<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<TEI xmlns="http://www.tei-c.org/ns/1.0">
  <teiHeader>
    <fileDesc>
      <titleStmt>
        <title>Hospitals</title>
      </titleStmt>
      <publicationStmt />
      <sourceDesc>
        <bibl>
          <msIdentifier>
            <idno>1831623870</idno>
          </msIdentifier>
        </bibl>
      </sourceDesc>
    </fileDesc>
  </teiHeader>
  <text>
    <body>
      <div>
        <pb n="1" />
        =

GENT
RE
TT
fd SE
AE

tC
        <pb n="2" />
        An edition of 100 of
which this is

No

Droveptsd to

This volume is a combination of a series of booklets
published by the First National Bank at Pittsburgh, in
exposition of our city’s progress in business and culture.
It is fitting that this record be dedicated to the
memory of the late beloved president of the First
National Bank, Mr. Lawrence E. Sands, whose vision
and work has made a very deep impression upon the
general welfare of this community.
May we hope that this volume will be worthy of a
place in your library, not only for your own pleasure and
information, but also for any inspiration it may furnish
for a future generation to maintain and enhance the fine
traditions of the City of Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania.

THE FirsT NaTIONAL BANK AT Prrrspurcs,
PITTSBURGH, Pa.
        <pb n="3" />
        IE EI TC EOE EI EE ET EEC CDR ERD DED IO ERE ES ROE EES TTI ET enn ra See:

The Story of

PITTSBURGH

Volume One
Number Sixteen

Hospitals

First National Bank at Pittsburgh
December, 1928

CECE

“REE
        <pb n="4" />
        This booklet, prepared and published by the First National
 Bank at Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, is one of a series issued,
from time to time, since August, 1919, portraying the various
industries of the Pittsburgh district, with the intention of emphasizing
 the importance of Pittsburgh as a commercial and
financial metropolis. A large number of its many industries
and altruistic enterprises, have been described in the booklets,
 of which sixteen have been published, to date. The
following is a list of the subjects discussed, with the date of
issue:

Vol. 1, No. 1—Introductory Booklet... ..August, 1919
Vol. 1, No. 2—Iron and Steel........... September, 1919
Vol. 1, No. 3—Iron and Steel (Part 2)... January, 1920
Vol. 1, No. 4—Coal and Coke. .........June, 1920
Vol. 1, No. 5—Glass.... ........December, 1920
Vol. 1, No. 6—Electrical Appliances. ....March, 1921
Vol. 1, No. 7"—Radium. . . ... August, 1921
Vol. 1, No. 8—Cement and Concrete. . . . December, 1921
Vol. 1, No. 9—Clay Products. ..........December, 1922
Vol. 1, No. 10—Petroleum and Natural
Gas. .......... .December, 1923
Vol. 1, No. 11—Petroleum and Natural
Gas (Part 2)..........December, 1924
Vol. 1, No. 12—Food Products. .........December, 1925
Vol. 1, No. 13—Diversified Products. . . . . April, 1927
Vol. 1, No. 14—Education. .............. April, 1928
Vol. 1, No. 15—Education (Part 2)... ....April, 1928
Vol. 1, No. 16—Hospitals December, 1928
        <pb n="5" />
        The Story of Pittsburgh
Hospitals

eo jo

HE most important step forward in Pittsburgh’s
medical history was made when the acquisition of
the H. XK. Porter property, in the Oakland district,
enabled the School of Medicine of the University of Pittsburgh
 to bring into being a long cherished project—the formation
 of the Medical Center. Under the supervision of Dr.
R. R. Huggins, dean of the School of Medicine, seven fine
medical institutions, of widely diversified interests, have
united to form this Medical Center. Most of these will be
located on the University property, at Oakland, the first institution
 to be completed being the Children’s Hospital. The
others are all now carrying on the work of the Medical Center
 in their present localities, pending the building of their
new homes.

Most of them will eventually be on the grounds of the
University. They are: Children’s Hospital of Pittsburgh,
Presbyterian Hospital, Eye and Ear Hospital, Pittsburgh
Free Dispensary and the School of Medicine of the University
 of Pittsburgh. The Elizabeth Steel Magee Hospital will
continue to occupy its present well-equipped and beautiful
home, and the Tuberculosis League Hospital, which has
proved of inestimable value to Pittsburgh. will also continue
in its present quarters.
Pittsburgh has every reason to be proud of its Medical
Center, which promises to become one of the most important
seats of research and discovery in preventive medicine in the
United States. The Medical Center is the largest aggregation
 of hospitals in the city, but there are many other large,
fine, well-equipped hospitals, carrying on their work alone,
and each is a pride and a blessing to suffering humanity.
Pittsburgh feels that there are no better hospitals in the country
 than those within her own domain.
        <pb n="6" />
        ALLEGHENY COUNTY HOME AND HOSPITALS
The Allegheny County Home and Hospitals as established
 at Woodville, was created by an Act of the Assembly at
the session of 1852 for the reception and accommodation of
the poor of Allegheny county, exclusive of the City of Pittsburgh.
 The institution is located at Woodville, Pa., in
Collier township, ten miles west of Pittsburgh, on the Washington
 branch of the Pan Handle Railroad.
There are three departments to the institution, viz.:—
the “Home,” in which the aged and infirm are given care
and hospital treatment; the hospital for mental diseases, and
Hill Crest Sanatorium, where all patients suffering from
tuberculosis are treated.
The original buildings for the Home department were
erected in 1853. In 1910, these buildings were razed and replaced
 with a modern building and equipment. This department
 is caring for 750 patients, 150 of these requiring
hospital care.
The department for Mental Diseases was erected in 1900.
Prior to this time, Allegheny County maintained mental
patients in the several State institutions. This is the largest
department of the institution, having at the present time a
population of over 1500 patients. In this department, there
is a hospital unit of 100 bed capacity, complete in every
detail in the way of laboratory, operating room, X-ray,
violet ray, and hydrotherapy equipment. However, patients
in all departments have access to the service of this hospital
unit.
Prior to 1916, a camp was maintained for the treatment
of tubercular patients, but in 1916, Hill Crest Sanatorium
was erected. This building is located at an elevation of 1100
feet and provides for the accommodation of 350 patients.
The farm in connection with the institution, comprises 1200
acres, .on which is maintained a herd of 150 registered
Holstein cattle, 500 Duroc-Jersey hogs, 6500 White Leghorn
chickens and 18 head of horses. During the year 1927, the
products of the farm amounted to $60,000.
The Out Door Relief Department of the Institution
functions through the offices of the Directors of the Poor,
located in Room 5386, Court House, Pittsburgh. This De-
        <pb n="7" />
        partment during the year 1927 distributed relief to the poor
of the county amounting to $140,000.
The management of the Allegheny County Home and
Hospital is under the supervision of the Directors of the Poor,
of which Maj. J. Clyde Miller of Homestead is president,
H. H. Dixon of Millvale, vice president, and Dr. W. L.
Henderson of East McKeesport, secretary. Dr. G. A. Me-Cracken
 is superintendent.

ALLEGHENY GENERAL HOSPITAL

The Allegheny General Hospital, on the North Side of
the City of Pittsburgh, was incorporated December 4, 1882,
and formally opened February 15, 1886. It was rebuilt in
1904. Its bed capacity in 1886 was 50, and this had increased
to 405 in the year of 1927. The number of patients admitted
in 1886 was 369, and this increased to 6550 in the 1926-1927
year, ending May 31. Expenditures in 1887 were $20,177.82,
and in the latest year named they had grown to $628,749.08.
The endowment fund in the first year was $10,000, and this
had increased by the end of 1927 to $3,104,449.58; of this,
$712,024.58 was general, $442,425.00 laboratory, and $1,950.-000.00
 in memorial and other special funds.
Illustrative of changed conditions, the annual report
states that the actual average per capita per diem cost, 1886-1887,
 was 96 cents, while in 1926-1927 the actual average per
diem cost was $5.25.
Total patient days of treatment in the year ended May
31, 1926, were 119,654; patients’ days in wards, 82,507; patients’
 days in private rooms, 37,147; total patients admitted
to wards and private rooms, 6,550; patients admitted to private
 rooms, 3,912. The average stay of private room patients
was a little more than 14 days, the average stay of ward patients
 a little over 21 days, and the average stay of hospital
patients was a little over 18 days. The total number of free
days service rendered over the past fiscal year was 50,271.
These facts briefly stated, give an insight into the need of a
hospital of this character on the North Side.
The School of Nursing has reached its 40th anniversary
and has issued “The Stethoscope,” which tells of its activities.
        <pb n="8" />
        mm 5 wo erie Tre i Bmp LB, © ER eB

Proposed West Flank of the Allegheny General Hospital
        <pb n="9" />
        From an early period, nurses from this institution have given
their services in the foreign fields, and at present the school is
represented by graduates in India. Egypt, Abyssinia and
Liberia.
Directors of the Allegheny General Hospital have been
able, through the generosity of the Park and Chalfant families,
 and through the purchase of the Sawyer estate and sundry
 other plots of ground in the neighborhood of these properties,
 to acquire sufficient land in what is probably the most
desirable location in the downtown section of the city of Pittsburgh,
 for the erection of a new Allegheny General Hospital,
which will rank as one of the finest modern hospitals in the
country.
The gift by the families named comprises about three
acres on North avenue, facing the park, in the same district
in which the institution has been serving for forty years.
Other plots enlarge the site to 8.22 acres. The scheme for the
new building provides for a building 250 feet long, 45 feet
wide and 15 stories high, forming a central stem. This is to
be flanked on either side by three projecting wings, one of
nine stories and the other two of three stories each. From the
north end of the hospital a connecting passage extends to the
nurses’ home, a nine story building 192 feet long.
The design of the hospital is based on the Lombard brick
architecture of Northern Italy. The chief features of the
plans provide for ample light and air, and the circulation between
 all departments, the horizontal travel having been reduced
 to a minimum by grouping everything around the main
bank of elevators located at the very center of the building,
The William H. Singer Memorial Research Laboratory was
founded by Mrs. Singer, widow of Mr. Singer, and by their
children, G. Harton Singer, Mrs. W. Ross Proctor, and Mrs.
Robert Milligan. After the completion of the building, at
the northeast corner of Sandusky street and Park way, and
its thorough equipment, the entire property was turned over
to the board of trustees of the Allegheny General Hospital as
a gift to that institution, provided that it should be used both
as a research laboratory for the study of general medical and
surgical problems, and as a means of furnishing the hospital
with a high grade of routine laboratory work. The labora-
        <pb n="10" />
        tory is a rectangular building of brick trimmed with limestone,
 and is 115 feet long and 60 feet wide. In addition to
the three stories of height there is a large working basement.
The board of directors follows: Rev. Dr. Maitland Alexander,
 president; William C. Robinson, first vice president;
H. L. Mason, Jr., second vice president; Edmund W. Mudge,
third vice president; J. N. Davidson, treasurer; Edward G.
Lang, assistant treasurer; C. F. Holdship, secretary. Other
directors than above are: Henry Chalfant, Harry Darlington,
Jr., Carroll P. Davis, George M. M’Candless, Walter S. Mitchell,
 Mrs. Henry R. Rea, J. Frederic Byers, B. F. Jones, Jr.,
Mrs. Robert Milligan, Lewis A. Park, G. Harton Singer, Sidney
 S. Liggett, Hon. Josiah Cohen, William G. Costin, Thomas
 A. McGinley, J. Denniston Lyon, Frederick C. Perkins.
Mrs. W. C. Robinson and James Lyall Stuart.
Dr. G. Walter Zulauf is superintendent of the hospital,
and Miss Lottie Darling, R. N.. is suverintendent of nurses.

ALLEGHENY VALLEY HOSPITAL

The Allegheny Valley Hospital, Tarentum, Pa., was established
 on January 21, 1909. The building used was on
Second avenue and formerly known as the Barr Building.
Mrs. Emily Hill was matron of the institution and Miss
Chatham, head nurse. Many of the prominent ladies of
the community loaned their services to the institution and
they had many trials to contend with before it was properly
 organized. Nothing was too menial for these willing
workers, and they did whatever they were called upon to do
from scrubbing the floors to cooking the meals. To these
noble women the community owes much. After two years
the hospital was transferred to West Tarentum, where it
remained until the new and present building was finished,
which is located in Harrison township, Carlisle street,
Natrona Heights. This was in June, 1919. The hospital is
always open to the sick and injured of whatever race. creed
or position. It is a 100 bed hospital.
The School for Nurses was established in May, 1910.
The first class to graduate was in 1912. There were four
        <pb n="11" />
        graduates. The curriculum of the school is arranged for the
three-year course, to meet the requirements of the State of
Pennsylvania.
The hospital is fortunate in having a very fine staff of
surgeons and physicians. Not only do these men take an
active interest in the welfare of the hospital and their patients
but also in the nurses. The training school is indebted to
them for the unlimited time they have given to lectures to
the classes on the various subjects of the course coming under
 their supervision, and the professional service rendered
during illness. A $110,000 nurses’ home is being erected at
the present time. This will be ready for occupancy July 1,
1929.
Board of Directors: John E. White, president; J. W.
Stephenson, vice-president; Frank U. Bert, secretary; S. C.
Hookey, Geo. H. Dickey, J. F. Trees, W. F. Detwiler, Earl
McGraw, Walter Brinton, Thomas C. Conroy, Fred Laufer,
C. K. Nichols, Paul F. Voigt, James Green, J. R. Rudert.
Cora B. Lash, R.N., is superintendent and Margaret P.
Reed, R. N., superintendent of nurses.

BELVEDERE GENERAL HOSPITAL

The Belvedere General Hospital, located on Paulson ave.,
East End, Pittsburgh, was founded by Dr. G. Alvin, the present
 medical director, in 1921. In 1922 a charter was secured
under the commonwealth of Pennsylvania, making it a community
 hospital, a charitable institution with a free dispensary,
 affording medical and surgical aid to the sick, injured,
and disabled. A board of directors was appointed and a woman’s
 auxiliary organized..
The hospital is well equipped with an X-Ray department,
with a competent radiographer in charge, a drug department
with registered pharmacists in charge. The operating room
has all facilities for performing operations of any nature. In
connection with the operating room there is a complete and
most modern sterilizer.
The development of a perfectly functioning hospital having
 been made, the most urgent necessity remains to be faced,
that is, more room to house those requiring admission. A floor
        <pb n="12" />
        was added to the institution last year, but we still need more
room to relieve suffering of our fellowmen regardless of religion
 or creed.

Belvedere General Hospital
541 Paulson Avenue

If our friends who are able to contribute will help the institution,
 the management will be able to add an additional
building to the hospital which will bring assistance and comfort
 to a greater number of unfortunates. In the face of manv
        <pb n="13" />
        difficulties much advancement has been made in our work.
A medical staff has been appointed to take care of the various
departments. The free dispensary has been opened and a
training school for nurses has been started. Group Medicine
is practised in this Institution for the welfare of the patients.
Several of the staff doctors competent in their respective
field may examine the patient, and with the aid of (a) Clinical
Laboratory providing chemical-bacteriological, serological,
and pathological services; (b) X-Ray and Fluoroscopic services;
 (c) Physical Therapy service. With these diagnostic
and theropeutic facilities available under competent supervision
 and with our aim to meet the requirements of the
American College of Surgeons and the American Hospital Association,
 we are in a position to give the patients the
best that medical science can offer.
The great work of the hospital is recognized by the State.
Last session an appropriation was passed by the legislature of
Pennsylvania, so the institution is under state control, having
 a member of the Department of Welfare to check up the
work done by the institution. and a state auditor to audit the
books quarterly.
The board of directors, the medical staff and the women’s
auxiliary are doing their share. Will you do yours and make
:his hospital, your institution, a success?
To the generous public and active friends who are helping
this good cause, the board of directors extend their thanks
for their good work and with hopeful confidence for future
success.
Directors of the Belvedere Hospital are: S. W. Means,
president; Dr. G. Alvin, first vice president; Dr. H. M. Goehring,
 second vice president; W. B. Sands, secretary; W. W.
Johnston, treasurer; Hon. Clyde Kelly, Dr. J. S. Mackrell,
Dr. W. H. Over and the Rev. De Francesco.

BRADDOCK GENERAL HOSPITAL
The first suggestion for a hospital for the historical town
of Braddock came from the pen of a young newspaperman
about 1890. Editorials on the subject came at infrequent
intervals for the next few years. Then came an anonymous
gift of $200 with which to start a hospital fund.
        <pb n="14" />
        The women of the town took up the work in earnest and
gave a bazaar which netted them $3,500. The Hospital
Association was formed and the raising of money began
seriously. The Braddock Medical Society and the Braddock
Board of Trade united their forces and funds, and together
with the Hospital Association purchased the Mills homestead.
 Thus the Braddock General Hospital was launched in
June, 1906.
The little hospital of 30 beds was soon inadequate to care
for the needs of the community, and a new wing was built,
adding 70 beds. This building was too soon overcrowded, and
a second wing was built, making the bed capacity 125. The
buildings were completely modernized and equipped with
the many conveniences so essential to the success of an
efficient hospital. During the past year a new department of
Physical Therapy was opened and new X-Ray equipment
installed.
The Braddock Hospital has a recognized training school
for nurses, which graduates a class each year. A modern
nurses’ home was built in 1927 which enhances the comfort
and pleasure of the students.
The hospital is governed by a board of managers consisting
 of seven business men of the community. These men
unselfishly devote their time and energy toward keeping the
hospital up to the necessary high standards required for
service and recognition. The hospital is recognized by the
American College of Surgeons and the American Medical
Association, and is approved by-the Pennsylvania State
Board of Medical Education and Licensure.
Miss A. Grace Scott is the superintendent and the members
 of the board of managers are: George Watt, president
W. J. Tracey, vice president; H. J. Wagner, Titus Hodder,
A. L. Lipsky, Walter Yenny, and J. A. Lawler. B. P. Byrgerson
 is treasurer and A. P. Roderus is secretary.

CANONSBURG GENERAL HOSPITAL

Situated on an elevation on the borders of Canonsburg,
the Canonsburg General Hospital receives full benefit from
the bright sunshine and the refreshing breezes.
        <pb n="15" />
        In the twenty-five years of its existence, the hospital has
made wonderful strides, and from a hospital the size of the
average home, it has grown until now it is a building four
stories high, having accommodation for fifty-five patients.
Building plans are under way at the present time, which,
when carried out, will add materially to the betterment of
this splendid institution. The original hospital, now used as a
nurses’ home, is entirely inadequate to house the student and
graduate nurses, and plans are being drawn at the present
time to build a large and modern home at a cost of approximately
 $45,000. This new nurses’ home will conform in
every way with State board regulations.
The Canonsburg Hospital School of Nursing is an accredited
 school offering a three year course, and is open to
girls between the ages of eighteen and thirty-five years of age,
having one year of academic high school work. Students are
well cared for, and could not find more pleasant surroundings
in which to study.
The institution is under the control of a board of directors,
 of which the officers are: President, J. H. McBurney;
vice president, W. H. Dunlap; secretary, Charles Schade;
treasurer, George McNutt. Olive McWilliams, R. N., is
the superintendent, and Elizabeth Ralston, R.N., assistant
superintendent, are assisted by a staff of five graduate
nurses. There is an open staff of eighteen doctors, who are
from Canonsburg and the surrounding towns. These doctors,
in their faithful and competent work, make it possible for the
the hospital to maintain its present high standard.

