thereafter moving to
511 Wood street, where a retail business in brushes of all
kinds, including barber supplies, was conducted, the factory
 being located in a large building at Fifteenth and Bingham
 streets, South Side.
In 1912 the business was reorganized by the present
incorporation and the retail business was discontinued.
The factory was moved to the North Side, eventually occupying
 for its quarters the large site on Pennsylvania avenue
and Bidwell street, where high grade paint brushes are
made, together with a complete line of industrial brushes.

The firm makes a specialty of manufacturing specification
 brushes and numbers among its customers the large
        <pb n="75" />
        railroad systems of the country, together with the largest
steel plants and industrial concerns, most of whom require
brushes made to suit their particular requirements.
Raw material is principally high grade bristle, some
erades of hair costing $400 per pound. Other materials, of
which there are too many to enumerate, are assembled from
every country in the world. and almost every animal contributes
 its share to the manufacture of this useful, necessary
 tool, which includes brushes from the smallest minature
 brush hardly larger than a pin to roller brushes twelve
feet long.

Most of the well known woods are used in the manufacture
 of brushes, including sandal wood, mahogany,
ebony, olive and walnut. Fibers of every description, each
having its own merit by reason of its peculiarity, are brought
from all over the world, such as bass fiber from Africa,
bamboo from China, rattan from Ceylon, palmyra from
India, tampico from Mexico. Metals including gold, silver,
copper and tin, are used in various capacities, from making
brush backs to binding, together with silk, cotton, linen
thread, bone, ivory, celluloid. rubber, etc.
The Wolfe Brush Co. has a capital investment of over
$500,000 and its officers are Chas. E. Willock, president,
S. Laird Lang, vice-president and treasurer; E. F. Johnston.
secretary and general sales manager.

WOODINGS FORGE &amp;amp; TOOL COMPANY

The Woodings Forge &amp;amp; Tool Company, organized in
1924 and located in Verona, Pa., while a comparatively new
company, is directed by men with long experience in the
manufacture of railway track tools. The president, Emanuel
 Woodings. has been identified with the manufacturing
end of this industry for forty years; the vice-president, J. T.
Brooks, has had many years of experience in the selling end,
and has been responsible for the successful development of
many new ideas.
Among several “Woodmgs” ideas, which have been
accepted by the railroads of the United States, are the fol-
        <pb n="76" />
        Woonings Forae &amp;amp; Toor Company
        <pb n="77" />
        lowing: Reforming of splice bars: By the patented Woodings
 process old splice bars which have already given full service
 can be worked over and again put in use. This is a
financial asset quickly grasped by the roads and beginning
to figure largely in the maintenance of way department.

Rail Anchor: A new and novel rail anchor endorsed by
the leading railroad engineers of the country and widely
used by the largest railroads.

Track Chisels: Improvements in track chisel design,
thereby greatly increasing the life of same.

Every type of track tool utilized by the railroads of the
country in the maintenance and upkeep of their road beds
is manufactured by the Woodings Forge &amp;amp; Tool Company.
The company is not limited to the above mentioned departments,
 but has a very highly developed forge shop, equipped
with the necessary modern machinery to do any kind of
forge work, having specialized in car forgings consisting of
nearly all the kinds of levers used by the car builders.

Perfect arrangements are now completed for the oil
quenching and heat treating of all devices manufactured by
the Woodings Forge &amp;amp; Tool Company requiring such a
process.

The quality of its tools and the value of its inventions
nave made the name “Woodings” known and heard on every
allroad.

The officers of the company are E. Woodings, president
and general manager; J. Twing Brooks, vice president and
treasurer; I. G. Sadler, secretary; directors: E. Woodings,
EF. F. Brooks, J. J. Brooks, Jr., J. T. Brooks and George T.
Ladd.
        <pb n="78" />
        FIRST NATIONAL BANK AT PITTSBURGH

In issuing this booklet on the varied industries of Pittsburgh,
 the First National Bank does not pretend to have
exhausted the numerous lines in which the business men of
this great city are engaged, in the category of diversified products,
 but it is intended to suggest the importance of this
great industrial and commercial center in many ways which
will not readily suggest itself to the minds of people who
regard Pittsburgh as an iron and steel. or eas and oil center.