CHILDREN’S HOSPITAL OF PITTSBURGH

The Children’s Hospital of Pittsburgh is free to every
sick child regardless of color, race and creed, who is in need of
aid, and is unable to pay for it. There are, also, attractive
rooms for private and semi-private patients, and the kind of
medical and surgical treatment that only a children’s hospital
can supply.
This hospital is the gift of over 22,000 citizens of Pittsburgh
 and neighboring towns, who, in 1924, gave sixteen hundred
 thousand dollars to build and equip it. The present or-
        <pb n="16" />
        Ec

The Children’s Hospital of Pittsburgh
The First Building Erected in the Medical Center
        <pb n="17" />
        ganization is a continuation of the Children’s Hospital that
was opened in 1897 by a small group of men and women, who
for so many years supported it entirely by their own contributions
 and those of their friends. Later it received State aid
sufficient to pay about one-third of its expenses, and this was
augmented in. 1911 by the establishment of “Flower Day,”
on which the public of Pittsburgh and neighboring towns contribute
 most generously towards the needs of the Hospital.
Private subscriptions and endowments very inadequately
romplete its support.
During the forty-one years of its existence, the Children’s
Hospital has aided, through its visiting nurses and Social Service
 Department, its dispensaries and hospital wards, over a
hundred thousand sick children.
In November, 1926, the hospital moved into its new building,
 where with its greatly enlarged opportunities and facilities,
 it expects to stand second to none in children’s hospital
work. The building is modern throughout, unusually well
squipped and attractively furnished.
The brick and stone building, standing on the ground of
the University of Pittsburgh, is eight stories high, and is fire
proof and practically sound proof throughout. It is surrounded
 by open spaces which giveit an abundance of light and sunshine;
 while from its broad porches, which are accessible to
every ward, the children have magnificent views of one of
the most picturesque and beautiful cities of America. “Their
ywn Pittsburgh.”
The general plan of the building is as follows: The subbasement
 contains the boilers, ice plant. coal storage, incinsrator
 and generator.
The basement contains the brace shop; here are made the
braces for the patients in the hospital wards and for the dispensary
 patients. The braces are supplied at cost to the hospital
 and dispensary patients, when they can pay. The
department also does brace work for outside physicians and
so aids in its own support. On this floor is also a well
equipped laundry, carpenter and paint shop, rest room for
the help and general storage rooms.
On the floor above are the diet kitchen and milk laboracory,
 the main kitchens, dining rooms for staff, graduate and
        <pb n="18" />
        student nurses, a small dining room for guests and two dining
 rooms for the help.
The first (or main floor) contains the lobby, reception
room, children’s library, administrative offices and staff room.
In another wing of this floor is the dispensary, with its social
service department, record, registration. examining rooms
and the pharmacy.
On the second floor is found a cheerful playroom with
windows on two sides, also a large porch where all the ward
children can come for fresh air and sunshine. This floor contains
 one ten-bed ward with glass partitions, eleven cubicle
rooms, and a number of smaller wards. There is also on this
Hoor, a complete operating room suite for tonsil and adenoid
rases, an examination room, treatment and reception rooms.
The third floor is the infants’ department. Here are found
cubicle rooms, one large ward of ten cribs, with glass partitions,
 and three smaller wards. The dental, radiography,
fluoroscopy, physiotherapy, photography departments and
the reception room are in a separate wing of this floor.
The medical department for older children is on the fourth
floor and contains a ten-bed ward with glass partitions, eleven
cubicle rooms and three smaller wards. The resident physicians’
 quarters, the reception room and a large class room for
medical students, occupy a segregated portion of this floor.
On the fifth floor are found the private and semi-private
rooms. The private rooms open on porches where the children
 can be easily wheeled out through the windows that open
to the floor. The laboratories, medical library, office and
record rooms and a small reception room are situated on
this floor.

The sixth floor is similar to the fifth except that on this
floor are found the two major operating rooms, a sterilizing
room, anesthesia and plaster rooms, together with the reception
 room, which is a feature on each floor of the hospital.
The seventh floor contains the superintendent’s suite, instructors’
 offices and the teaching headquarters of the training
 school department. This includes the demonstration
room (with an unusual equipment for practical nursing procedures),
 a class room, domestic science, bacteriological and
chemical laboratories, entirely for the instruction of student
        <pb n="19" />
        nurses. The training school was founded in 1909. It is under
the medical care of the staff, and the supervision of the superintendent
 of the hospital. Fourteen hospitals who send their
students to the Children’s Hospital for this special training,
are affiliated with it. There has also been established a postgraduate
 course of instruction for graduate nurses interested
in the special nursing care of children.
The eighth floor is planned for the care of contagious cases
and contains four entirely separate units for complete isolation.


All the floors (with the exception of the eighth floor), are
eqiupped with verandas of generous proportion—where the
patients may have fresh air all day long.
The isolation ward has proved a very great success. No
disease imprisoned there has ever dropped down into the
wards. During the recent period of infantile paralysis in the
city, over half the children attacked were cared for in the hospital,
 and its laboratories made a serum, which, if used during
 the first stages of the disease, seems to stay the progress of
the paralysis. The hospital had a letter from the Board of
Health, acknowledging the great indebtedness of Pittsburgh
for this service, saying there was no other agency which could
have rendered it.

Two wards have recently been supplied with Quartz-Lite,
the ultra-violet ray glass, generously contributed by a member
 of the board of managers. This provides the patients
with the health-giving properties of the sun, which are lost
when ordinary glass is used. It is now contemplated to enclose
 a large outdoor balcony, on the seventh floor, with
Quartz-Lite, to use as a solarium and outdoor room for the
school, which averages over 40 pupils a day—eager, earnest,
happy little people, putting forth every effort to learn, that
they may go on with children of their own age when they
are returned to the public schools, without the odium of
“backward children” being attached to them. This school is
the gift of the Board of Public Education to the hospital, and
is the first to be opened in a Pittsburgh hospital. It is an outward
 expression of the fact Pittsburgh is keeping step with
New York and other great cities in educational work.
        <pb n="20" />
        The Solarium is much needed by these little patients, for
the mental health of afflicted children that is provided by
pleasant occupation is a stimulant to their physical progress.
Our physicians consider that keeping them happy and interested
 in intellectual and occupational work is a necessary curative
 measure. It will cost $25,000 to enclose this large porch
and there are no funds now available, the hospital being now
50 deeply in debt. The public is urgently requested to contribute
 to this splendid work for the helpless and suffering children
 who so greatly need it.
The Nurses’ homes are large, comfortable buildings, adjarent
 to the hospital, where the nurses are amply and comfortably
 cared for. The training school, always an index of the
usefulness of a hospital, is constantly increasing, both in numbers
 and educational standards. There are more than 80
nurses in its different departments.
The medical and surgical care of the patients is in the
hands of the hospital staff of physicians, consisting of about
50 specialists. H. T. Price, M. D., is medical director and
chief of staff.
The active staff consists of: Dr. D. H. Boyd, Dr. J. K.
Everhart, Dr. H. C. Flood, Dr. Z. R. Scott. The orthopedic
staff has as chief of service, Dr. David Silver, with Dr. W. O.
Markell and Dr. C. C. Yount as his active staff; Dr. E. W.
Meredith and Dr. W. O. Sherman, surgical staff. Dr. J. R.
Simpson is head of the oto-laryngologists. Dr. C. H. Henninger
 is the neurologist. Dr. Ralph V. Robinson is roentgenologist.
 The dispensaries have also a large and very competent
 staff of physicians, in the medical, surgical, skin, orthopedic,
 ear, nose and throat. nervous. mental and dental
departments.
More than 2400 children have gone through its wards during
 the first year the hospital has been in its new building, and
over 14,000 visits have been paid to its dispensaries. On October
 26, 1927, the hospital suffered the very great loss of its
much-loved superintendent, Mrs. Rye Morley Kinsey. She
was a woman of charming personality and very great executive
 ability, and as the executive had made a name as a superintendent
 among the foremost children’s hospitals of the
country. Miss Laura B. Wilson, who was head of the training
        <pb n="21" />
        school for nurses, was acting superintendent until the arrival
 of Miss Pearl Braithwaite, the new superintendent, who
came from the Children’s Hospital of Cleveland.
The following is the board of managers: Dr. Thos. S.
Arbuthnot, president; H. V. Blaxter, first vice persident;
Southard Hay, secretary; George W. M’Candless, treasurer;
Mrs. Herbert DuPuy, chairman executive committee; Mrs.
Benjamin Page, vice chairman executive committee; James
W. Barber, W. W. Blackburn, Dr. John G. Bowman, Julian
Burdick, William L. Clause, Mrs. D. M. Clemson, Mrs. O. M.
Edwards, Jr., Miss Helen C. Frick, Mrs. William J. Holland,
Mrs. W. Terrell Johnson, Mrs. Stewart Johnston, Francis A.
Keating, W. B. Klee, Mrs. Joseph W. Marsh, Mrs. Grant
McCargo, William L. Monro, Mrs. James D. Murray, R. B.
Mellon, A. M. Imbrie, Mrs. W. H. Rowe, Mrs. W. A. Seifert,
Mrs. William Henry Siviter, Mrs. J. Ramsey Speer, and Mrs.
Henry Wittmer.

CITIZENS GENERAL HOSPITAL

In the spring of 1912 a small private hospital known as
Trinity Hospital was started in the present residence of W.
Riley Alter, Parnassus, Pa. By September of this same year
Trinity Hospital, having failed financially, was taken over
by four ladies, Mrs. T. E. McConnell, Mrs. F. J. McAllister,
Mrs. J. H. Eckley and Mrs. G. B. Campbell. To these four
ladies belongs great credit for their far-sightedness in continuing
 to operate Trinity Hospital until the whole community
awakened to the need of a hospital in their midst. This need
was recognized in December, 1912, when the citizens of
New Kensington, Arnold and Parnassus incorporated the
hospital and changed the name from Trinity Hospital to
Citizens General Hospital, New Kensington, Pa.
The following were the first officers of the corporation:
R. E. Withers, president: F. E. Pratt, treasurer, and George
A. Clark, secretary.
The hospital continued to function in the Alter residence
 until the need of more room and facilities brought
about the building of the present hospital at corner of
Seventh street and Fourth avenue. The dedication of this
        <pb n="22" />
        A iri coop one biti Bit

Citizens General Hospital,
New Kensington, Pa.
        <pb n="23" />
        building took place October 10, 1915. Patients were moved
into the building immediately following the dedication.
During October, 1922, a splendid nurses’ residence, containing
 forty rooms, having been erected, was donated to the
hospital by Mr. and Mrs. H. E. Kinloch of Parnassus.
Today Citizens General Hospital has a capacity of 100
patients and the need of additional rooms is most urgent.
This need will have to be met in the near future in order to
carry on the work in an acceptable manner. Within the
hospital one finds every phase of hospital work being carried
out. This is further supplemented by the training school for
nurses. The hospital and training school respectively are
approved by the American College of Surgeons and the Department
 of Education of Pennsylvania.
Members of board of trustees are: president, M. H.
Mainwaring; vice-president, Frank Wolff; treasurer, F. E.
Pratt; F. R. Alter, W. A. Thomas, H. Burns Smith, Julius
Eiges, O. N. Shaffer, E. T. Conner, Wm. F. McCabe, T. R.
Moore, F. R. Elwood, J. R. Copeland, W. L. Hankey, Mrs.
D. A. Leslie and Mrs. Belle E. Kinloch. Officers of ladies’
auxiliary are: president, Mrs. Belle E. Kinloch; first vicepresident,
 Mrs. J. L. Otterman; second vice-president, Mrs.
R. S. Woodwood; secretary, Mrs. Fred King; treasurer, Mrs.
F.S. Moran. Administrative officers of hospital are: William
E. Barron, superintendent and secretary to board of trustees,
and Miss Eva P. Craig, directress of nurses.

COLUMBIA HOSPITAL
The Columbia Hospital is now in the 38th year of its usefulness.
 It is located at Penn avenue and West street, Wilkinsburg,
 and is an institution of the United Presbyterian
Church. It is the outgrowth of the Little Memorial Hospital,
which was at first intended for use of the Orphans’ Home
children, and was located on the North Side, Pittsburgh, then
the City of Allegheny. Dr. James Herron gave the deed of a
valuable piece of property, and later came a bequest of
$15,000 from a prominent business man whose sister was a
member of the board.
The beautiful and well-equipped Columbia Hospital was
11 on June 1, 1906, but it soon became necessary 1» build
        <pb n="24" />
        additional rooms and a dormitory for nurses. The capacity
at present is 196 beds, and a new addition is being built, to
cost $100,000, and providing 11 more rooms for patients.
Free patients admitted in the year ending October 1, 1926,
numbered 743, requiring 11,145 days’ treatment. The approximate
 money value of this gratuitous treatment was $29,931.-80.
 The number of missionaries cared for was 22, receiving
447 days’ treatment at a cost of $2,926.40. The Out Patient
Department rendered valuable service to meny who were able
to pay a small fee and to those unable to pay anything. During
 the winter Sabbath services were conducted whenever the
condition of the patients permitted. Columbia’s School for
Nursing is on the accredited list of the State of Pennsylvania.
The Columbia Hospital Auxiliary does valuable work in
connection with the children’s ward, providing Christmas
trees, Easter baskets, and other means of alleviating affliction,
 and from time to time, girls of the auxiliary give the use
of their motor cars to the social service workers.
Mrs. A. M. Scott is president; Miss Emma Mabon and
Mrs. W. A. Krebs are vice presidents; Mrs. R. M. Douglas is
recording secretary; Mrs. Ira Gribben is corresponding secretary
 ; Mrs. S. A. Taylor is donation secretary, and Miss Mary
L. McCance is financial secretary.

THE DIXMONT HOSPITAL

The first meeting with a view to the formation of a board
of managers for the creation of a hospital, afterwards known
as the Western Pennsylvania Hospital, was held in the Odeon
Theatre building, Pittsburgh, by a group of representative
citizens of Pittsburgh and vicinity, in 1847, and on March 18,
1848, the legislature passed an act incorporating the Western
Pennsylvania Hospital. There was a provision in the act that
upon the payment of $100, life membership of the institution
could be obtained. Nearly $20,000 was raised at this meeting,
 and within two years two hundred and fourteen citizens
had availed themselves of this privilege.
In 1848, at the time of the incorporation of the hospital, a
iract of ground, containing twenty-four acres in the twelfth
ward, City of Pittsburgh, was donated by Harmar Denny and
        <pb n="25" />
        E. W. H. Schenley, and their wives, for the purpose of the institution,
 and plans for the erection of this building were laid
before the board during the year 1850,
The first annual meeting of the board of managers under
the charter was held in the rooms of the Board of Trade April
18, 1848. The act of incorporation was submitted to the legislature
 by the managers, and approved by the Governor.
Francis R. Shunk, March 18, 1848.
A building was erected and opened for patients in Jannary,
 1853, divided into medical and surgical wards, the first
president being Thomas Bakewell, who served until 1856,
when John Harper became his successor.
The legislature in 1855 appropriated $10,000 with the
understanding that insane patients should be admitted and
receive treatment of a district comprising twenty-one counties
 in Western Pennsylvania. The legislature on March 18,
L856, appropriated $20,000 to construct buildings to accommodate
 the insane, but a proviso in the act prevented the expenditure
 of the appropriation for a site. Miss Dorothy Lynde
Dix, who was then at the height of her fame as a humanitarian,
 was solicited to come to Pittsburgh to give her advice
for a suitable location.
During the year 1854, 52 insane patients had been under
treatment. The board now became satisfied that cases of insanity
 could not be treated successfully in a hospital open for
the admission of other patients, therefore, a tract of land was
purchased confronting the Monongahela River, comprising
the property now occupied by the Carnegie Steel Works,
known then as the Edgar Thompson Steel Works. After the
purchase of this property it was thought inaccessible, so far
removed from Pittsburgh, that the land was sold and another
tract was purchased confronting the Ohio river at a point
eight miles west of Pittsburgh, now known as the Dixmont
station. Later on three adjoining tracts of land were bought
and the tracts united consisted of three hundred and fiftyfive
 acres. In honor of Miss Dix the place was named Dixmont,
 which name has been adopted for the railroad station
at this point. Miss Dix later on made her home at the institution,
 living there for a period of thirteen years.
The work for the erection of the new building for the care
        <pb n="26" />
        of the insane was started May 1, 1860, and on July 19, the
cornerstone of the new building was laid when appropriate
ceremonies in the presence of a large concourse of friends of
the institution from various parts of the State were held.
The new department for the insane was erected and opened
 for the reception of patients November 11, 1862, and one
hundred and thirteen patients were transferred to it from the
Western Pennsylvania Hospital in the Twelfth ward of the
City of Pittsburgh.
Since the opening of the institution for the insane up to
June 1, 1926, 15,287 patients have been admitted. Of this
number 3,558 have been restored, 4,515 improved, 1,387 unimproved
 and 4,736 died. The normal capacity of the hospital
 at the present time is 675 patients. Just now it is housing
within its doors 1088 patients.
In 1907 the Department for the Insane was granted a
separate charter, and was afterward known as the Dixmont
Hospital for the Insane. In 1921 the managers petitioned the
Court of Common Pleas for a decree whereby the words “for
the insane’ could be removed from the corporation of the
institution. This petition was granted by the court May,
1921, the name of the hospital being changed to “The Dixmont
 Hospital.”
The hospital is governed by a board of directors. The
actual management is vested in an Executive Committee
chosen by the Directors. The annual meeting of the corporation
 is held in December, at which time the directors appoint
all officers for the ensuing year. The executive committee
meets every month at the office of the hospital, and upon the
call of the secretary special meetings are held in Pittsburgh.
The main building stands upon a tract of ground commanding
 a beautiful view of the surrounding country for
miles, and at an elevation of 180 feet above the Ohio River.
The building is of the old-style Kirkbride plan, brick with
stone trimmings, three stories in height, with four cross
wards four stories in height, the wings extending out from the
central or administrative building on either side. The
building is 750 feet front and is old-fashioned in construction.
The corridors are 12 feet wide with bed rooms for patients
opening into them. The building is practically fireproof.
        <pb n="27" />
        The railroad runs along the base of the hill, also, the Lincoln
Highway leading from Pittsburgh.
In the rear of the building is a large two-story brick utility
building. It is fireproof in construction, and contains the
general kitchen, dining rooms, dining rooms for employees,
refrigeration ice-making plant, cooling rooms, bakery, storeroom,
 etc., In it is located the hydrotherapy department.
In addition there are separate buildings for the care of the
tubercular patients, beautifully located upon the hill-side
above the main building.
A large brick building known as the Annex building, three
stories high, with general dining room in basement, accommodates
 125 patients. It is beautiful in design, having large
roomy porches that are enjoyed by the patients during the
pleasant weather. The nurses’ home is brick and very ecomplete
 and attractive and well furnished. In addition to these
buildings there are three cottages for the housing of the quiet
patients.
All the out buildings of the hospital are complete and well
equipped for the purpose for which they are designed, and in
providing an efficient and capable management in their respeclive
 departments. All buildings are furnished with an abundant
 water supply for all purposes from the power plant, also.
alectric light, steam heat, ete.
The farm while hilly in character, had been brought to a
wonderful state of productiveness, providing an abundance of
vegetables, berries and the more staple erops, and the very
well cared for orchards provide an abundance of fruit. The
farm is well equipped with the latest and best farm machinery.
The farm buildings are in good order. The orchards, farm
lands, and well kept roads on the property show the care bestowed
 upon them, and the farm has been visited from time to
time by representatives of the State Department of Agri--ulture.

The greenhouse furnishes cut flowers and plants for the
wards, as well as the beautiful flowers that adorn the lawns
surrounding the institution. There is also a well established
aursery.
From the beginning of the hospital every effort has been
mea '&amp;lt; the managers and officers te mromote the highest in-
        <pb n="28" />
        terests of the institution, in affording every possible means
known to medical science for the comfort and relief of those
entrusted to its care. It is gratifying to note the interest so
manifest in the managers, a number of the managers of the
present day being the grand-children of the founders. The
hospital was one of the first in the country to introduce a
training school for nurses. The service this single department
has rendered not only to the mentally ill, but to all classes of
suffering, is recognized throughout the State; the graduates
from the school occupying many positions of trust and responsibility
 in not only Pennsylvania, but in other States, and
during the World War many of its graduates were in the service
 in this country, as well as in the hospital at the front and
in the larger cities in the countries involved.
The medical service is aided by a well equipped laboratory.
 During the history of the hospital it has had but nine
presidents; Thomas Bakewell, John Harper, John A.Harper,
Robert Pitcairn, William M. Kennedy, Charles C. Townsend,
R. B. Mellon, James H. Reed and David A. Reed, the position
 being occupied at the present time by the Honorable
David A. Reed, a grandson of the former Superintendent
Joseph A. Reed, and a son of the former President James H.
Reed.
The hospital has had but two superintendents. Dr. Joseph
Allison Reed having been chosen to that position in 1857, and
who continued office until his death November 6, 1884, and
the present incumbent. Dr. Henrv A. Hutchinson.

THE EYE AND EAR HOSPITAL

On May 20, 1895, the Eye and Ear Hospital came into
existence, and its first home was 945 Penn avenue. A little
blind girl who came to the attention of one of the women
founders was the generating spark which led to the busy
organization of the present day.
The following persons met and signed the application for
the charter and became the first board: Mrs. C. C. Beggs,
Mrs. H. C. Beggs, Mrs. Francis Childs, Mrs. A. P. Childs, Jr.,
Mrs. M. L. Dallneyer, Mrs. F. A. Dilworth, Mrs. J. Duncan
Dithridge, Mrs. William Flinn, Mrs. John B. Herron, Jr.,
        <pb n="29" />
        Miss Mary E. McCandless, Miss S. H. Killikelly, Mrs. Emmet
Queen, Mrs. W. H. Rowe, Mrs. M.. Trump, Mrs. S. D. Warmcastle,
 Mrs. C. A. Wishart, Miss Mary Webb, Dr. C. A.
Wishart and Dr. Joseph E. Willetts.
During its first year 497 patients received treatment and
111 operations were performed. There were 1749 consultations.
 Dr. James H. Lippincott was the first chief of staff
and Dr. C. A. Wishart was the first president of the board of
managers. In 1905 the hospital moved to its new building
at 1945 Fifth Avenue, and need for expanding facilities made
an addition to the structure necessary three years later. Its
present capacity is 55 beds, but urgent need for improved
facilities has made it wise for the hospital to become a part
of Pittsburgh’s Medical Center, on the University site, in
Oakland. The first state aid was received in 1896 and
amounted to $3000. In the last fiscal year, ending May 81,
1927, 2607 patients were cared for, 2411 operations were
performed, and the dispensary and emergency departments
treated 26,460 patients. In its new location it will have
approximately double its present capacity and will be closely
related to other hospitals of the group and to the University
Medical School and laboratories.
The following is the board of managers: President, Mrs.
Wm. M. McKelvy; vice-president, Mrs. Wm. Scott; vicepresident,
 Mrs. Howard B. McClintic; vice-president, Mrs.
Howard B. Scull; treasurer, John E. Crawford; endowment
treasurer, J. Farley Walton; secretary, Mrs. Thomas R.
Robinson; Mrs. Chas. Arbuthnot, Jr., Mrs. William W.
Blair, Miss Elizabeth Childs, Mrs. J. G. Beal, Mrs. J. H.
Creighton, Mrs. Chas. Dahlinger, Mrs. F. Albert Dilworth,
Mrs. G. G. Henderson, Mrs. R. R. Huggins, Mrs. Robert J.
McKay, Mrs. John Murtland, Mrs. Gail Nutty, Mrs. E. N.
Ohl, Miss Anne H. Robinson, Mrs. Wm. B. Rodgers, Mrs.
Geo. W. Reed, Mrs. Wallace H. Rowe, Mrs. John McC.
Wilson, Mrs. J. F. Walton, Jr., Dr. Ewing W. Day, Dr. W.
W. Blair.
Advisory committee—Joseph Horne, Wm. H. Robinson.
Honorary Member, Mrs. Harvey M. VanVoorhis; University
dispensary auxiliary, Mrs. Wilmer M. Jacoby; superintendent,
 Miss Adelaide B. Cushing, R. N.; superintendent of
dispensary, Miss Gladys W. Johnson.
        <pb n="30" />
        Hospital Staff—Chief of Staff, Dr. E. W. Day. Ear, Nose
and Throat—Dr. Ewing E. Day, Dr. J. Homer McCready,
Dr. John R. Simpson, Dr. Ellen J. Patterson. Dr. A. A.
MacLachen, Dr. K. M. Day.
Eye—Dr. W. W. Blair, Dr. W. E. Carson, Dr. Stanley
Smith, Dr. C. E. Curry, Dr. S. L. Koch, Dr. J. C. Markel,
Dr. C. W. Jennings. Medical consultants—Dr. James P.
McKelvy, Dr. Lawrence Litchfield, Dr. J. I. Johnston, Dr.
Nelson Clark; Children—Dr. James K. Everhart; Surgery—
Dr. E. W. Meredith; Gynecologist—Dr. E. R. Huggins;
Pathologist—Dr. E. W. Willetts; Roentgenologist—Dr. G.
W. Grier; Genito-Urinary—Dr. George Holliday; Neurologist—Dr.
 George Wright; Dermatologist—Dr. W. H. Guy:
Anaesthetists—Miss Mary Ellen Jarvis, R. N., Miss J. F.
Davidson: Dentist—Dr. R. Roderic Byron.
Assistant Staff—Ear, Nose and Throat—Dr. J. M.
Conway, Dr. G. C. Todd, Dr. F. V. Lichtenfels, Dr. N. A.
Fischer, Dr. T. B. McCollough; Eye—Dr. J. G. Linn, Dr.
C. L. Reed, Dr. J. S. Plumer; Post Graduate—Dr. G. D.
Conwell. Dr. Henrv Kitlowski, Dr. Wm. G. Waddell.
HOMESTEAD HOSPITAL

The Homestead Hospital of Homestead, Pennsylvania,
was incorporated as a general hospital in December, 1903, at
the request of twenty subscribers, composed of the most
prominent women of the community, who, with the welfare
of the district at heart, realized that one of the most valuable
assets to any group of people banded together as a borough,
is a hospital. The first board of directors was composed of
fifteen women.
The property selected as the hospital site was located at
the southeast corner of Hays street and Ninth avenue, then
a private residence. This residence was remodelled and additions
 built, and very soon the Homestead Hospital of
Homestead was functioning. Until 1924. the hospital bad a
capacity of thirty-five beds.
Since the growth of a community and its surrounding
territorv requires growth in the housing problems. so must
        <pb n="31" />
        this growth be taken care of, so far as the hospital capacity is
concerned. With this need in view, a committee of citizens
began a campaign for funds with which to build and equip a
new hospital, and in 1924 this dream was fully realized,
when on the 28th of February, patients were carefully transferred
 to their new beds in the new building.
The new edifice was made possible by the generous
response of the citizens of the district, as well as the companies
 and corporations. The hospital is now located at
1,800 West street, Homestead, and has a total capacity of
150 beds. The location is ideal, since it overlooks the surrounding
 countryside, and is far enough from the business
districts to insure as much quiet as is humanly possible.
There are no high buildings, or even private residences, close
at hand, so that the patients may have the benefit of all the
fresh air possible. ‘
The people of the community also deserve much credit,
as the rooms, wards, solariums, etc., were furnished by private
 families and organizations and their names appear on
beautiful bronze plates on the doors. The furnishings were
selected by the hospital committees and the price submitted
the donors. The X-Ray room and its full equipment was the
gift of Lawrence C. Phipps, and is considered one of the
most complete, for hospitals of this capacity, in Western
Pennsylvania.
Since the occupancy of the new building, the need of a
fully equipped laboratory was felt, and in 1927 the Fred E.
Mesta Memorial Laboratory was erected on the third floor
of the left wing. This laboratory is complete in every detail
and is one of the most valuable assets now in possession of this
hospital. Mr. Mesta was a member of the board of directors
and the gift is from his widow, Mrs. Cora Mesta.
The Homestead Hospital Training School for Nurses was
begun in 1909 and the first graduating class, composed of one
student, was graduated in 1912. This year, 1928, eight were
graduated. This training school is accredited in the State of
Pennsylvania and its graduates are eligible for State examination
 to qualify as registered nurses. The course is for three
years and the requirements are one year high school credit—
more preferable. In the fiscal year ending May 381, 1928,
        <pb n="32" />
        there were twenty-five student nurses in training and eleven
graduate nurses employed in the hospital.
Our greatest need is a nurses’ home. At present the nurses
asccupy one wing of the hospital, so that our total bed capacity
is reduced until another building is furnished. The following
statistics for the fiscal year ending May 31, 1928, are given:
Number of full pay in-patients treated, 1199; number of
part pay in-patients treated, 72; number of free in-patients
treated, 498; total number of in-patients treated, 1769;
number of full pay in-patient days, 10,715: number of part
pay patient days, 1,556; number of free patient days, 7,082;
total number of patient days, 19,353.
The names of the present board of directors are as follows:
 R. H. Watson, president; C. F. Botsford, secretarytreasurer;
 Hugh O’Donnell, Hugh Nevin, John Bell, Mrs.
Virginia Schuchman, Mrs. Nettie LaCossitt, Mrs. F. B.
Sheaffer, John Forbes, Morris Half, Thomas Ingram, Harry
Wahr, T. J. Jamison, John McConegly, James C. Kuhn.

INDUSTRIAL HOME FOR CRIPPLED CHILDREN

The Industrial Home for Crippled Children was founded
by Mrs. Frederick O. Houghton, nee Mary Irwin Laughlin,
who desired to ameliorate the condition of crippled children.
Mrs. Houghton’s contribution was a memorial to her father
and mother, Mr. and Mrs. Irwin B. Laughlin, and to her
aunt, Miss Annie M. Bissell. In November, 1902, the Home
was founded as the Memorial Home for Crippled Children,
with Mrs. William Thaw as its first president. In addition
to establishing an endowment fund, Mrs. Houghton gave a
piece of land on Denniston avenue on which to build a home.
The board of managers, March 31, 1905, voted unanimously
 to continue the work in the name of the Industrial
Home for Crippled Children. The charter, granted January
20, 1906, states that the Industrial Home for Crippled Children
 was founded for the purpose of maintaining a home for
the care and education of crippled children. In a broader
sense this means to provide the best medical, surgical, and
physical care; to give the children an all-round education; to
prepare them for a vocation; and to help them find suitable
        <pb n="33" />
        positions when they leave the home. The home is nonsectarian.
 To be admitted a child must be a resident of Pennsylvania,
 a cripple who will improve physically and orthopedically,
 and one who can be educated and trained to be selfsupporting.

The desire to understand the problems of physically
handicapped children and to recognize the responsibility to
them, has brought about a full program, which includes
physical, educational, and spiritual training. In natural
situations and in an atmosphere of intelligent love, the selfpity
 maintained by some of the children has changed to
ambition, and the exaggerated attitute toward their physical
Jefects has lessened. The children have hope for a life of
usefulness, which helps them to gain a sense of self-respect
and to be resourceful. Their recreation hours are filled with
wholesome organized play, and with an abundance of music,
which stimulates physical and mental action, and gives a
feeling of contentment and joy.
Dr. James O. Wallace, the orthopedic surgeon in charge,
gives generously of his time to the care of the children, and
performs orthopedic operations in the Children’s Hospital
and the Mercy Hospital. The children return to the home
for convalescent care. Daily treatments are carried on under
the direction of an orthopedic nurse and a trained physiotherapist.
 A staff of physicans is responsible for the
physical welfare of the children. The dental clinic is under
the direction of Dr. W. E. Friesell, of the University of
Pittsburgh.
A brace shop is a valuable asset to the home, as it provides
children’s braces and the means for immediate and careful
adjustment of them. It is partially maintained by the sale of
hraces made for patients of several orthopedic surgeons.
The grade school of the home is part of the City School
system, and is a training center with three student teachers
under the direction of Miss Margaret A. Frew, principal,
and Miss Anna K. Shirley, supervising teacher. Children
confined in the infirmary are given bedside instruction.
Vocational training in printing is given. The I. H. C. C.
School News, which is edited and published monthly by the
children, is entering upon its sixth year. Musical therapy is
        <pb n="34" />
        one of the educational influences which directs the emotional
energy of the children. Children are given individual instruction
 in piano and violin, and group instruction in other
instruments and in voice. There is a school orchestra made
up of older children, and a toy-symphony orchestra, in which
even the smallest children are taught to play rhythmic
instruments. The children’s Annual Christmas Cantata has
seen given in Carnegie Music Hall since 1924.
Vocational guidance is aiding each child to find his
particular niche. Among the alumni are teachers, stenographers,
 bookkeepers, salesmen, printers, seamstresses, and
elevator operators.
Gifts and bequests from interested friends, and an appropriation
 from the state are received. In addition small
amounts for board are accepted from parents, counties, and
welfare organizations.
Miss Frances E. Shirley is superintendent of the home.
The officers of the board of managers are: Mrs. Samuel
A. McClung, president; Mrs. John W. Lawrence, first vicepresident;
 Mrs. William L. Mellon, second vice-president;
Mrs. James B. Laughlin, third vice-president; Mrs. Wallace
Rowe, fourth vice-president; Mrs. W. Terrill Johnson,
treasurer; Mrs. James Magee, assistant treasurer; Mrs.
James C. Rea, recording secretary; Mrs. Donald C. Hamilton
orresponding secretary.

ELIZABETH STEEL MAGEE HOSPITAL

The Elizabeth Steel Magee Hospital was founded by the
late Hon. Christopher Lyman Magee, of Pittsburgh, who in
his will, left his entire estate, including his homestead of ten
acres, located in the residential section of the city in the Oakand
 district, for the building, equipment, and endowment of
a hospital to be erected in memory of his mother. The administration
 of Mr. Magee’s estate was intrusted by his will
to a board of thirteen trustees. His surviving widow was
left the income of his estate during her life. On the homestead
 was located a large, frame dwelling, and this residence
was altered and equipped as a temporary hospital, and was
opened January 19, 1911, for the reception of patients. Im-
        <pb n="35" />
        Elizabeth Steel Magee Hospital
        <pb n="36" />
        mediate preparation was begun for a permanent building, and
ground was broken for it January 12, 1914. The hospital has
accommodations for 140 adult patients and 80 babies. The
accommodations include both private and ward service.
Mr. Magee did not specify the exact nature of the hospital
which he wished to be built. The original intention was to
build a general hospital. Investigation, however, revealed
the fact that the need of a general hospital was not apparent,
and inasmuch as a clause in the will distinctly specified that
there be admitted to the hospital “all females who applied for
admission thereto for lying-in purposes,” it was decided, on
this basis, which was the only definite provision of the will, to
build a hospital exclusively for women. The hospital was
completed and patients were admitted into it October, 1918.
The hospital cares for obstetric and gynecologic cases, and is
a teaching and research institution as well, being connected
with the Medical School of the University of Pittsburgh.
For a period of time during the war, the hospital was
given over to the Government for the care of the soldiers. In
January, 1921, it was reverted to its original status, and has
from that time cared for women and children. For the past
two years the need of larger accommodations has been felt,
and the board of trustees decided to add another wing to the
hospital which will afford more ward beds and small rooms
for the accommodation of persons of moderate means. The
need for this sort of accommodation is growing daily. The
new wing is progressing rapidly, and it is hoped that by April
t may be completed and ready for occupancy.
Board of Trustees, Hon. Robert S. Frazer, president;
James M. Magee, secretary; Malcolm McGiffin; George Me-Candless;
 Lewis M. Plumer; Col. O. S. Hershman; Roy A.
Hunt, William D. Evans, Rt. Rev. Hugh C. Boyle, Rt. Rev.
Alexander Mann, John A. Bell, William MecConway, Jr.
Alexander Mann, John A. Bell, William McConway, Jr., and
Robert W. Flenniken. Superintendent. Miss Jessie *J
Turnbull.
Staff Members are as follows: Active Staff: Dr. R. R. Huggins,
 Medical Director, gynecology; Dr. B. Z. Cashman, gynecology;
 Dr. 8S. A. Chalfant, gynecology; Dr. H. A. Miller,
obstetrics; Dr. C. J. Barone. obstetrics: Dr. W. S. McElroy.
        <pb n="37" />
        chemistry; Dr. Davenport Hooker, anatomy; Dr. G. R. Lacy,
pathology and bacteriology; Dr. C. C. Guthrie, physiology;
Dr. M. Cohen, pathology; Dr. G. W. Grier, roentgenology.
Consulting Staff, Dr. H. T. Price, department of pediatries;
 Dr. J. D. Heard, medicine; Dr. E. W. Meredith, surgery;
 Dr. David Silver, orthopedics; Dr. W. W. Blair, eye;
Dr. E. W. Day, nose and throat; Dr. T. M. T. McXKennan,
neurology; Dr. C. H. Henninger, phychiatry; Dr. W. H.
Guy. dermatology, and Dr. W. P. Walker, dentist.