The First National Bank desires to recall to readers of
this publication the importance of this financial institution
in maintaining and promoting business propositions of every
variety. Its Directory is composed of men who have had
and still have a successful career in many lines of industry,
commercial, manufacturing and professional; and they are
therefore unusually qualified to pass upon and advise upon
the various questions which are constantly arising. Its
officers are bankers with a long experience in the handling
of financial affairs, and who keep constantly informed on
money matters both locally and nationally, and are, moreover,
 thoroughly informed on developments in all parts of
the globe.

They are ready to transact business anywhere on earth,
by radio, cable or mail, for the Bank’s representatives in
Europe, Asia, Africa, Australia and in all parts of the American
 continent and contiguous islands, as well as in the Philippine
 Islands, Porto Rico, and other dependencies of the
United States, are chosen with great care for the prompt
carrying out of business arrangements and the efficient
handling of financial problems

Every form of banking is being constantly attended to
with dispatch, whether the accounts belong to great corporations,
 or are savings accounts of small proportions.
Every one should feel that it is the pleasure of the First
National Bank’s officers to give advice in everything pertaining
 to finance.
        <pb n="79" />
        A comprehensive Tourist Department is maintained,
aad many Pittsburghers never take their vacations without
consulting our travel experts. We are agents for all Ocean,
Coastwise and Lake steamship companies, and our advice
on travel is based on a complete knowledge of ships and
foreign countries. We arrange all details of travel, provide
Letters of Credit and Travelers’ Checks, secure passports
when unecessary, buy and sell foreign money, and relieve
the traveler of all the burdensome details of the journey.
thus adding immeasurably te the pleasure of travel.

A new form of vacation travel just now attracting much
attention is “Land Cruises in America.” These cruises
take routes through little known portions of America, with
journeys by daylight, stopping at points which illustrate
the genius and types most truly American, including travel
 by special and luxurious motor cars, with rest and relaxation
 at the best hotels, and all this without any care on
the part of the sight-seer. Details of these trips are available
 at all times.

—-y

Capital...... ..
Surplus. . .
Undivided Profits and Reserves. .
Deposits. . . .

Resources. |

....$6,000,000.00
6,000,000.00
1,546,732.66
73,228,554.30
.96,125,663.80

I A—— ~
&amp;gt; 52.0
        <pb n="80" />
        DIRECTORS

RoBert WARDROP, Chairman of the Board

Frank F. Brooks... Vice-President
E. M. BYERS............ ....Chairman of Board, A. M. Byers Co.
Henry CHALFANT..........President, Spang, Chalfant &amp;amp; Co., Inc.
W. L. CLAusE..... --«v...Chairman, Pittsburgh Plate Glass Co.
W. D. GEorgk... -....Real Estate
J. H. HiLLMAN, Jr... Chairman of Board, Hillman Coal &amp;amp; Coke Co.
A. L. HUMPHREY. ..........President, Westinghouse Airbrake Co.
D. T. LAYMAN, JR.......... ....Henry Phipps Estate
F. H. Liovp... - President, Pittsburgh Dry Goods Co.
A. M. MORELAND... «ovo. Caprtalist
P. W. MorGaN... President, First National Bank, Wilmerding, Pa.
GEORGE E. PAINTER... ~ov. Capitalist
E. W. PARGNY......... President, American Sheet &amp;amp; Tin Plate Co.
Wu. A. Rensuaw.... ......John A. Renshaw &amp;amp; Co., Pittsburgh
A. C. ROBINSON... ....President. Peoples Savings &amp;amp; Trust Company
Lawrence E. Sanbs... ...President
Isaac M. Scort............President, Wheeling Steel Corporation
CLype C. TAYLOR...................... Vice-President and Cashier
VERNON F. TAYLOR..........Banker &amp;amp; Oil Operator, Indiana, Pa
BENJAMIN THAW. . cove. Capitalist and Trustee Thaw Estate
RoBert WARDROP . Director of Federal Reserve Bank of Cleveland
and Vice-President, Peoples Savings &amp;amp; Trust Co.
+ wen Free Prnsidont Penna. R. R. Co.
Jorn M. WiLsoN.. President. National Supply Co.. Pittsburgh, Pa.
        <pb n="81" />
        OFFICERS