McKEESPORT HOSPITAL

At a meeting of the McKeesport Chamber of Commerce,
the question of a hospital for the city and vicinity was
raised, and a committee was appointed to raise the necessary
money for the building and equipment. The hospital was
organized and opened on April 8, 1894. It was chartered by
the Court of Allegheny County for charitable and educational
purposes, and not for profit.
Since the opening date, the hospital has continued as a
general hospital and training school for nurses. New additions
have been added, and at the present time can accommodate
two hundred patients in private and ward service. Soon we
shall have ready for occupancy a new maternity home, with a
forty bed capacity, and which is modern and first class in
avery respect.
The hospital is ranked as “A” Class by the State Board
of Medical Education and Licensure. It carries the “first”
rating by the College of Physicans and Surgeons, and&amp;lt;the
training school also comes under the “A’” Class rating. It
has an able staff, is well equipped. and recognized as a first
slass institution.
The hospital is managed and operated by a board of
trustees who are elected each year by the contributors. The
aames of the trustees are as follows: Dr. J. W. Fawcett,
president; H. R. Stuckslager, secretary and treasurer; R. C.
Painter, vice president; F.T. Nason, R. M. Baldridge, C. R.
Shaw, J. P, Nill, J. J. Boax, W. A. Cornelius, J.D. Cowan, J.
3. Mack, J. F. Woodward, E. W. Pitts, E. R. Crawford.
5. M. Coover.
        <pb n="38" />
        MERCY HOSPITAL

Viewing the Mercy Hospital as it stands on Pride and
Stevenson streets, a beacon of light, as it were, to the sick and
suffering, it is difficult to picture it as ever being located in a
rural district, in the midst of fields and trees. Yet, this was a
reality, when in 1847 this noble work was begun by the
Sisters of Mercy. The labor was begun in temporary quarters,
 for the sisters, realizing the need of a hospital in the city
felt that they could not wait for the new building which was
being erected. Scarcely were they established in 1848 in
their present site, when an epidemic of typhus broke out in
the city. Many of the victims were cared for by the sisters,
and we have statements showing that eight of the sisters succumbed
 to the disease.
The original Mercy Hospital building, which was opened
in 1848 involved a cost of $15,000. It rose three stories and
had a capacity of sixty patients.
In 1849, smallpox became prevalent in the city. It seemed
 providential that this institution should have been founded
 just in time to meet the needs of the people. Once more
the sisters were called upon to give relief, and as before, they
were not found wanting. At this time, Pittsburgh had no
municipal hospital, but the sisters met the situation and
handled it with admirable dexterity.
When in 1854, cholera visited the city, they had profited
by their former experience and were prepared. For weeks the
sisters toiled for the sufferers taking rest only when nature demanded
 it. Only one male attendant remained to bury the
dead, the rest having fled, panic stricken. At this period, it
is true that advances were being made by science, but to no
effect, for in 1872 came another epidemic of smallpox.
During the Civil War, the sisters took charge of the work
in the West Penn as well as in the Mercy. A detachment of
sisters from Pittsburgh also took charge of Stanton Military
Hospital, Washington, D. C., from 1862-65. Sister Madeleine
 is the sole surviving member of that group.
In 1882 with the assistance of many generous friends,
plans were made for enlarging the Mercy Hospital. It increased
 its capacity to 150, having added 4 general wards, 15
        <pb n="39" />
        Locust and Stevenson Streets View of the Mercy Hospital

South East Wing. Mercy Hospital
        <pb n="40" />
        private rooms, a mortuary chapel room and other improvements.
 Demands became greater as the years went on, and
in 1900 the annex was erected, bringing the bed capacity to
300. In 1901 a new story was built and in 1902 plans were
made for the erection of the large Pride street annex, which
was ready for occupancy in 1918. It is 9 stories high, 260
feet long and 60 feet wide. Six operating rooms and one
emergency room connect with the X-ray plant.
Let us consider the capacity of the Hospital today. The
present bed capacity is 625. From June 1, 1926, to May 381,
1927, 10,680 patients were admitted and cared for and of
these 2,350 were treated free and 5,126 were treated for part
pay. During the same time 5,622 operations were performed
and 382 births and 501 deaths, were recorded.
The latest addition to Mercy Hospital is the completion of
the new School of Nursing at a cost of $1,100,000. This
school is the most modern of its class. It is nine stories in
height, and containing well equipped class rooms, laboratories,
a splendid auditorium and gymnasium, as well as sleeping
apartments and recreation room for the nurses.
Having traced the history of the Mercy Hospital in a
brief yet comprehensive way, we shall leave it to continue its
work of charity and love. It stands today a tribute to kindly
hearts and when it outgrows its present quarters, as even
tually it will. a future generation will carrv on its activities.

THE MONTEFIORE HOSPITAL

The Montefiore Hospital came about through the inspired
efforts of a small group of interested high-minded public
spirited women of the Ladies’ Hospital Aid Society. As early
as 1898, the project was under discussion. Finally, on June
16, 1908, the Montefiore Hospital and Training School for
Nurses was established at 3000 Center Avenue, according ta
the laws of the State of Pennsylvania.
Beginning with the structure in which only forty-five patients
 could be cared for, its capacity was increased to the
present number, namely, sixty-five. Within the walls of this
little hospital, an enduring task has been accomplished in the
care of sick and suffering humanity.
        <pb n="41" />
        Several years ago the present structure and its general setap
 had proven to be inadequate to meet the needs of the community
 served. In 1924 a campaign to raise money to build
a new institution was launched and carried out with marked
success.
A new hospital is now in process of construction in a block
bounded by Fifth avenue, Darragh and Chesterfield streets.
This construction is being carried on under the direction of
Schmidt, Garden &amp;amp; Erikson, the well known architectural
firm of Chicago, with Dr. S. S. Goldwater, director of Mt.
Sinai Hospital, New York City, as hospital consultant.
The plan calls for a hospital of some two hundred bed patient
 capacity. Its construction will be of the most modern
;ype including all such service facilities as laundry, powerolant,
 etc., Teaching units for the training school of nurses
will be developed. The clinical laboratories, including the
X-ray department, pathological and bacteriological laboratory,
 a department for the study of diseases in metabolism,
will all be available. A division devoted exclusively to the
study of diseases of the heart and blood vessels is planned.
The architects’ completed ideal is shown below.
There will be a large out patient department and social
service group which will face the Fifth avenue side of the
hospital. It is anticipated that the New Montefiore Hospital
will be open for the reception of patients during the summer
of 1928.
The hospital has been standardized under the plan formlated
 by the American College of Surgeons. It is recognized
and accredited by the American Medical Association and the
American Hospital Association. It is open for interneships
on the basis of regulations laid down by the State Board of
Medical Education and Licensure. The training school for
nurses is conducted according to the requirements of the
State Board of Nurse Examiners.
The officers of the Montefiore Hospital Association of
Western Pennsylvania are as follows: President, A. C. Lehman;
 vice president, Benjamin L. Hirshfield; vice president,
J. H. Frank; vice president, Charles Dreifus; secretary,
Charles H. Sachs; treasurer, Aaron Cohen; superintendent,
C. H. Pelton, M. D.
        <pb n="42" />
        OHIO VALLEY GENERAL HOSPITAL

The Ohio Valley General Hospital was orginally called
the McKees Rocks General Hospital, having been opened in
the autum of 1900. The site was purchased in that year by
Dr. S. M. Black, because of its healthful location and central
position for the town and its important industries. Later it
was decided to incorporate the company, because the operation
 of the hospital was unsuccessful financially, and the
stock was sold to local residents. This plan was carried out
in 1908, and since that time the directors have spent much
money in supplying the hospital with the many modern equipments
 which have become a necessity.
The hospital is located at Park Way, Norwood, McKees
Rocks. The number of patients admitted in 1926 was 916;
free hospital days, 4,525; pay hospital days, 4,680; part pay
hospital days, 1,578; dispensary cases, 84; eye clinic, 563 patients,
 594 treatments; general clinic 1,348 patients, 2,298
treatments.
Frank J. Lanahan is president; Joseph B. Reed, vice
president; David E. Shannon, secretary, and Joseph M. Hall,
treasurer. Directors are Mrs. Miles Bryan, Mrs. J. J. Shannon,
 Mrs. Margaret C. Schiller, Mrs. George J. Geisler, Mrs.
John H. Humes, Frank S. Black, C. W. Wrenshall, W. F.
Brunner, V. B. Edwards, Samuel Werlinich, Louis Young,
John A. Berner, William N. Herbst, Peter Blaskovich.
Laura M. Snyder, R. N., is superintendent. The out-patient
department is in charge of Miss Carolyn Robelen, supervisor.
Through the efforts of the Tuberculosis League, a committee
of McKees Rocks and Stowe township women, a dental clinic
is maintained. free to the school children of the community.

PASSAVANT HOSPITAL

Passavant Hospital, on Reed and Roberts street, near
Center avenue, Pittsburgh, was first known as the Pittsburgh
Infirmary. Its founder was the celebrated philanthropist,
Rev. W. A. Passavant, D. D., pastor of the First Lutheran
Church. The original location of the infirmary was in
        <pb n="43" />
        Allegheny at the foot of Montgomery’s Hill. A rented house
in the spring of 1848 was selected for the purpose of caring for
the sick and needy but no patients were admitted until the
spring of 1849.
When the city of Pittsburgh was celebrating the return of
the soldiers from the Mexican War, Dr. Passavant found
three soldiers sick with fever neglected in the boats at the
dock. With the aid of a theological student, Asa Waters, he
-ransferred them to the vacant infirmary, where, in the absence
 of nurses, the doctor himself with Mr. Waters nursed
them back to health.
In the summer of that year cholera suddenly made its
appearance at different points on the river; a number of these
patients were admitted to the infirmary. This caused so
great a panic that the neighbors threatened to stone the
building and Dr. Passavant was obliged to load his patients
into a wagon and seek a safe refuge for them before night.
He sought guidance in prayer and God led him across the
sity to Lacyville, where he found room for his wagon load of
patients in Dr. Lacy’s Female Seminary, which was empty at
that time. Dr. Passavant bought this building together with
a garden, for $5,500, and after four deaconesses arrived from
Germany to carry on the work, the Pittsburgh Infirmary was
Jedicated on July 17, 1849, to be a refuge for the worthy sick
of every religion, color or race.
In 1850 the field adjoining the infirmary, containing upwards
 of four acres, was purchased for the sum of $12,000.
Of this that portion bordering on Dinwiddie street was divided
 into 28 lots and sold for $500 a lot to pay for the property.
A pew infirmary building, 60x40 feet and four stories high,
was erected in 1851 on the newly purchased land. The ac-~omodations
 it afforded were for forty patients, besides room
for the sisters, of which there were five. Sister Louisa Marthens
 of Pittsburgh was the first American deaconess to enter.
This new building cost $8,000 and is still used as a part of the
hospital. The number of patients admitted in 1852 was 272.
Expenditures for the entire year were $2,432.35. The most
interesting years were 1853 and 1854—when admissions for
the two years amounted to 536—of those 38 were typhoid; 21
        <pb n="44" />
        smallpox and 64 cholera patients. We find that of the cholera
patients, 36 recovered.
The years following the Civil War were specially trying.
For a time during this period the infirmary was used by the
Government as a marine hospital for the men stationed at
this port—but during the year between 1887 and 1892 the infirmary
 was closed.
In the year 1892, four thousand dollars was spent in thoroughly
 cleaning and reconstructing the building so that it was
again ready for admission of patients in 1893. Sister Katherine
 Foerster took charge of the infirmary at this time, and
won many friends for herself and the institution by her cheerful
 loving service. There were not many patients admitted
the first years after the reopening—as physicians wanted
more modern equipment and buildings, the old being inadequate.
 Accordingly plans were begun for a new addition,
but the death of Dr. Passavant in 1894 hindered the completion
 of these plans for a time. Rev. Wm. A. Passavant, Jr.,
his successor, at once began a campaign for making the
fiftieth anniversary of the deaconess’s work in America.
In 1899 an addition, costing $54,000, was added to the old
infirmary, which is the middle section of the present hospital
building, and the name was changed from Pittsburgh Infirmary
 to Passavant Hospital as a memorial to its founder.
The bed capacity was now 80. We note that admissions for
the first year were 285 and the expenditures $5,980.84.
In1902a laundry building was erected and also a nurses’
training school established; 1904 saw the sisters’ house and
nurses’ home erected, also power plant installed. In 1908 a
new laundry with servants’ dormitory was erected. The old
building was remodeled for laboratory and men’s dormitory.
[n 1914 the hospital was again too small, and a campaign was
launched in 1916 for funds for another addition. This was
erected in 1917, cost $190,000, and increased the bed capacity
 to 158 beds. Since the establishment of the training
school 211 nurses have graduated. Eighty-six doctors have
served as internes.
A fair estimate of the present work of the hospital can be
obtained from the statistics of one year: Number of patients
cared for, 3,831; nursing days, 48,233; pay nursing days, 28,-
        <pb n="45" />
        568; part pay nursing days, 4,846; free nursing days 9,819;
dispensary visits, 12,552; emergency cases, 1,611.
The hospital and the training school are found on the
accredited list of those belonging to the state of Pennsylvania.
The board of directors are: L. H. Gethoefer, president;
William Steinmeyer, secretary; L. H. Kerr, Jas. W. Henry,
A. B. Sheets, M. Schreiber and J. B. Tonkin. F. R. Babcock,
president and chairman of the board of directors, died
December 8, 1927, and Mr. Gethoefer was elected president.
There are at present three Lutheran deaconesses from the
Milwaukee Deaconess Motherhouse stationed at the hospital,
but the service rendered is the same as at the time of its beginning,
 nonsectarian, a place of refuge for the sick and needy
regardless of creed, color or race.

THE PASTEUR INSTITUTE

The following brief history of the Pasteur Institute was
prepared by Dr. A. Leteve, director of the Pasteur Institute
 and French Consular Agent in Pittsburgh. Much has
been omitted, which, if included, would necessitate more extensive
 explanations, and thus call for the preparation of a
book or set of books, dealing with the Pasteur Institute
alone, which is known and recognized throughout the world.
When in 1884 it was announced to the world that a preventive
 treatment against rabies (hydrophobia) had been
obtained, astonishment and delight succeeded. For this
announcement was made by a man who proved that his
theories and practice were absolutely true and correct. The
theory of the oxidation by air had been beaten to pieces by
the scientists of the times and the fermentation theory was
recognized. As soon as we knew that rabies could be prevented
 by an attenuated virus (vaccine), the followers of
this man, with his authorization, went throughout the world
to apply his method to attenuate the sufferings of humanity
Many other methods have been established but none as
successful as his.
A Pasteur Institute is not only for the treatment of
rabies but for the preparations of vaccines and anti-toxins
against the disease infections of the human race. The human
        <pb n="46" />
        race has to fight against the diseases of the world. Pasteurians
 endeavor to take care of all infectious diseases and help
the man and his domestic animals to live. And to do this a
regular living material must be used in order to carry out
what the master has given—the principle of Louis Pasteur.
In 1889 Paul Gibier arrived in New York with Dr. A.
Leteve, ex-aide d’anatomie et ex-interne des Hopitaux de la
Faculte de Medicine de Lille, France, as director of laboratories,
 and started the Pasteur Institute of New York. Ten
years later Dr. A. Leteve came to Pittsburgh, and started,
with the help of the Sisters of Mercy, the Pasteur Institute at
the Magee Pathological Institute of the Mercy Hospital.
At this time the virus vaccine was received from Dr. Calmette,
 then director of the Pasteur Institute at Lille, France.
The Pasteur Institute being necessarily an independent
institution, a separation from the Mercy Hospital was made
in 1919. Since 1924 the office of the Pasteur Institute of
Pittsburgh, Pa., has been located in the Descalzi Building at
1004 Wylie Avenue, with Dr. A. Leteve, consular agent of
France and also the Director of the Pasteur Institute of
Pittsburgh, in charge, and Walter B. Willis. director of
laboratories.
The record of this Institute in Pittsburgh and its treatment
 of rabies is widely known, having a percentage that is
really enviable and astonishing in comparison with others
who treat these cases, in fact, a mortality of 14 of 19.
These few words are given in case of a supposed infection
of rabies:
(1) A person or persons bitten by a dog, no matter how
small the wound, should keep the animal under observation
{or 14 days, because the salvia of the animal is infectious six
days, at least, before it shows any sign.
(2) After two weeks if the dog or animal shows no sign
the person is safe, but it is to be recommended that the wound
be considered infectious and treated as such by a regular
ohysican.
Records of the Pasteur Institute have been preserved by
the Mercy Hospital, and a treatise of the subject is given by
Leasure K. Darbaker, Ph.G., Phar. D., head of the Department
 of Pharmacognosy and Bacteriology of the Pittsburgh
        <pb n="47" />
        College of Pharmacy, University of Pittsburgh, in his “A
Manual of Histological Pharmacognosy and Bacteriology.”

PITTSBURGH HOSPITAL

Thirty-three years ago on Stanton avenue, in East end,
Pittsburgh, a small dwelling house was equipped with ten
beds and called by the dignified name of a hospital. In the
prophetic visions of a devoted sisterhood there was seen in
the dim future a magnificent structure of brick or stone, of
which this humble house was the nucleus.
Immediately the seed began to grow and four months
after the opening in May, 1895, the “Hospital” was moved
to Collins avenue, and six beds were added for the sick and
afflicted.

January 14, 1898, a charter was obtained and the institution
 was then known as the Charity Hospital of Pittsburgh.
Later the name Pittsburgh Hospital was substituted, and
was maintained by voluntary contributions.
The names of the first chosen directors were: C. M.
Schwab, E. M. Bigelow, Titus Berger, W. H. Keech, Charles
D. Callery, Charles A. Fagan, E. J. Vilsack, J. D. Murdoch,
Hugh Murphy, Thomas McNeil and Aloysius Frauenheim.
After a short time on Collins avenue quarters became
inadequate and a new property was purchased. This was
the old Finley homestead, surrounded by seven acres of
beautiful ground, facing on Beechwood boulevard and Frankstown
 avenue. Here twenty patients were provided for, and
accommodations made for a larger number of nurses. But
prophetic vision did not fail, and the great hospital of the
dreams and hopes of the Sisters of Charity had not yet
taken material form. Ground was broken, and in December,
1904, a large modern hospital of fireproof construction was
erected. The old building was remodelled to serve asanurses’
home. The clinical laboratories were opened January 1,
1905, and in the same year a complete X-ray laboratory
was installed, not only for the benefit of the members of the
staff, but for many outside physicans as well, who brought
their patients for examination.
        <pb n="48" />
        Be in Le sii mi atti wig pine

Pittsburgh Hospital, Frankstown Ave. &amp;amp; Washington Blvd.
        <pb n="49" />
        The interior of the institution is light and airy, and
modern conveniences of every sort are provided. There are
perfectly equipped operating rooms with floors of marble and
cemented white tile, lighted by side and skylights. There is
a pharmacy provided over by a registered pharmacist,
while small emergency drug rooms on each floor are at the
the ready service of physicans and nurses. Apart from the
main hospital are the pathological and bacteriological research
 laboratories, for the scientific investigation of disease
Nrocesses.

However, with all these facilities for tending the “broken
members of humanity,” it was found necessary to provide
space, because the Pittsburgh Hospital admits within its
walls, without exception, the sick of all races and creeds. At
times the percentage of free or charity patients has reached
one-half of its activities.
In 1925 ground was again broken for the hospital annex.
This building is a handsome yellow brick structure, seven
stories high, matching in design the older building to which it
adjoins. On the top floor the obstetrical department was installed.
 On the floors below, seventy-four rooms were provided,
 being furnished by voluntary contributions, each room
has a lavatory. The first floor is used for the nurses’
-afeteria, the enlarged X-ray department, the cystoscopic
room, the electro-cardiograph, etc. On the ground floor
:here is the large free dispensary and the Out-patient Denartment.


The hospital can now accommodate 200 patients, has a
aurses’ training school of 70 and a medical staff of 33.
A year ago an apartment house of thirty rooms on Meadow
 and Lincoln streets was bought as an additional home
for the increased number of nurses. A new up-to-date home,
large enough to adequately house all the nurses, is at present
the problem the management is trying to meet.
A social service department has been established, studying
 and reporting personality and environmental difficulties
that often affect the health of patients. However, only cases
where medical needs are evident, are carried by this department.
        <pb n="50" />
        Seemingly the dream of thirty-three years ago has completely
 come true, but not yet—the spirit of the Pittsburgh
Hospital is the spirit that animates the city itself, for its
vivifying principle is progress. The old Scottish motto,
“Hazard yet Forward,” still animates the board of trustees,
as it did in 1895 when ten beds were made ready in the small
house in Stanton avenue.
The present officers and directors are:—Jas. F. Keenan,
president; John S. Herron, vice president; J. B. Lawler,
secretary-treasurer; Sister M. Marcella, superintendent;
directors: John E. Born, C. E. Lott, G. G. O’Brien, W. J.
Strassburger, Jos. G. Vilsack, John F. Casey, W. S. Mec-Clintock,
 E. H. Swindell, J. Frank McKenna, Thos. E.
Dovle. John S. Herron, J. B. Lawler. and Jas. F. Keenan.

PITTSBURGH CITY HOMES AND HOSPITALS
The Pittsburgh City Homes and Hospitals, located at
Mayview, Pa. formerly known as “Marshalsea,” occupy a
tract of land containing one thousand and one acres, in
South Fayette and Upper St. Clair townships, Allegheny
county, approximately fifteen miles southwest of the City of
Pittsburgh, near the Washington County line, on the Panhandle
 division of the Pennsylvania Railroad. The institution
 property and the institution are under the direct
control of the Department of Public Welfare of the City of
Pittsburgh, Mrs. Enoch Rauh being the director of that
lepartment and James S. Hammers, M.D., the medical
director and superintendent.
Mrs. Enoch Rauh was appointed director of the Department
 of Charities by Mayor William A. Magee, in 1922, and
oy an act of the Legislature of 1923 the name of this department
 was changed to the “Department of Public Welfare.”
Historically, Pittsburgh’s first alms house is said to have
een located at the foot of “Coal Hill,” on the Monongahela
River. It was the oldest house standing in 1832. This building
 was a small log house, “with two large chimneys,” but
no further history seems to be obtainable concerning it.
The borough of Pittsburgh was incorporated in 1804, and in
1813 the “Humane Society” was organized. This was prob-
        <pb n="51" />
        ably the first organized charity in the City of Pittsburgh
In 1848 the “Pittsburgh Poor House” at Homestead was
incorporated, for the care of the indigent poor of Pittsburgh,
and in 1879 the city first began to care for its mentally ill at
the Homestead institution. In 1893 the Pittsburgh Homes
and Hospitals were built at Mayview, comprising at that
time an administration building, a male and female asylum
for the indigent insane and a male and female home for the
indigent poor. Since then many additions have been made
and at this time—1928—there are eleven new buildings
under construction, as authorized by the “Two and a Half
Million Dollar Bond Issue of 1926.”
The function of the Pittsburgh City Home and Hospitals
consists of four radically different types of services: First,
hospitals for the mentally ill; second, homes for the indigent
and aged; third, a tuberculosis group; fourth, a general
hospital.

The mental hospitals are caring for 2114 patients at the
present time,—1203 men and 911 women, and comprise four
large buildings, two buildings assigned for the male cases and
two for the female cases. The medical treatment provided
in the mental department is of the same high type as that
carried on in several State hospitals, owned and maintained
by the State of Pennsylvania. When the new buildings are
completed and further contemplated additions are made,
{including a psychiatric hospital) we believe this institution
will rank among the first in the country.
The general hospital of 240 beds is carrying on a work
identical to that carried on in any general hospital in the
city, comprising as it does operating rooms, diagnostic
olinics, an X-Ray department, mechano-therapy, eye, ear,
nose and throat clinics,—in fact all of the special treatments
which go to make up a complete hospital. Much of the
splendid work done in this hospital is due to the very valuable
 services rendered by nineteen of Pittsburgh’s foremost
physicans who give their services without recompense to this
great work.
An accredited nurses’ training school functions as a part
of the hospital and is valuable adjunct to the institution.
        <pb n="52" />
        The Pittsburgh City Homes and Hospitals at Mayview
has been approved by the American College of Surgeons
and the Pennsylvania State Board of Medical Licensure.
The wards are large, light, airy, well ventilated, nicely
painted, and the equipment of the various departments is on
a par with that of any other general hospital. The old “Poor
House” is rapidly passing, for complete surveys of such
institutions show that the inmate is usually there because of
some physical disease or because of an inferior mental development.
 Therefore, the medical treatment has been insti-:uted
 with the idea of restoring such as can be returned to
some useful occupation.
The tubercular department functions as a tuberculosis
sanitarium, with all the equipment and appurtenances
necessary to it, comprising as it does 100 beds, which are
filled constantly. Necessary additions must be made to this
department in the near future.
As an adjunct to the above mentioned departments, the
Pittsburgh City Homes and Hospitals carries on many other
activities, namely, its own electric plant, its own power plant,
its own cold storage and refrigeration plant, its own coal
mine, its own fire department, its own dairy and piggery.
‘arge vegetable gardens and farm.

PITTSBURGH HOMOEOPATHIC HOSPITAL

The Pittsburgh Homoeopathic Hospital, located at Center
 and Aiken avenues in the heart of the East End residence
district, and in one of the most accessible spots in the city, is
among the oldest of Pittsburgh’s hospitals. It has had a continuous
 active existence since 1866, hence is antedated by but
two of the many institutions which now serve the sick of our
city and district.
Originally situated on Second avenue near Smithfield, the
hospital was moved to the East End many years ago, and for
the past two decades has occupied a large area south of Center
 avenue and west of Aiken. This strategic location, and
the reputation of a staff which has been consistently far above
average, has resulted in a constant tax upon the facilities of
the Homoeopathic, so that its capacity has had to be increas-
        <pb n="53" />
        ed from time to time. In 1924 through the generosity of its
friends, a six-story wing was added which increased the capacity
 of the plant to approximately 825 beds. The hospital at
the same time greatly improved its laundry, servants’ quarters
 and power plant. There is a well equipped nurses’ home
and training school fronting on the Aiken avenue side of the
property.
The first school for nurses between the Allegheny mountains
 and Chicago was opened in the Pittsburgh Homoeopathic
Hospital in 1884. This department has maintained a high
reputation, its graduates being in demand over a wide area,
and many of them having become connected in positions of
responsibility with other ranking institutions of the district.
At the present time this is the third most important
Homoeopathic hospital in the United States, exceeding in
its size all save those in Philadelphia and New York.
The members of the Board of Trustees are: James IH. Hammond,
 president; Hon. Henry Cooper, first vice president;
Reade W. Bailey, second vice president; B. R. B. Townsend,
secretary; R. H. Youngman, treasurer; C. Bernard Shea,
James E. MacCloskey, Jr., Alfred G. Kay, T. J. Gillespie,
George H. Neilson, R. V. Bingay, Dean R. Wilson, H. C.
McEldowney, Raymond Willey, George P. Berger, Frank
Semple, Jr., A. K. Oliver, H. R. Hilliard, Charles H. Kline,
J. P. McKinney, Jr., T. Raymond Evans, D. M. Clemson.
William M. Furey, E. W. Crellin.
The women’s board is headed by: Mrs. S. N. Benham,
president, Mrs. J. H. Hammond, vice president, Mrs. T. J.
Gillespie, secretary; Mrs. F. T. Hogg, treasurer.
Henry G. Yearick is the director of the hospital.

PITTSBURGH MUNICIPAL HOSPITAL

The Pittsburgh Municipal Hospital is located at the corner
 of Bedford avenue and Francis street, on a high elevation
overlooking the down town district and the Allegheny river,
with a view of the North Side. It is operated under the direction
 of the Director of the Department of Public Health.
Four resident physicians render professional services, and in
all cases referred to the hospital by reputable physicians, an
        <pb n="54" />
        invitation to the attending physician is extended by the staff
to assist in the care of their cases.
The hospital has undergone during the preceding year a
complete remodeling and renovation. There can be established
 complete segregation for all types of diseases handled.
Lt is the fifth largest hospital in Pittsburgh, having a capacity
for 250 patients. It is not a charitable institution, although
no citizen, ill with any of the diseases cared for in the hospital,
is permitted to pay either for hospital care or nursing or
physician’s services. The reason for the operation of the
hospital by the Department of Public Health is the prevention
 of disease, by isolating those suffering from serious, communicable
 diseases, and keeping them apart from well people
where they would most probably infect others. While admission
 of patients to the Muncipal Hospital is made on request
 of the physician in attendance, the Department of
Public Health, under certain conditions, may demand hospitalization
 of any serious communicable disease, if they have
become public menaces because of failure to maintain proper
quarantine, or because of poor housing, or bad hygienic conditions,
 or lack of care. All cases of smallpox are immedlately
 removed for isolation to the Municipal Hospital, where
they are given expert handling by physicians and nurses familiar
 with the disease. Among other diseases handled here are
diphtheria, scarlet fever, erysipelas, infantile paralysis and
cerebro-spinal fever,
Dr. R. G. Burns, director of the Department of Public
Health, is superintendent, and Dr. J. S. Baird is chief of the
medical service.

THE PITTSBURGH SKIN AND
CANCER FOUNDATION

The Pittsburgh Skin and Cancer Foundation, located at
8400 Forbes street, was organized on February 12, 1923, and
incorporated under the laws of Pennsylvania on April 18,
1923 Its policies are under immediate control of the board
of directors, who are assisted in the actual carrying out of
its purposes by the women’s dispensary board and the
medical and surgical staff.
        <pb n="55" />
        The operations of the Foundation are among patients
who are unable to pay for services. Its work is supported by
contributions from its board members, from industrial
organizations, and from its membership campaign.
The reason for organizing the Foundation was to focus
the attention of the medical profession and the laity on cancer.
Special hospitals, special educational propaganda, special
dissemination of knowledge, and special interest were necessary
 to cope with the varied and increasing disasters which
rancer produces.
The economical phase of the burden of cancer is important.
 The disease, coming as it does in adult life, draws
upon the resources of heads of families, incapacitates the
father or the mother, in each case a contributing wage-earner,
and disturbs the harmony and financial equilibrium of
families who, under ordinary circumstances, are able to meet
the demands of the upkeep of their homes. An additional
burden unlooked for, unprovided for in the past, causes an
upheaval. How much more true is this in families who, even
under ordinary circumstances, cannot maintain their social
equilibrium without help? At the present rate of increase, its
effect on man-power in industry must be seriously felt in
time. Should not the burden be distributed more equally on
all members of society?
The purpose of this organization is to find ways and
means of bringing the patient in contact with the physician
at the time when early signs of cancer develop. It is knowledge
 of symptoms of this type, signs of the nature indicated,
which should be disseminated. It would seem almost a
repetition to say that it is the general public who should be
acquainted with these indications, and it is the purpose and
the aim of the Pittsburgh Skin and Cancer Foundation to
place this knowledge where it will do the greatest amount of
good. This phase of the work is undertaken as the propaganda
 or educational function through social service agencies.
men’s and women’s clubs, personal contact with patients,
their families and friends, so that the community will be
informed of the war on cancer.
A great many advances are necessary to combat this
disease more successfully. These advances can only be
        <pb n="56" />
        gained by observation of a great number of cases, by study of
the mode of its advent, by the full knowledge of its course,
by the appreciation of all the co-operating agencies which
bring it about and maintain it and eventually lead to the
destruction of the human being who is the host of its parasitical
 tendencies. Authorities in public health work state
definitely that no more important field of preventive medicine
 and of curative medicine exists, that no better results
can be looked for in any form of medical work.
Officers and directors are as follows: James Hay Reed,
Founder; Arthur E. Braun, Acting President; Roy A.Hunt,
Treasurer; J. G. Hamilton, Assistant Treasurer; Mrs. George
L. Collord, Secretary; Mrs. George B. Berger, Jr., Rt. Rev.
Hugh C. Boyle, Louis Brown, L. H. Burnett, Harmar D.
Denny, Jr., Mrs. John C. Dilworth, J oseph Dilworth, Leon
Falk, Berthold Floersheim, Rev. Dr. A. C. Howell, Mrs.
John W. Lawrence, W. L. Mellon, Miss Helen Blanche
Rauh, David A. Reed, Mrs. J. D. Tilford, Mrs. William P.
Witherow.

PITTSBURGH TUBERCULOSIS HOSPITAL

The City of Pittsburgh maintains the Tuberculosis
Hospital, not as a charitable institution, although patients
are not permitted to pay for care in the hospital or for professional
 services rendered. It is operated under the direction
of the Director of the City Department of Public Health,
primarily as a major item of preventive medicine in the
control and prevention of tuberculosis in Pittsburgh.
One of the main objects is the hospitalization of infectious
cases or individuals who are a menace to their families and
others with whom they may come in contact. The hospital
alms not only at the restoration to health of such individuals,
but their isolation until such time as they are no longer capable
 of transmitting the disease to others, or until education
 in preventive measures has rendered them harmless to
society.
The City of Pittsburgh completed the main buildings of
the Tuberculosis Hospital in the year 1915 with a capacity of
150 patients. During the years 1923 and 1927, additions
were erected, increasing the capacity to 300 patients.
        <pb n="57" />
        This hospital is located on a plateau known as the Leech
farm, off Washington boulevard, and directly opposite
Highland Park. The site contains approximately 100 acres
and is very beautifully situated for a hospital of this nature.
Besides the treatment of pulmonary tuberculosis, provision
 has been made for the treatment of pre-tubercular
children—not tuberculous, but in extremely poor physical
condition, and having had one or both parents die of tuberculosis.
 Here they are cared for and built up physically
during their stay and educated by a school teacher furnished
by the Board of Public Education.
A considerable amount of recreation facilities are provided
 for the inmates of this institution. A moving picture
program is displayed twice a week, in a specially erected
theatre, with a seating capacity of 300. Each patient has an
individual radio receiving set at his bed. Beautiful porches
and reclining chairs are provided for the open air treatment.
Frequent entertainments are given by local and professional
talent.
The management of this institution comes under the
direct supervision of the Director of the Department of
Public Health of the City of Pittsburgh and the personnel is
comprised of a superintendent, a medical staff, a nursing
staff and a large group of orderlies and attendants. all
specially trained in their line of work.
The Pittsburgh Tuberculosis Hospital is the first hospital
erected in any city in Pennsylvania for the treatment and
prevention of tuberculosis.
Joseph Shilen, M.D., is superintendent. R. G. Burns,
M. D.. is director of the Department of Public Health.

THE PRESBYTERIAN HOSPITAL

The Presbyterian Hospital claims its field of service, in
its charter granted by the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania,
May 4, 1895, “for the purpose of affording medical and surgical
 aid to sick and disabled persons of every creed and
nationality, together with the ministration of the Gospel.”
The present officers are: Dr. W. L. McEwan, president;
John McCartney Kennedy, vice president: and Dr. Charles
        <pb n="58" />
        L. Chalfant, secretary. The president of the board of trustees
 is Ralph W. Harbison, with T. Chalmers Darsie and Dr.
James A. Kelso, vice presidents; J. C. Boyer, secretary, and
the Potter Title and Trust Company, treasurer.
The superintendent, Miss Mary B. Miller, has served as
executive head of the institution for nine years. The present
building provides for two hundred beds, and through rooms,
wards and dispensaries, treats about 14,000 cases per annum.
The staff is selected by the board of trustees of the hospital
from doctors nominated by the medical department of the
University of Pittsburgh.
About one-third of the work is of a charitable character,
and as the institution receives no State aid, fifty thousand
dollars per year must be raised by popular subscription.
In the new Medical Center, the Presbyterian Hospital will
be the central building, and general hospital of a group of six
or seven institutions. The proposed new structure will cost
over five million dollars, and the new nurses’ home nearly a
million. About one-third of the needed money is already
available for the new project and the trustees are planning to
complete the collection of the necessary funds for these new
buildings. The whole Medical Center, when completed, will
represent a cost of upwards of fifteen million dollars, and will
give Pittsburgh one of the best medical groups to be found in
America.

PROTESTANT HOME FOR INCURABLES

The Protestant Home for incurables, the only institution
 of its kind in Pittsburgh, is located at 5500 Butler
street. It was incorporated December 31, 1883, having been
founded by Jane Holmes for the purpose of providing a home
for persons suffering from incurable disease. The total number
 of patients cared for is 849, and there were 48 patients in
the home on August 15, 1928.
Among the patients now being cared for are Mary Elkins.
admitted April, 1888; Julia Heldt, admitted November, 1895:
William Metz, admitted October, 1897; Sadie Gregg, admitted
 November, 1904; Katie Haupt, admitted May, 1910,
and Eliza Fangmeier. admitted November, 1911.
        <pb n="59" />
        Protestant Home for Incurables (Women’s Home)
        <pb n="60" />
        The 53 beds now in the home are not sufficient to meet
the demand for this sort of work among the incurably ill and
needy residents of the city, as is amply proved by the number
of applications received annually. The work should be
greatly extended.
At present there are 18 patients in wheeled chairs, 10 bed
patients, 4 on crutches, 5 using canes, 3 totally blind and
many quite helpless. The oldest patient is 93 years of age,
and the youngest is 40. One woman has been a patient for 40
years, two women over 30 years, one for 24 years, three over
15 years, two for 12 years and three for 10 years.
Religious services are held every Sunday afternoon, by
ministers of various denominations. A prayer service is also
held on Friday of each week. Pastoral calls are frequently
made on individual patients.
Every effort has been made by the board of managers to
avoid appealing to the general public for funds. During the
last ten years expenses have increased steadily, until the income
 is quite inadequate. In order that the work may not be
curtailed, will not the people of Pittsburgh meet this emergency
 in their usual generous spirit? An increased endowment
 of $300,000 would enable the home to meet the annual
expenses.

The president is Mrs. H. H. McClintic; secretary, Mrs.
William E. McKelvy; advisory board, William H. Stevenson,
 John C. Slack, John S. Craig, and Robert D. Book.
Following are the names of the managers: Mrs. Robert
D. Book, Mrs. William F. Bickel, Mrs. John S. Craig, Miss
Katherine Creighton, Mrs. H. W. D. English, Mrs. Grant
Dibert, Miss Bessie Stephenson, Mrs. E. S. Weimer, Mrs. E.
B. McRoberts, Mrs. W. W. Martin, Mrs.. O. H. Jones, Mrs.
Frank B. Bell, Mrs. W. W. Kerr, Mrs. Joseph A. Kelly, Mrs.
Susie K. Leech, Mrs. William Boyd, Jr., Miss Eleanore
Sawyer, Miss Annie D. Robinson, Mrs. C. L. Wooldridge,
Miss Eva W. Wallace, Miss Julia Wattles, Mrs. Dwight
Winter, Mrs. T. J. Gillespie, Jr., Mrs. Charles S. Wunder,
Mrs. Robert Swan, Jr., Miss Margaret McCance. Miss
Ester J. Gregg, and Mrs. James C. Burt.
        <pb n="61" />
        ROSELIA FOUNDLING ASYLUM AND
MATERNITY HOSPITAL

The Roselia Foundling Asylum and Maternity Hospitalis
located at Cliff and Manila streets, Pittsburgh. It was established
 by the Sisters of Charity on July 16, 1891, in a little
home on Forbes street, not far from the site of the present
magnificent St. Paul’s Cathedral. In a few months the need
for its service became so apparent that it was necessary to
secure far more commodious quarters.
[n 81 years it has cared for 5,195 women and 10,546 children,
 and is now receiving yearly approximately 100 little
waifs, securing permanent homes for these children, where
they can develop into useful Christian men and women. It
provides for the unfortunate girl and her innocent offspring
and cares for mothers and their children who have no means.
Creed, color or previous condition erects no barrier for admission
 to Roselia. The secondary purpose .f the institution
's to provide professional attention and tender but scientific
:are for married women, before, during and after maternity—
women who, for one reason or another, are either homeless or
~annot, for various causes, receive in their homes the attention
 which their condition demands.
The Senior Staff of physicians are: Dr. J. P. Hegarty, Dr.
C. F. Bietsch, Dr. P. W. Bushong, Dr. J. Donald Iams, Dr.
H. C. Flood, Dr. C. P. MacDonald, Dr. N. C. Miller, Dr. J.
W. Robinson, Dr. L. L. Schwartz, Dr. H. H. Sullivan, Dr. E.
A. Weisser,
The Junior Staff is: Dr. J. H. Carroll, Dr. Theo. Elterich,
Dr. LeRoy Foster, Dr. B. J. McCormick, Dr. M. S. Redmond,
 Dr. D. H. Rhodes, Dr. T. R. Quinn.
The Board of Directors are: Mr. John F. O’Toole, president;
 Mr. Wm. P. Lange, vice president; David L. Lawrence,
secretary; W. C. McEldowney, treasurer; John Campbell,
E. L. Connely, Col. J. L. Costello, Hon. J. J. Coyne, Joseph
EF. Joyce, Hon. Jos. Marcus, Hon. John M. Morin, Hon, F. J.
Harris, Mr. Charles M’Inerney, Mr. D. F. Shanahan. J.
Howard Devlin, Attorney.
Ladies of Charity Officers are: Miss Mathilda O’Hara,
president: Mrs. C. Lawrence, Sr., first vice president: Mrs.
        <pb n="62" />
        Robert Walsh, second vice president; Mrs. John Boyle, third
vice president; Mrs. Harry Hunter, fourth vice president;
Miss Katheryn Griffin, secretary; Mrs. Isaac Mamaux, treasurer;
 Mrs. Wm. Smith, publicity; Mrs. John Finn, Mus.
Thomas Ford, Mrs. E. A. Hufnagle, Mrs. Wm. Labge, Mrs.
John Lloyd, Mrs. James Loftis, Mrs. Joseph Murphy, Mrs.
Charles Reel, Mrs. George Walker.