LAWRENCE E. SANDS. .

Frank FF. Brooks. .

CLrype C Tavior

J. HowArRp ARTHUR

WILLIAM H. FAWCETT"

TraoMAs B. HupsoN

Grier C. Orr

Joun DEM. WrrTS

Oscar WILSON

WM. J. FrRaNK...

v.... President

Vice-President

Vice-President and Cashier

Vice-President

 Aecictant Cashier

Assistant Cashier

 Aecictant Cachieor

Assistant Cashier

Ascistant Cachier

Manager Foreian Department

P. W. Da”INDEN. ......... Assistant Manager Foreign Departmeni

[. PauL Forb.

Accistant Manager Foreian Department
        <pb n="82" />
        FIRST NATIONAL BANK
AT PITTSBURGH, PENNSYLVANIA

FIFTH AVENUE AND WOOD STREET
‘CONVENIENT FOR YOT]

DIONE oo Rds DU RAODS EDINA POO ORE EOE FEIT ONL OES OTE
        <pb n="83" />
        F
g
; 12
:
3
ia
¥
Sy

if oO
= ON

mo
NY

\

20
‘Nn

p&amp;gt;
"TN

\
-

-
nN

a

=
-~

O
()

=&amp;gt;
xy

=
\)

&amp;gt;
-

0)
~k

D0
&amp;lt;I

&amp;gt;
or

§

materials met with such approval by the trade that a larger
plant and improved facilities for manufacturing were found
necessary, and in 1907 land was purchased at Sheridan, Pa.,
and a factory built and equipped. About eighteen months
after completion, this plant, together with a large quantity
of finished products and raw material, was entirely destroyed.
 Undaunted by this misfortune, the owners immediately
 set to work and in January, 1909, a new plant,
considerably enlarged, built in a very substantial manner,
and completely equipped, resumed operation. The business
since that time has been incorporated and operated success-Fully
 as The Vitro Manufacturing Company.
Some of the materials manufactured are prepared enamels
 for steel, cast iron and copper, coloring oxides, especially
 prepared to give enamels and glass any desired
color or shade; enamel white and vitrozircon, materials
developed to replace the expensive oxide of tin in white
enamels; vitrifiable colors and gold compounds for decorating
 glass, pottery and tiles; ceramic chemicals such as
chromium oxide, cadmium sulphide and uranium products
ased as coloring mediums for the glass, enamel, pottery and
rement industries.

All raw materials and finished products are manufactured
 and controlled by chemical and ceramic methods. In
addition to a well equipped plant, this company has recently
 built and equipped a laboratory for research and
development of new products, as well as plant control.
This laboratory is in charge of an expert research chemist
and the staff includes practical enamelers, engineers and
ceramists. Vitro products are distributed not only in the
United States and Canada, but also in South America.
Europe, Australia and the Orient.
The main office of the Vitro Manufacturing Company
is at 928 Fulton Building, Pittsburgh, Pa. It is a Pennsylvania
 corporation, with a capital of $250,000. Josef Voll
kommer is president, J. W. Wenning vice president, Theolore
 J. Vollkommer secretary, H. E. Roemhild. treasurer.

0
yy

-
S
D
n
3
A

0
&amp;amp;®
&amp;gt;
%
a
©

2
‘on
      </div>
    </body>
  </text>
</TEI>