ST. FRANCIS HOSPITAL

St. Francis Hospital was started in a little frame house in
Thirty-seventh street, in 1865, with three Franciscan sisters
in charge. The staff was obtained by calling in doctors of the
neighborhood when physicians were needed. Through the
smallpox epidemic which swept Pittsburgh from 1866 to 1872
the institution directed attention entirely to contagious cases.
At that time Lawrenceville was the residential section of the
city, and the work being done in the tiny hospital caused
business men of the district to realize how badly more facilities
 were needed. They purchased a few acres of land on
which a frame building stood, and moved the sisters into
these quarters, where they were able to care for a larger number
 of patients. The institution soon began to function as a
general hospital, and equipped itself according to the ideals of
modern medical science.
Through the sixty years that St. Francis Hospital has operated,
 the calls for aid have mounted constantly until it is now
caring for more than 600 patients daily in buildings that were
intended for a much smaller number. More than 10,500 persons
 sought health in this hospital during the past year.
More than 3,000, admittedly too poor to pay, were given
every necessity that money bought for others, to say nothing
of those treated in the free dispensary department. The bedpatient
 service was 81 per cent free, while 77 per cent of all
patients treated were cared for without charge. The register-2d
 capacity of the hospital is 600 beds, but 709 patients have
been treated at one time by placing cots in the aisles of wards,
and by putting beds in the public corridors. Delays of three
weeks have been necessary before patients could be admitted
but no destitute sick or those needing emergency attention
        <pb n="63" />
        St. Francis Hospital
Forty-fifth Street
        <pb n="64" />
        have ever been refused. Three thousand meals are being
served from a kitchen built and equipped for less than half
that number.
In the free dispensary 22,187 were treated during the last
year; thirty-nine doctors are engaged in the 14 departments
of the dispensary alone. Operating cost of the institution is
nearly $600,000 a year with an annual deficit of about $80,-000.
 There is an endowment of approximately $80,000.
The facts given, which could be largely supplemented,
show the need of much larger quarters. It is estimated that it
will require $1,500,000 to the point of bringing its buildings to
meet only its present needs, and the effort to obtain these
funds in now in progress.
Charles A. Muehlbronner is president of the board of directors;
 Hon. Charles H. Kline is vice president; Sidney F.
Heckert, Sr., is secretary-treasurer. The officers of the staff
are: Dr. C. H. Henninger, president; Dr. J. K. Everhart, vice
president, and Dr. A. J. Bruecken, secretary.

ST. JOHN’S GENERAL HOSPITAL

The need of a hospital in the lower section of Allegheny,
now the North Side of Pittsburgh, in the Wood’s Run district,
was long felt before the founding of St. John’s in 1896. In
that year St. John’s General Hospital was established on Me-Clure
 avenue, by the deaconesses or Lutheran sisters in
charge of St. John’s Lutheran Home, and the late Dr. W. J.
Langfitt. It was proposed to use a site on the grounds of that
home, which consisted of two and one-half acres. The charter
 was obtained March 28, 1896.
Before the completion of the building, which is now the
Administration building, a contract was awarded for an annex,
 to contain public wards. May 12, 1896, is still remembered
 by the old timers of Wood’s Run as the memorable “May
Day,” on which St. John’s opened its doors to receive the sick
and wounded. No distinction was shown by the Lutheran
deaconesses as regards religion, nationality or color. After
their departure the management of the hospital was placed in
the hands of lay people. Later the hospital came under the
care of the Sisters of Divine Providence, under the approval
        <pb n="65" />
        of the bishop of Pittsburgh, the Rt. Rev. Regis Canevin.
Five sisters of this order took charge on September 8, 1915,
and since then the small band has expanded into a community
 of 23. Under the superintendent of the hospital, there
are, in the several departments, sister-supervisors to whom is
granted the fullest measure of liberty in dealing with the
problems peculiar to their departments.
During the past year 2,996 patients were admitted and
38,801 days of hospital service rendered : of these, 10,010 were
free service days.
The new nurses’ home was formally opened on May 31,
1927. The Sleeping rooms contain Simmons steel furniture,
consisting of bed, chiffonier, bed-side table and chair; all
woodwork is walnut finish. The reception room was completely
 furnished by R. V. Bingay, while one living room was
furnished by Dr. W. S. Langfitt and the other by Samuel
Rubin. The bedrooms were furnished by various doctors and
friends of the hospital.
The board of directors consists of Edward Gwinner, president;
 J. J. Flannery, Jr., vice president; W. S. Langfitt, M. D.
secretary; Charles Monheim, treasurer; R. V. Bingay, Herman
 Stratman, W. F. Stadtlander. D. B. Oliver and H. M.
Reed.

ST. JOSEPH’S HOSPITAL.

St. Joseph’s Hospital, situated between Twenty-first and
Twenty-second streets, Pittsburgh, was called into being,
nearly a quarter of a century ago by an appeal from a number
of South Side people who felt the need of such an institution
in that locality. The Sisters of St. Joseph gladly responded
and notwithstanding many delays and disappointments, finally
 succeeded in securing the old Haberman homestead.
This was thoroughly renovated and equipped for hospital
work and formally opened September 20, 1904.
The beginning was very humble, the capacity being only
twenty-four beds. As time went on and the inadequacy of
accommodations became more apparent the erection of a larger
 building was undertaken. In 1908 the old building was
razed and the present structure erected, the sick being housed
meanwhile in the adjoining building. On February 2, 1911
        <pb n="66" />
        the new hospital was opened to visitors, and shortly thereafter
 active work was begun. The total number of house patients
 admitted during this year, 1911, was 386.
The institution has constantly grown until at present it is
impossible to accommodate all those who request treatment.
The total number of patients admitted during the year 1927
was 2825, an increase of more than 600 per cent over 1911.
However, it is hoped that this condition will be relieved in the
near future, a large plot of ground in Brookline having been
purchased recently. Plans for a well equipped, modern hospial
 and nurses’ home are under consideration.
The following comprise the Board of Directors: W. H.
Simmons, president; Thomas L. Kane, secretary; J. A. Bleichner,
 treasurer; Joseph Dieterle, Harry Eichleay, Dr. J. P
Kerr, Joseph Trautwein, Daniel Winters, Robert Douglas,
Charles E. Meyer, George Bauer, Daniel M. Hamill.
Staff Members: Dr. C. D. Arthur, Dr. H. J. Benz, Dr. F.
M. Caldwell, Dr. F. A. Hartung, Dr. A.“H. Kraft, Dr. J. P.
Kerr, Dr. C. E. McKee, Dr. J. P. Saling, Dr. 1. B. Whitehead,
 Dr. R. J. Behan, Dr. N. H. Bennett, Dr. T. P. Cochran,
Dr. A. R. Hampsey, Dr. W. H. Kirk, Dr. E. C. McAdams,
Dr. J. Rockman, Dr. G. J. Wright.
Assistant Staff: Dr. L. G. Beinhauer, Dr. R. M. Heath,
Dr. M. A. Hodgson, Dr. O. L. Marks, Dr. E. O. Pearson, Dr.
J. J. Weber, Dr. A. W. Duff, Dr. J. D. Howard, Dr. H. P
Kohberger, Dr. B. J. McCormick, Dr. N. J. Resmer.

ST. MARGARET MEMORIAL HOSPITAL

St. Margaret Memorial Hospital was founded by the will
of John H. Shoenberger, one of Pittsburgh’s pioneer steel
men, who died in November, 1889, and who provided for the
formation of a corporation for the erection and maintenance
of a Protestant Episcopal Church Hospital, in memory of his
deceased wife, Margaret Cust Shoenberger. The site of the
hospital, on Forty-sixth street, above Butler street, was a
part of the summer residence of Mr. Shoenberger and his wife.
at practically full capacity. A training school for nurses is a
part of the hospital.
        <pb n="67" />
        St. Margaret Memorial Hospital
265 Forty-sixth Street
        <pb n="68" />
        It was found by the trustees that the sum named in the
will (namely, $450,000, of which $250,000 was postponed tobe
paid out of the residuary estate after final settlement,) was
inadequate for the proper maintenance of the hospital, and
the trustees therefore decided to postpone the opening of the
institution until the accumulation of the endowment would
furnish a sum reasonably commensurate with the cost of operation.

The hospital was formally opened for the reception of patients
 on October 1, 1910, and since then has been maintained
at practically full capacity. A training school for nurses is a
part of the hospital.
The officers are: C. L. Snowdon, president; A. M. Scully,
vice president and counsel; E. H. McKinley, treasurer; N. P.
Hyndman, secretary.
The board of trustees consistes of C. L. Snowdon, A. M.
Scully, E. H. McKinley, N. P. Hyndman, J. Stuart Brown,
H. H. McClintic, George P. Rhodes. A. L. Humphrey and F.
A. Leovy.

SEWICKLEY VALLEY HOSPITAL

The idea of a hospital for the Sewickley Valley originated
with the Ladies’ Aid Society about 1902, was temporarily
dropped and revived about 1905, when Mr. and Mrs. Henry
W. Oliver generously gave over four acres of land as a hospital
 site. This acted as a great stimulant and enabled the
project to go forward. The building was dedicated July 20.
1907.
The first officers of the board of trustees were as follows:
George E. McCague, president; W. L. Clause, vice-president ;
George H. Clapp, secretary; T. H. B. McKnight, treasurer.
The first officers of the board of managers were: Mrs. L.
Halsey Williams, president; Mrs. Henry R. Rea, first vicepresident;
 Mrs. Arthur B. Starr, second vice-president; Mrs.
5. L. Seymour, corresponding secretary; Mrs. John D. Carson.
secretary; Mrs. A. C. Robinson, treasurer.
The first board of trustees were as follows: George E.
McCague, I. B. Chantler, M. D., Rev. F. F. O’Shea, Jas. H
Willock, Edward A. Woods, Alfred B. Harlow, W. 1. Clause.
        <pb n="69" />
        Sewickley Valley Hospital
Sewicklev. Pa.
        <pb n="70" />
        Edward O'Neil, A. J. Armstrong, R. H. Boggs, DeW. B.
Nettleton, M. D., Jas. W. Arrott, Charles Watts, George H.
Clapp, S. C. Applegate.
Present trustees of the Sewickley Valley Hospital Asso.
ciation are:
C. A. Cooper, Wayne Cornelius, R. W. Harbison, C. P.
McLaughlin, H. R. McMahon, F. L. Sage, G. K. Wright,
L. C. Beall, W. A. Campbell, W. Heber Dithrich, Arthur L.
Lowrie, B. Scott McFarland, A. C. Robinson, Robert
Trimble, Charles W. Brown, James C. Chaplin, George H.
Clapp, W. L. Clause, Charles L. McCune, L. D. Reilly,
Walter J. Wilson. Officers are: Wilson A. Campbell,
president; William L. Clause, Wayne Cornelius, W. Heber
Dithrich, and Walter J. Wilson, vice-presidents; George H.
Clapp, secretary; Robert Trimble, treasurer.
Officers of the board of managers are: Mrs. L. Halsey
Williams, honorary president; Mrs. Henry R. Rea, honorary
vice-president; Mrs. George L. Craig, president; Mrs. Frank
Scott Willock, first vice-president; Mrs. William Marcelin
Scaife, second vice-president; Mrs. Henry W. Wickenhiser,
third vice-president; Mrs. B. Scott McFarland, fourth vicepresident;
 Mrs. Charles H. Little, treasurer; Miss Emily XK.
Lippincott, recording secretary; Miss Anne Semple, corresponding
 secretary. The superintendent is Miss W. Maud
Newman; assistant superintendent, Miss Clara L. Street.
Officers of the active staff are: H. H. Meanor, M. D..
president; C. B. Forcey, M. D., vice-president; M. R. Feltwell,
 M. D., secretary and treasurer.
In the first full year of operation, cost per capita was
$2.45. Now it is $4.53. In that first full year there were
5609 bed days. For the past year total bed days were
16,677. The new hospital is to contain approximately 115
beds—the present one having only 57 beds.
After moving into the new building, the present hospital
building will be used for nurses’ dormitories and class rooms.

SHRINERS’ HOSPITAL FOR CRIPPLED
CHILDREN

A tract of land comprising twelve acres was purchased in
1925 by Syria Improvement Association (the holding company
 for Syria Temple, A.A.O.N.M.S.) located on Stanton
        <pb n="71" />
        avenue, Pittsburgh, adjoining the Stantion Heights Golf
Club, for a unit of the Shriners’ Hospitals for Crippled
Children, which will be built as soon as money is available.
The building depends entirely upon the income which the
poard of trustees may receive from the Imperial Council.
The income they are now receiving is only sufficient to operate
 the eleven hospital units that are now in existence.
At present time, cases from this district are being treated
at the Philadelphia unit of the Shriners’ Hospitals for Crippled
 Children, and also at the Children’s Hospital of Pittsburgh
 in Oakland and the Industrial Home for Crippled
Children on Denniston Avenue.

THE SOUTH SIDE HOSPITAL

In April, 1889, a boy about sixteen fell from the second
story window of his home and fractured his hip. Passersby
carried him to the office of Dr. John Milton Duff. Dr. Duff
had made frequent attempts to interest the people of the
South Side in a general hospital, without success. After the
boy had been treated and taken to his home, Drs. Duff,
Thomas and Arnholt gathered a few of the prominent men of
the neighborhood and they decided to rent a three story brick
building with store front on South Twenty-second. street, a
responsibility and on June 11, 1889, opened a hospital of thir--y
 beds.
The officers for the new hospital were: Hon. Fred Gearing,
president; Thomas Sankey, vice president; John Milton Duff,
M. D., treasurer; Edgar A. Mundorf, secretary. The directors
 were: Hon. Fred Gearing, John E. Cook, Capt. A. E. Heisey,
 Martin Frank, James Felker, Dr. J. D. Thomas, Dr. Fred
Koehler, Thomas Sankey, Dr. J. M. Duff, John Lewis, John
Gray, Dr. M. A. Arnholt. J. O’Connor Campbell and Samuel
Miller.
At the directors’ meeting in October, 1889, it was reported
that 75 patients had been cared for. By the end of June,
1891, over 1100 had been admitted and cared for and one-half
of the patients seeking admission were turned away hecause
of want of room to accommodate them.
A charter was granted by the courts in 1890 in the name
&amp;gt;f the South Side Hospital of Pittsburgh, Pa. On April 29,
        <pb n="72" />
        Ll peril amit Sma re ater a mm me 2 EB ed ean a eal 3 AT RB rit HA “F Fag
se Sem nen re emir ta a EE

South Side Hospital
South Twentieth and Marv Streets
        <pb n="73" />
        1891, at the request of the board of directors, three hundred
women met in the Odd Fellows Hall, and organized the Ladies
 Aid Society of the South Side Hospital and this organization
 has been one of the greatest factors in the financial development
 of the institution.
The work of the hospital grew so rapidly that in 1892 it
was necessary to plan for a new building. The present site
at South Twentieth, Mary and Jane streets, was selected and
purchased for $20,000 and a $100,000 hospital built. The
new hospital was ready for occupancy on December 1, 1893,
and the description of it in the fifth annual report describes it
as “the finest and most complete hospital in the State.” The
bed capacity was seventy. In 1895 a training school for
nurses was opened.
In the report of Dr. A. J. Barchfeld, president of the
board in 1903, he made an appeal to the public to help the
hospital build a new wing and home for nurses. He says in
this report, “The South Side Hospital is recognized as the
only institution of its kind south of the Monongahela and
Ohio rivers in Allegheny county, which territory contains a
population of over 200,000 souls.” His appeal was answered
by Mrs. Amelia N.S. Oliver and her children, Mrs. Amelia Neville
 Crittenden, Mrs. Frances Oliver Johnson, Mrs. Edith
Oliver Dusmet and D. Leet Oliver, as a memorial to husband
and father, the late James Brown Oliver. This building was
opened in March, 1909. The old building now became the
administration building, while the new Oliver Memorial Annex
 made it possible to care for over two hundred patients.
With increased accommodations for patients, the need for
a nurses’ home and pathological research laboratory was
greater. The Laboratory, the gift of Nathaniel Holmes, was
opened in 1910. In 1918 a nurses’ home at a cost of $63,000
was built. In 1914 the horse-drawn ambulance was replaced
with an automobile ambulance. In 1917 a large solarium was
arected on the roof of the Oliver Memorial Building by Mrs.
Amelia N. S. Oliver and furnished by Mr. and Mrs. W. J.
Crittenden.
The first officers of the Ladies’ Aid Society were: Mrs. J.
S. McMillin, president; Mrs. J. W. Riddle, vice president;
Miss E. J. Wallace, vice president: Mrs. G. B. Sweeney, re
        <pb n="74" />
        cording secretary; Mrs. John Alldred, corresponding secrecary;
 Mrs. M. B. Redman, treasurer. The first money raised
was $600 on subscription books; $600 was cleared at a lawn
fete held August, 1891, at the residence of J. McD. Bryce,
Mt. Oliver. A fair was held at the auditorium where over $8,-000
 was cleared and a lawn fete at the Knox mansion, the residence
 of Mr. Grimes, enabled them to clear $1,000.
The present valuation of land and buildings is upward of
$1,000,000. There is a daily average of 151 patients, a 70 per
cent of occupancy. The average stay of patients is 12 days.
Charity work is 32%; 609, of the work is surgical.
The hospital is greatly in need of enlargement, approximately
 100 more private rooms being needed, and a drive for
funds is now being formed. New buildings, which will bring
the valuation of the property to $2,500,000, are required, and
these buildings can be erected on ground already owned and
adjoining the hospital. The lack of space for private rooms
and for ward patients much handicaps the hospital. If the
staff is to retain interest in the institution, there must be room
to take care of their patients. A new obstetrical department,
with an adequate nursery for babies, is needed, for present
facilities are antiquated. Other needs are an enlargeed laboratory,
 additional X-ray rooms, operating rooms, dispensary
 for the out-patient department and additional space for
nurses. The nurses’ school has greatly increased in the last
*wo vears and now numbers 69 pupils.
In the year ending May 31, 1926, the number of full-pay
nospital days was 18,030; part-pay hospital days, 24.520: free
hospital days, 17.674: total, 55.225.
General officers are: J. E. Roth, president; Daniel Beech,
vice president; James A. Henderson, treasurer; John Jenkins,
secretary. Directors are: J. E. Roth, John M. Phillips, Dantel
 Beech, John Jenkins, John C. Dilworth, James A. Henderson,
 W. J. Crittenden, George H. Stengel, J. B. Yohe, Charles
J. Moye, John F. Semmelrock, George M. Laughlin, Jr., A.
W. Roberston, Charles A. Brooks. Harry W. Dunlop, one of
the directors died recently. Dr. C. M. Thomas is President
of the Medical Staff: Miss Jeannette L. Jones. R. N.. is superintendent.
        <pb n="75" />
        SUBURBAN GENERAL HOSPITAL

On July 7, 1903, nine persons met at the office of Dr. W.
W. McCleary in Bellevue, to discuss the propriety of establishing
 a hospital for the locality lying west of Allegheny City,
embracing particularly the boroughs of Emsworth, Ben
Avon, Avalon and Bellevue, but in general to serve all regardless
 of locality who may desire any treatment the hospital
affords.
On July 10, 1908, a permanent organization was effected
by the election of the following directors and officers: Directors,
 L. K. Porter, W. W. McCleary, W. B. Kirker, Stephen
Newburn, William Martin, W. P. Kuipers, W. H. S. Thomson,
 Alex. H. Hamilton and John Shannon. Officers: president,
 William Martin, vice president, L. K. Porter; secretary,
W. W. McCleary, and treasurer, John Shannon. Suburban
General Hospital was charted as a general hospital, for charitable
 purposes, to be supported by voluntary contributions.
The charter provides for a school for nurses.
The hospital is located in Bellevue, on what was commonly
 known as the James S. Brown property. This was purchased
 from the Dawson heirs for $15,000. It contained 314
acres, and a commodious frame dwelling of twelve rooms.
The building was furnished and equipped for hospital purposes,
 capacity twenty beds. It was formally opened to the
public September 14, 1904.
The first staff physicians appointed were, Dr. W. W.
McCleary, Dr. C. C. Croft, Dr. W. J. K. Snyder and Dr.
John S. Donaldson.
The first ambulance was presented to the hospital September,
 1904, by W. B. Rodgers. The school for nurses was
opened 1906 with two student nurses. The Ladies’ Advisory
Board was organized in 1906 with twelve members. The first
State appropriation was received in 1906. $6000. for two
years.

The rapid growth of the hospital service soon required a
larger building. There were no funds available for building
purposes. W. P. Fraser, of Ben Avon, was impressed by the
work of the hospital and its worthy needs, and in 1911 he gave
$35.000 for the erection of a new building. This is known as
        <pb n="76" />
        the Jane Fraser Memorial Building. It was presented to the
public January, 1912. Capacity, sixty beds. Four years
later a small addition was added to the building, making it a
seventy bed hospital. For a number of years this hospital
building not only took care of the sick and injured in the community
 but was the center of medical and nursing education
of the North boroughs.
In 1919 a separate three story brick building was erected.
This contains a modern laundry, employees’ quarters and
garage.
In 1920 the hospital again outgrew its capacity. There
were insufficient beds to take care of the sick in the community.
 The directors held a financial campaign in October,
1923, for funds to.build a new addition; $85,000 was subscribed.
 Of this $65,000 was received; $125,000 was issued in
hospital bonds, and $100,000 sold to finance the new addition.
This was opened September 6, 1926. Approximate cost
$200,000. It is a modern fire proof structure, and contains
thirty private rooms, three four bed wards and three bed
wards, two childrens’ wards, nursery, sun-parlors, utility and
service rooms, main kitchen and dining-rooms, power and refrigeration
 plant. The record of the hospital has been one of
steady progress. From a twenty bed hospital to one hundred
and twenty-five beds, of which fifty are private rooms.
The present service of the Suburban General Hospital embraces
 the following: medical, surgical, obstetrical, eye, ear,
nose and throat, and children’s diseases, with X-ray and
pathological laboratories, dispensary and ambulance service.
The hospital is a member of the American Hospital Association.
 It is approved by the American College of Surgeons
 and endorsed by the Chamber of Commerce of Pittsburgh.

Twenty two thousand patients have been cared for by the
hospital. The present assests are approximately $500,000
with a yearly expenditure of about $125,000. The personnel
is composed of the following: thirty student nurses, four graduate
 nurse supervisiors, one night supervisor, one anaesthetist,
 one laboratory technician, a dietitian, directress of
nurses, house-keeper, resident physician and student interne,
bookkeeper, stenographer, engineer and twenty domestic employees.
        <pb n="77" />
        Report of the fiscal year 1926-1927 shows the following
service: patients admitted, 1986; full pay days treatment, 13,-921;
 part pay days treatment, 503; free days treatment, 1788;
total number of days treatment, 16,312; surgical operations,
026; anaesthetics, 827; laboratory examinations, 5530; obstetric
 cases, 189; X-ray examinations. 470: ambulance calls,
195; dispensary cases, 243.
The board of directors are: president, M. J. Slattery, vicepresident,
 Robert A. McCrea; secretary, Alexander Stewart;
treasurer, Peter Gray; W. B. Rodgers, R. L. Thompson, J. W.
Vickerman, L. K. Porter, Edward Sutter, W. A. Jones, G. C.
Gerwig, W. P. Fraser, A. G. Liddell and J. D. Hills, D. D.
Eva M. Braun, R. N., is superintendent.
The present staff doctors are: D. A. Atkinson, C. C. Croft,
W. B. Denslow, R. E. Davison, J. S. Donaldson, A. H. Elliott,
 J. C. Gamble, A. H. Gross, J. C. Kelso, G. C. Kneedler,
J. J. Kvatsak, D. G. Lerch, J. L. McBride, C. F. Metzger, C.
K. Ownes, E. H. Ramsey, D. W. Seville, W. B. Shepard, E.
H. Sloan, W. J. K. Snyder, E. L. Sutton, G. H. Walker, J. C.
Welch, H. E. Woelfel, F. L. Schumacher and Zoe Allison
Johnston.
The Ladies Advisory Board has forty members. Mrs.
Nellie E. Robertson is chairman. Their work has been
crowned with great success. A large amount of money has
been raised by them. The work of the Home and Hospital
Club, the Jane Fraser Club, the Avalon Hospital and Relief
Club, The West View Suburban Hospital Club, and other
organizations and clubs in the North boroughs have aided
greatly in advancing the hospital. The needs of the hospital
constantly increase. There is still much to be done. The
most urgent needs at present are a nurses’ home and an isolation
 building.
The remarkable history and growth of Suburban General
Hospital is an evidence of its high standing in the community
it serves. It successful development is due to the public
spirit and support.

TUBERCULOSIS LEAGUE
Many noted health authorities the world over agree that
tuberculosis is the greatest single factor destructive of the
the health of a city’s population. Up to the year 1906, Pitts-
        <pb n="78" />
        — ee
i to sopra i STAN pms EES st RO A A

a ep a Sl eT

Proposed Building for the Tuberculosis League
        <pb n="79" />
        burgh was without a single weapon with which to fight this
scourge; there was not even one bed available for caring for
the sick consumptive. The death-rate was appalling.
Most great movements owe their existence to the enthusiastic
 sponsorship of one individual. The Tuberculosis
League of Pittsburgh owes its existence to one man’s personal
realization of the sorrow tuberculosis can bring to a single
*amily; this man, Otis H. Childs, decided that such a devastating
 disease should no longer be allowed full sway over the
helpless lives of his fellow Pittshurghers. Early in 1906 he secured
 the co-operation of other far-sighted and humanitarian
citizens such as R. B. Mellon, Edward A. Woods, H. K. Porter,
 J. M. Jenkinson, Robert L. Martin, and John Bindley,
and the institution was organized and chartered under the
name of the Pittsburgh Sanatorium. The original incorporation
 was to found and maintain an institution for the study,
treatment and prevention of tuberculosis in man. Funds
were to be secured by voluntary subscription. The name
was subsequently changed to the Tuberculosis League of
Pittsburgh, which opened its doors February 1, 1907, with
five departments, including the hospital, dispensary, laboratory,
 educational and administrative divisions, all housed in
theformer residence of William McConway on Bedford avenue
at the top of Herron hill. Mr. McConway had generously
offered the use of this large frame dwelling rent free for four
years, if at the end of that period the League would purchase
it. The hospital commenced with twenty beds, and increased
its capacity to eighty the following year, with the erection of
five “shacks.” These were donated by Wallace H. Rowe,
Mrs. Alexander Laughlin, Jr., the Allegheny General Hospital,
 Mercy Hospital and West Penn Hospital. Two of these
shacks are still in use. The hospital now has 110 beds.
During the first year, 800 patients were examined by the
dispensary department. Many of these were visited in their
own homes by league nurses, who taught the sick consumptives
 how to care for themselves and to keep from infecting
their families. Necessary supplies, such as sputum cups,
gauze, and often milk and eggs were provided these patients.
In the first annual report of the league, mention is made of
184 talks given by the league to the school children of the city.
        <pb n="80" />
        It is a source of gratification that the Tuberculosis League of
Pittsburgh was one of the pioneers in establishing health
talks in public and parochial schools. The scheme adopted
was so successful that it was not only awarded an honor at the
International Congress on Tuberculosis held in 1908, but
adaptations of the Pittsburgh plan have been followed by
many other cities.
In addition to the hospital, dispensary and school work,
six popular pamphlets dealing with tuberculosis were prepared,
 and thousands of copies distributed free. Considering
the financial difficulties under which the new organization
was laboring, all these achievements in the first year of its existence
 represented a tremendous amount of effort on the
part of all connected with the institution.
In September, 1908, the Tuberculosis League of Pittsburgh
 opened the second open air school in America. The
school at first consisted of five children, all patients in the
hospital; the teacher herself was a patient, teaching the children
 at first only half a day. Outside pupils were quickly added,
 making it necessary in 1909 to employ a full time teacher,
whose salary the Civic Club paid for two years.
Beginning in 1910 and continuing to the present time, the
Board of Education supplied a fully qualified teacher, furnished
 an up-to-date school room, and books. The Ogontz
Society has each year, contributed funds for the services ofa,
full time nurse, and the League serves a hot noon-day lunch,
with milk in the morning and afternoon. The day pupils are
supplied with carfare, when necessary. There is a daily attendance
 of between 30 to 40. Children are recommended
for admission by school doctors or nurses. Although these
children are all predisposed to tuberculosis, in the 20 years of
its existence, no graduate of this open air school has succumbed
 to the disease.
As a result of this pioneer open air school, a number of
others have been opened in various parts of the city, under
Civic Club auspices, and then in each case taken over bv the
Board of Education.
With thousands coming to the dispensary for advice and
treatment, it was found imperative in 1909 to erect a separate
 dispensary building. This was done with the assistance
        <pb n="81" />
        of the Dispensary Aid Society, a group of prominent young
women. During the fifteen years of its existence, this one dispensary
 alone has given advice and furnished free treatment
to approximately 30,000 people.
In 1914 a power and service building was erected. Aside
from housing the power plant, laundry, kitchen, etc., the
upper floor of this building houses a well equipped laboratory
which makes thousands of diagnostic analyses each year.
The free public health library and the offices of the county
director and of the educational director are also on the second
floor of this building. The year 1917 saw the completion of a
new building for women and children, which was badly needed.
 Aside from the forty-two beds on glass enclosed porches,
the recreation rooms, ete., this building also houses the open
air school.
With the war came the problem of the tuberculous ex-service
 man. Our already overflowing hospital could not adequately
 house the consumptive soldiers who were coming to
us. In 1920, through the efforts of a Pittsburgh paper, a fund
was started to build a pavilion for the soldiers which was completed
 and dedicated in 1921. Three hundred and eighty men
were hospitalized during the five years until the opening of
the new government hospital at Aspinwall. This building is
now used for men patients. About 1,500 ex-service men were
also treated in the dispensaries during this period. .
The Tuberculosis League of Pittsburgh has been conducting
 a drive for funds to build a new building to replace the old
McConway residence, now very antiquated, a fire-trap, and
impossible to keep in the hygienic condition necessary to a
hospital. That building has been razed, and construction of the
new building, which will cost about $600,000, is in progress.
To briefly summarize the yearly work of the institution:
the hospital last year cared for 370 bed patients, who spent a
total of 45,094 bed-days in the institution; 36,366 of these bed
days were entirely free of cost. In the main dispensary and
five sub-dispensaries, 7,310 persons received free examination
and. treatment, and 4,656 more were visited in their own
homes by League nurses. The educational department gave
990 health lectures before various audiences, a total of about
100,000 persons hearing the talks. All the public and paro-
        <pb n="82" />
        chial schools in the city and many in the county were visited
by a special worker who talked to the children and teachers.
Public health nurses in training received special courses in tuherculosis,
 as did the medical students of the University of
Pittsburgh. The county organizer visited 130 districts in
Allegheny county and helped them with their health probtems.
 The health library served many people in the community
 as well as giving daily aid to the Tuberculosis League’s
own staff.
As a result of twenty years’ continuous struggle against
tuberculosis, the mortality rate has been reduced in Pittsburgh
 from 146.2 per 100,000 population in 1908, to 73.3 in
1927, which means a saving of many hundreds of lives in this
locality. Much ‘work still remains to be done, however, as
the disease is preventable,and through health education and
co-operation on the part of the public, this great scourge
which last year killed over 1000 in Greater Pittsburgh may be
wiped from the face of the earth.

UNITED STATES MARINE HOSPITAL

Pursuant to Act of Congress approved March 3, 1837, a
board of Army medical officers was designated by the Secretary
 of War to select and recommend locations for Marine
Hospitals. These recommendations were followed, with the
exception that the hospital recommended for Wheeling, W.
Va., was built instead at Pittsburgh, Pa. The site for the
hospital in Pittsburgh was purchased in 1842 and was located
on the Ohio river below Allegheny City. Building was not
begun until 1845 and owing to the very small appropriation
available, it was soon expended and work was interrupted
until 1849. The building was completed in 1851. The
location was unfortunate and the property was sold in 1875.
The building had become dilapidated and unfit for the purpose,
 and the location of a blast furnace on one side of the
grounds and a rolling mill on the other resulted in the hospital
 being filled with smoke and soot, whichever way the
wind blew, and the noise was a great annoyance to the sick.
[t was proposed to utilize the proceeds of the sale of the property
 toward the construction of a new hospital, of pavilion
        <pb n="83" />
        type of thirty bed capacity, with a small detached ward for
treatment of patients with contagious diseases.
The sale price was $57,554.57, and a new site was purchased
 for $30,000. By a decision of the Comptroller of
the Treasury, the balance of the sale price of the old building
 could not be used for construction of a new building, so
it was recommended that an appropriation be asked of Congress
 for construction. During the fiscal year 1881 an appropriation
 of only $7,000 became available for building a
small cottage hospital. Considerable delay occurred in
securing from the State Legislature a ceding of jurisdiction
over the property. This was eventually secured, but the
building was never built, and Mercy Hospital continued to
care for service patients until the present hospital was opened.
Meanwhile patients were being cared for under contract
with the Pittsburgh Infirmary, and an out-patient office
being rented in a building at Sixth and Smithfield streets. In
1884 the care of Service patients was transferred to Mercy
Hospital, the cost being 94 cents a day.
On March 13, 1891, fire destroyed the Germania Bank
building at the corner of Wood and Diamond streets, in
which the out-patient office of the service was located at the
time. Everything was lost, including all previous records.
Temporary office rooms were rented at 666 Wood street until
 March 7, 1892, when the out-patient office was moved to
the Federal Building.
On October 15, 1902, a commission was appointed to
examine various sites offered for a Marine Hospital which
was authorized by Act of Congress March 31, 1902. ‘The
commission finally recommended the transfer to the Treasury
Department of about five acres of the old Arsenal Reservation
at Fortieth street and Penn avenue as a site for the hospital,
and the transfer of this property was authorized by Act of
Congress approved March 3, 1903, and consummated by
William H. Taft as Secretary of War on the seventh of May,
1904. The boundaries of this parcel of land are described in
the official transfer document as follows:
“Beginning at a point where the northerly side of Penn
avenue meets the westerly side of Fortieth street and running
thence northwesterly along the westerly side of Fortieth
        <pb n="84" />
        street, 593 feet to the stake; thence southwesterly at right
angles to Fortieth street 500 feet to the easterly side of
Thirty-ninth street; thence southwesterly along the easterly
side of Thirty-ninth street, 275 feet to the northly side of
Penn avenue; thence along the northerly side of Penn avenue
592 feet to the place of beginning, containing not to exceed
Ave acres.’

An appropriation of $125,000 was made available by
Congress, and after some delay, occasioned by the opinion of
the then Secretary of Treasury, Leslie M. Shaw, that there
was not need for a Marine Hospital in Pittsburgh, bids were
opened on August 20, 1908, and the contract for the building
was awarded at a cost of $91,188, and the corner stone
was laid December 16, 1980, the Association of Masters,
Mates and Pilots performing the ceremony.
The new hospital was opened on October 22, 1910. Four
patients were transferred from Mercy Hospital; one too ill
with typhoid fever to move was left there. Surgeon James A.
Nydegger was in command at the time of opening. About
August 1, 1915, patients were transferred to St. Francis
Hospital and the Marine Hospital became a laboratory for
the investigation of occupational diseases. It was reopened as
a hospital on November 1, 1916, and has been so occupied to
this date.

The following have served in charge of the station:
Name and Title From
J. M. Stoner,
Asst. Surgeon
Dr. 8S. N. Pool
C. B. Young
Asst. Surgeon
J. A. Nydegger,
Asst. Surgeon
B. W. Brown,
Asst. Surgeon
Edgar Strayer,
43st. Surgeon

To

Jan. 21, 1893
Feb. 13, 1893

March 11, 1893

May 2, 1894

Sept. 12, 1894

Sept. 12, 1894 Dec. 12, 1894
        <pb n="85" />
        Eugene Wasdin,
Asst. Surgeon
C. H. Garner,
Asst. Surgeon,
(Temporary)
G. L. Hays,
Act. Asst. Surgeon July 8, 1897
C. T. Peckham,
P. A. Surgeon March 18, 1898 May 19, 1899
H. C. Russell,
Asst. Surgeon April 6, 1899 May 6, 1899
R. C. Craig,
Act. Asst. Surgeon May 19, 1899 Dec. 2, 1901
£. W. Mead,
Surgeon
A. C. Smith,
Surgeon

March 18, 1898

Died January 15,
1909 by fall from
horse.

J. M. Gassaway,
Surgeon, (Temp).
0. F. Konantz,
Act. Asst. Surgeon
J. A. Nydegger,
Surgeon
J. B. Stoner,
Surgeon
Robert Oleson,
P. A. Surgeon
J. W. Schereschensky,
Surgeon
J. B. Stoner,
Surgeon
H. B. Fralic,
P. A. Surgeon
C. H. Gardner,
Senior Surgeon

Jan. 9, 1909

Jan. 15, 1909

Jan. 15, 1909 March 18, 1909
March 19, 1909 May 3, 1911
May 3, 1911 April 10, 1915

April 10, 1915 July 22, 1915

July 22, 1915 Oct. 3, 1918
Dect. 3, 1918 April 30, 1920

April 80, 1920

May 1, 1922

M:

To date
        <pb n="86" />
        The out-patient office went through vicissitudes of location
 during this time, but in September, 1925, was moved
from the hospital where it had been from November 18,
1918, back to the Federal building, where newly renovated
and equipped offices were ready for the purpose.

UNITED STATES VETERANS’ HOSPITAL

Pittsburgh may well point with pride to the new United
States Veterans’ Hospital No. 103, Aspinwall, Pa. It is beautifully
 located at an elevation of nine hundred and forty feet,
overlooking the Allegheny river as it winds its course to the
Ohio. The advantage of this location is its pleasant isolation
close to the city, yet removed from the beaten path. One
feels somehow close to nature, which is a large factor in creating
 contentment. There is a tranquillity, beauty and quiet
communication in the surroundings of green fields, splendid
trees with its bird and small animal life, its clear atmosphere
and sunlight, that combines an environment which promotes
healthful improvement.
No other government has provided such splendid system
of relief and institutional care for its war veterans. This Government
 provides hospitals for the care of the tubercular,
shell shock and mental, for general medical and surgical. In
fact, institutions for the care of all classes of disabled ex-service
 men or women of all wars.
The United States Veterans’ Hospital No. 103 at Aspinwall,
 Pa., is maintained by the United States Veterans’ Bureau
 for the care and treatment of ex-service men suffering
from tuberculosis. The hospital was formally dedicated on
July 25, 1925, under the auspices of the American Legion, at
which time General Frank T. Hines, Director of the United
States Veterans’ Bureau, United States Senator David A.
Reed, and many prominent men and women of Pittsburghand
vicinity, were present. The hospital was opened for the reception
 of patients on October 16, 1925.
The construction itself consists of numerous buildings,
large and small, of brick, tile and concrete, fireproof, situated
on a tract of one hundred and forty-seven acres, composed of
a main building, officers’ quarters, nurses’ home, attendants’
        <pb n="87" />
        quarters, warehouse, garage, laundry, heating and engineering
 plant, sewer disposal plant with shops for engineers, carpenters,
 plumbers and painters, also a large recreational
building consisting of an auditorium with a seating capacity
of 400, a stage fully equipped with scenery, moving picture
screen, booth and machine, school rooms, complete library
and reading room, barber shop, canteen, occupational therapy,
 ete.
It can never be said that the United States Government is
either indifferent or negligent in caring for its disabled ex-service
 men, for besides compensation of service connected disabilities,
 it provides hospitalization for those who need it, free
of charge, and a system of war risk insurance which is at
actual cost.
In devising a system of relief that has never been attempted
 or equaled anywhere before, the Veterans’ Bureau has
spent approximately the staggering sum of $64,000,000 in
hospital construction and the end has not yet been reached.
Here, not only are disabled bodies rehabilitated, but the mentality
 is improved by maintaining a corps of aides who teach
useful and diversional occupations as well as academic
courses, and a library, which during the fiscal year just closed,
had a circulation of 10,000 books of fiction and non-fiction.
The plant is a model small borough with its water, sewer
and lighting systems, fire and police departments, maintenance
 of buildings, roads, streets and grounds. It has a complete
 modern laundry, central heating and engineering plant,
warehouse, retail and wholesale stores, garage and chauffeurs
with transportation service.
The hospital maintains a complete staff of full-time professional
 tuberculosis experts, roentgenologist, dentist, pathological
 and bacteriological laboratories, physiotherapy department,
 eye, ear, nose, and throat clinic, with consultants
in all specialties, dietitians, aides, graduated, registered
nurses, orderlies and attendants.
In addition to a thoroughly complete professional operating
 staff and equipment, there is an administrative staff which
includes the auditing and disbursing departments so that accounts
 may be paid immediately.
The hospital is organized on strictly practical business
principles and operates with its own individual budget.
        <pb n="88" />
        While the hospital is not yet completed, the unit operating
paid 1618 vouchers, discounted its own accounts and by
prompt payment a savings of $1404.07 was made besides ob-‘aining
 low and reasonable prices.
The amount of allotment, salaries and expenses, for the
fiscal year 1926, was $258,612; the amount of allotment, medical
 and hospital services, for the fiscal year 1926, was $167,-218,
 a total sum of $425,830, made available to the prosperity
of Pittsburgh and vicinity. There is liberated from this Governmet
 activity, which includes compensation, salary and
bureau expenses, approximately $40,000 monthly. The following
 represents the investments at this hospital: Land and
improvements, $125,000; buildings and plants, $1,157,208.88;
improvements and replacements, $28,805.32; equipment,
$154,394.98; total, $1,465,409.18.
The majority of the staff and personnel reside upon the
station which has a total population of approximately four
hundred and fifty to be provided for. The professional and
administrative staffs consist of the following officers: Medical
officer in charge, Dr. Henry Rolf Brown; clinical director, Dr.
James M. McNall; business manager, Frank L. Payne; property
 custodian, Everett M. Aten; chief nurse, Florence H.Yeiter;
 chief dietitian, Elizabeth Rugh; occupational therapy
director, Eunice M. Cates; chief engineer, Herbert L. McNulty;
 personnel officer, Murial A. Johnson; special disbursing
agent, Nell M. Greely; auditor, Ina A. Gallagher; librarian,
Ruby K. Ahern: pharmacist, James J. Deeney.

THE WESTERN PENNSYLVANIA HOSPITAL

In 1847, after the people of Pittsburgh had for many
years felt the need of a general hospital, several prominent
citizens met in Odean Hall on Fourth avenue, in order that
such an institution might come to be an actuality.
A constitution was drafted, one extract from which will
serve to show the ideals as expressed by its founders: “Resolved
 that in establishing a hospital we desire to make it a
general one. We disclaim all sectarian preferences and cordially
 invite all of every sect and denomination to unite with us
        <pb n="89" />
        in founding one general hospital, which shall be worthy of our
city and vicinity and the age in which we live.”
The hospital, one of the three oldest in this city, was incorporated
 March 18, 1848, and by 1850 work was started on
the building, the site being a twenty-two acre plot at Twenty
eighth street, which had been donated by Harmer Denny.
Captain and Mrs. Schenley.
In March, 1853, the erecting and furnishing of the building
 was completed at a cost of approximately $40,000 and the
hospital was opened for the reception of patients. During its
first year 172 medical and surgical patients and 26 insane patients
 were admitted.
Within one year the number of charity patients, particularly
 in the insane wards, had increased to the point where it
was necessary to seek aid from the State for maintenance of
these unfortunates. The ever increasing number of these patients
 soon overcrowded the hospital, thus making necessary
the erection of a new building. The location that is now Dix.
mont was chosen for this purpose and in 1862 the structure
was sufficiently completed that all the insane patients were
transferred.
About this time, the exigencies of the Civil War became
so real and pressing that the management tendered the Government
 the free use of the hospital and its grounds, so that
the sick and wounded of that terrible conflict migat have the
proper care. Immediately after the Civil War the hospital
resumed its former activities, having performed a national
service and receiving the thanks of the nation. From 1862 until
 1910, in addition to hospital services, it served the community
 by distributing coal to the needy poor under the
Brewer and Crawford funds, for which it was trustee.
The hospital at Twenty-eighth street and that at Dix
mont continued under one general board of managers, with
distinct executive committees, until July 27, 1907, when both
institutions were granted new charters by the Legislature.
The parent hospital retained the name of The Western Pennsylvania
 Hospital, while the other became the Dixmont Hospital
 for the Insane.
With rapid growth of the city population, the hospital had
to be enlarged from time to time. the cost of these additions
        <pb n="90" />
        being generally met by the managers themselves and their
friends, with occasional aid from the State. But in spite of
the fact that the old building was constantly improved it
gradually began toshow its age, was expensive to keep up, and
a constant source of complaint by patients and their friends
on account of its remoteness from the street cars and the fatiguing
 hill to be climbed, to say nothing of its being no longer
adapted to modern scientific treatments. After mature deliberation
 it was decided to build upon a new site.
The old athletic field of the Pittsburgh High School, facing
 Friendship park, containing about three and one-half
acres, was purchased in the fall of 1906, and upon this ground
was erected the present structure which conforms in every
way to the needs of a modern hospital, both as regards sanitary
 arrangements and scientific equipment. The matter of
financing the construction of the new building was a problem
which presented many difficulties, but the outcome of the
project did not remain long in doubt, for the well-wishers of
the institution responded readily.
On January 1, 1912, the new plant was formally opened
and a public inspection invited. This invitation brought
forth a remarkable response, it being estimated that from
15,000 to 20,000 persons viewed the hospital on the afternoon
of that New Year's day. Two months were occupied in installing
 the equipment, furniture and necessary supplies, and
on March 11, 1912, the 219 patients in the old buildings, with
the nurses and employees, were transferred without accident
to the new hospital, which had cost somewhat over a million
dollars to erect and equip.
In its first year in the new building the hospital admitted
5,570 patients, while during the fiscal year, which ended May
31, 1927, there were 9,846 admissions. During the seventynine
 years of the hospitals existence 208,703 patients have
been admitted for treatment.
The nurses were housed in quarters in the power building
and in six private houses in the neighborhood. This was most
unsatisfactory, and the need for a nurses’ dormitory became
more pressing each year. However, it was not until the early
part of 1920 that the hospital felt financially able to undertake
 the project. In March of that year a plot of ground fac-
        <pb n="91" />
        ing Friendship park and extending from Millvale avenue to
Gross street was purchased for this purpose. Upon it was
erected a fire-proof, six story brick building, having 250 individual
 rooms with hot and cold running water, adequate
bath and toilet facilities, a large auditorium, library, sun
porches and roof garden. An underground passage connects
it with the hospital. The building was completed and ready
‘or occupancy May 1, 1923, at a cost, with furnishings, approximating
 $671,000.
With the passing of the years and the growth of the hospital,
 the need for expansion in the laboratory was felt to such a
Jegree that in 1925 the board of directors set itself the task of
raising funds for this purpose. A semi-public appeal followed
which met with such a whole-hearted and generous response
from friends and well-wishers of the institution, that the new
laboratories wing became a certainty. The contract for erection
 was let in February, 1926, and the new building, which
stands upon the site orginally intended for a nurses’ home,
was officially opened October 20, 1927.
This new plant brings together all the various laboratory
activities of the hospital and contains the departments of
pathology, bio-chemistry, bacteriology, diagnostic X-ray,
deep therapy, physiotherapy and electrocardiograph. There
is a new metabolic pavilion and kitchen, and a new children’s
pavilion entirely separate from other activities. Thirty-four
private rooms have also been included, the income from
which will aid in maintaining these laboratories and in providing
 for the necessary research work. With these additional
accommodations for patients. the hospital's capacity is 600
beds.

The present officers and directors of the hospital are: Officers:
 James R. Mellon, president; James D. Hailman, first
vice-president; James W. Macfarlane, M. D., second vicepresident;
 George D. Edwards, treasurer; C. W. Orwig, assistant
 treasurer; M. H. Eichenlaub, secretary; Henry G.
Wasson, solicitor; Fidelity Title and Trust Co., custodian.
Directors— Wilson S. Arbuthnot, Charles D. Armstrong,
Michael L. Benedum, Arthur E. Braun, George S. Davison,
George D. Edwards, A. Rex Flinn, John G. Frazer, James D.
Hailman. Howard Heinz, James H. Lockhart, Albert J. Lo-
        <pb n="92" />
        gan, James W. Macfarlane, M.D., James R. Mellon, Mrs. W.
H. Normecutt, C. C. Sandels, M. D., Henry G. Wasson,
John S. Weller, Mrs. John Woodwell.

ZOAR HOME AND MATERNITY HOSPITAL

Zoar Home, with its 6 acres of ground, is beautifully
situated upon the slopes of Allison Park (Greater Pittsburgh)
 Allegheny County, Pennsylvania. The commodious
main building, flanked by the beautiful nurses’ home,
isolation building and laundry, attracts ready attention.
Its primary object is to save children and to give these
tiny waifs a chance in life. Its mission is unique in charitable
institutions, in that no woman or child is turned from its
doors if they are in need of sympathetic help. Babies and
cases which other hospitals must refuse, are welcomed here,
and the great Christian heart of the institution goes out to
the unfortunate mothers (married and unmarried) who seek
the sheltering care which the home affords. It welcomes all,
without regard to race, color or creed, realizing that its work
is done in the name of Him who “made of one blood all the
nations of the earth,” and the only password of admission is
the need of the care and ministrations for which the home
was founded.
Religious services are held in the chapel every Sabbath
afternoon, conducted by ministers of the various denominations
 in the neighborhood, thus sustaining the Christian
atmosphere in the home, as well as impressing those whose
religious life has been sadly neglected and adding new courage
and hope to those who have known better things.
Zoar Home is a nonsectarian institution with lofty
Christian ideals. It is supported by the charitable public because
 of its high character and splendid work. It is doing
work that few institutions care to do, and doing it in a spirit
of unselfishness; it is doing it because the saving of a child’s
life is worth while; they believe that a child with such handicaps
 as children have that enter the Home should have
chance for life and health—God’s great gift to humanity.
They believe that a child is the nation’s chief asset, and that
the saving of the life of a child is a service well worthy of the
affort.
        <pb n="93" />
        7 oar Home for Mothers. Babies and Convalescents, Allison Park, (Greater Pittsburgh), Pa.
        <pb n="94" />
        The Zoar Home has a social department, and guests and
children have to apply to this department when, so far, no
other organization has made a thorough investigation of
their need of shelter. It co-operates with different welfare
organizations in this work. Children who can be placed in
private homes for adoption are under the strict supervision of
the home’s physicians before being allowed to leave the
institution.
A training school for nurses was established the second
year of the institution’s existence for the purpose of training
young women to care for these little lives in a scientific
manner. A staff of physicans co-operate with the management
 of the Institution to further this most needed work.
Since the opening of the home in 1915 to January 1,
1928, it sheltered 2,079 infants. Mrs. E. Schmitz is the
manager.
        <pb n="95" />
        THE FIRST NATIONAL BANK AT PITTSBURGH

a CHE or —

Financial business of every kind is handled by the experts
of the First National Bank at Pittsburgh. Its facilities cover
every department of domestic and foreign banking, and its
officers give their advice as freely and as cheerfully to the person
 who opens a small savings account as to the treasurer of a
great corporation, whose financial dealings are large and comprehensive.


This institution has established direct banking connections
 in all parts of the World, which are a great convenience
in the handling of documents pertaining to Foreign Commercial
 Transactions.

All branches of International Banking are completely covered
 by our facilities.

We issue drafts and make payments in all parts of the
World.

We handle Trade and Bankers’ Acceptances.

All languages are spoken in this department.

Officers of this institution are trained bankers with a wide
experience, and its directors are successful men in a large
variety of enterprises, affording a broad scope of business
knowledge.

Capital. . . ...
Surplus.
Undivided Profits and Reserves. .... ...
Deposits. ......

Total Resources.

$6,000,000.00
6,000,000.00
2,110,780.65

75,534,434.81

96,82'7.,4'75.87
        <pb n="96" />
        DIRECTORS

RoserT WarDroP, Chairman of the Board
P. W. Morecax, Vice Chairman of the Board

FRANK F. BROOKS oooeoo ooo eeeeeeneenen President
E. M. BYERS. Chairman of the Board, A. M. Byers Co.
W. L. CLAUSE.................Chairman of the Board, Pittsburgh Plate Glass Co.
W. D. GEORGE. joeoooieis eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeenereneeoeooeoeononReald Estste
J. H. HiLuman, Jr... Chairman of the Board, Hillman Coal &amp;amp; Coke Co.
A. L. HUMPHREY............ weweePresident, Westinghouse Airbrake Co.
D. T. Layman, Jr... cereeeeee Henry Phipps Estate
FH. LLoYDeoooooe ccermrnennnneeeennnnnn REGED Merchant
A. M. MORELAND. ...ooooiooe weer Retired Manufacturer
P. W. MoreaN................... President, First National Bank, W. ilmerding, Pa.
GEORGE E. PAINTER co... «ooceuneeeene Vice President, Union Storage Co.
E. W. PARGNY...cooeeeonnnn. President, American Sheet &amp;amp; Tin Plate Co.
Wu. A. RENSHAW... Vice President, Kuhn-Renshaw, Inc.
A. C. ROBINSON............cooccun....... President, Peoples Savings € Trust Company
[ssac M. SCOTT. President, Wheeling Steel Corporation
CrypE C. TAYLOR ooo. Vice-President and Cashier
VERNON F. TAYLOR... Banker and Oil Operator, Indiana, Pa.
Benjamin Teaw wensrsenenenee Lr US ECE, Thaw Estate
Rosert WaRrDROP. Director of Federal Reserve Bank of Cleveland and Vice-President,
 Peoples Savings &amp;amp; Trust Co.
E. T. WHITER .......ccconeunnrnnneen.. Vice-President, Pittsburgh, Penna. R. R. Co.
Joun M. WILSON .................... President, National Supply Co., Pittsbureh, Pa.
        <pb n="97" />
        OFFICERS

Frank EF. Brooks...

CLype C. TaYLOR.......

J. HowarD ARTHUR...

Henry K. HOLMES. ...

Wirriam H. FAwcETT

Tuomas B. Hupson.......

Grier C. Orr.

Jorn DEM. WERTs........

Oscar WILSON...

Ww. J. Frank...

vee President

Vice President and Cashier

Vice-President

Assistant to the President

ean Assistant Cashier

ceeeeeneen Assistant Cashier

Assistant Cashier

Assistant Cashier

Assistant Cashier

Manager Foreign Department

PW. DAHINDEN coon Assistant Manager Foreign Department

aul ForD......

on Ascistant Manager Foreign Department
        <pb n="98" />
        FIRST NATIONAL BANK
AT PITTSBURGH, PENNSYLVANIA

FIFTH AVENUE AND WOOD STREET
CONVENIENT EOR YOU

LTTE
        <pb n="99" />
        fr
fig
a
£5.
3 8
ii
£ oO
z N

wo
LS)

0
(HY

&amp;gt;
1

A)
pai

ab
vy

3

-1
o

2
0

oD
A)

=
1

2
rd

D
‘J

2
~J

&amp;gt;
~J

0
oo

3
3

type of thirty bed capacity, with a small detached ward for
treatment of patients with contagious diseases.
The sale price was $57,554.57, and a new site was purchased
 for $30,000. By a decision of the Comptroller of
the Treasury, the balance of the sale price of the old building
 could not be used for construction of a new building, so
it was recommended that an appropriation be asked of Congress
 for construction. During the fiscal year 1881 an appropriation
 of only $7,000 became available for building a
small cottage hospital. Considerable delay occurred in
securing from the State Legislature a ceding of jurisdiction
over the property. This was eventually secured, but the
building was never built, and Mercy Hospital continued to
care for service patients until the present hospital was opened.
Meanwhile patients were being cared for under contract
with the Pittsburgh Infirmary, and an out-patient office
being rented in a building at Sixth and Smithfield streets. In
[884 the care of Service patients was transferred to Mercy
Hospital, the cost being 94 cents a day.
On March 13, 1891, fire destroyed the Germania Bank
building at the corner of Wood and Diamond streets, in
which the out-patient office of the service was located at the
time. Everything was lost, including all previous records.
Temporary office rooms were rented at 666 Wood street until
 March 7, 1892, when the out-patient office was moved to
the Federal Building.
On October 15, 1902, a commission was appointed to
examine various sites offered for a Marine Hospital which
was authorized by Act of Congress March 81, 1902. The
commission finally recommended the transfer to the Treasury
Department of about five acres of the old Arsenal Reservation
at Fortieth street and Penn avenue as a site for the hospital,
and the transfer of this property was authorized by Act of
Congress approved March 3, 1908, and consummated by
William H. Taft as Secretary of War on the seventh of May,
1904. The boundaries of this parcel of land are described in
the official transfer document as follows:
“Beginning at a point where the northerly side of Penn
avenue meets the westerly side of Fortieth street and running
thence northwesterly along the westerly side of Fortieth

+ 0
3
3 *
7
&amp;gt;
© ®

Q
©

8)
rey
      </div>
    </body>
  </text>
</TEI>
